Somehow fleas felt like the perfect analogy for life

My dogs have fleas.

I discovered said fleas after she spent the entire morning wrapped in my body pillow. I feel dirty.

Apparently all my blood flow diverting to my uterus has made me too stupid to remember to give the dog’s flea medicine.  I’ve also forgotten how to spell and form full sentences.  This is making reviewing 157 page grants go really well.

So yeah, that’s where I’ve been.

This blog is just starting to feel so…stagnant.  I get up in the mornings, go to work (which I can’t comfortably talk about on the blog), come home, eat dinner and sleep.  Lather, rinse, repeat.

I can't sleep well so I'm starting to get how the cat feels all the time.

Actually, between paragraphs I’m working on grants still.  It’s hard to find time to do anything right now.  I’m so desperately miserable right now, but I can’t really talk about it, which makes it even worse.  Let’s just say my pregnancy hasn’t been well received by people in a position to make my life difficult.

In a perfect world, I’d be planning to retire in 8 months, but thanks to the current state of the economy, that isn’t likely to happen.  We could get by on not a lot of money, but we need good health insurance and that requires a permanent full-time job for husband, which isn’t looking so good.

So yeah, that’s where I’m at these days.  It kinda really sucks.

In other news, Mr. Big Pants is recovering quite nicely from his emergency appendectomy a week ago.  He sends his regards:

Mr. Big Pants got his first Steelers jersey for his birthday! He's easily entertained. And no dissing the Steelers because it would make my dad sad, k?

Oh, and the good news?  Capstar got rid of all the fleas within a few hours.  Now to wash out the flea poop and vacuum.

Anyone else need to vent?  Feel free to use the comments!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dogs, Family, Marriage, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Somehow fleas felt like the perfect analogy for life

  1. Kara says:

    Ugh, fleas. I know you probably know this, but if you use Frontline, make sure you are wearing gloves. It could soak into your skin and make your kid be born with flippers. 🙂

    Uh, I’m just going to cross my fingers that your husband gets a big boy lawyer job with buckets of money and sweet health insurance.

  2. Army Amy* says:

    Health insurance is lame! I hope you find yourself much less stressed soon!*

  3. Yucko on the fleas!

    You really need a new job! Your work sounds horrendous and you haven’t even given real details! You totally deserve better!

  4. Laurie says:

    Your job sounds like its worse then mine. My boss talks AT me and not TO me. Its a joy. Every day. Fleas suck but seriously consider Sentinental for next season. Our dogs are on it and don’t take it after the frost hits. Then back on in the Spring. That’s how we save $$ on it. Sorry your job stinks……….I think we should play the lottery! Maybe that’ll bring some retirement!

  5. Yucko fleas! 😦
    I still love you!
    If it’ll help – you can dress Avery as a taco. LOL

  6. Kate says:

    Oh my gosh, fleas are the worst. Someone I dated in college had them in their apartment was too embarassed to tell University housing that they needed to come and clean it out so we went through a drama trying to get rid of them on our own. And that’s why they don’t let people have pets in dorms.

    Also, I’m sending you all the good energy I can muster up for the job hunting. I also have a dream of being able to “retire” when I have a child and am keeping my fingers crossed that the economy/finances will allow such a luxury.

  7. Fleas suck.

    I’m in the same boat as you with the work stuff. I go to work, I work my ass off for 8+ hours each day, I come home and I can’t exactly talk about what I’m doing at work. I don’t even get like 5 minutes to sit down at my desk before people are all in my face either. It just puts me on edge right away. I’m so cranky and stressed out about it constantly that I just want to find a room and scream as loud as I possible can, have a temper tantrum and throw things at the wall. UGH!

  8. THIS is why I only have indoor cats. No thank you to fleas.

  9. Abby says:

    Ugh, your work life sounds rough! I know it’s probably a really hard time to look for something new, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the perfect job (or at least a better one) will magically appear.

  10. Fleas suck! I’m sorry you had to deal with that. I love those snuggly pugglys!!

    I hope you have a good day – thinking of you friend!

  11. Kim says:

    Ugh…sorry to hear about the fleas! 😦

    Glad to hear that your dad is doing well!! He looks happy!

  12. Sam says:

    yay for Mr. Big Pants!!! best nickname on all of the internets.

  13. When I was younger, my friend’s cat had fleas so bad and her mom neglected taking care of it for so long they had to bug bomb the house. And I had to bring OFF with me when I spent the night. Thank you for reminding me of that one. 🙂
    Sorry to hear about how people are taking the pregnancy. It’s one thing after another, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

