Pretend uncles and clementines

I have really got to get my eating under control.

I went through a few weeks where I couldn’t eat anything and now I’m eating everything.  Except vegetables because those make me gag (my OB says that is a normal thing).  The only fruit I want and know I’m not allergic to (and doesn’t have a friggin listeria outbreak) is clementines, but of course they are out of stock everywhere.  Damn fruit.

I could at least make slightly smarter choices, like cheese and crackers rather than ice cream or chips and french onion dip.  I also need to find something that works for lunch.  I brown bag it, so I’m leaning towards PB&J, but suggestions are most certainly welcome!  I can’t have lunch meat and anything with tomato sauce is giving me wicked heartburn and makes me a little queasy.  Bonus points for lots of cheese.

Anyways, I have a small margin here because I lost 4 pounds in 2 weeks from being queasy, but I’d kind of rather save the weight gain for when it is actually healthy and necessary.  It’s also hard because I swear I’m gaining weight, but the scale doesn’t always agree.  I am committed to not using pregnancy as an excuse to go back to my old ways, but this is hard!  At this point I’m still down 3 pounds from when I found out I was pregnant, but I feel like I’m gaining a ton of weight.  I’m not, I assume it’s the gigantic boobs that make me feel so large.

And I may have made husband go to Panera at 7:30 last night because I needed a chocolate chip cookie.  I blame Kara.

In other news, we are off to Northern Ohio for the evening.  My “uncle” (he’s a red headed French Canadian, for the record, and obviously not my real uncle, but he’s my dad’s “brother from another mother,” so I call him uncle) was supposedly having his 60th birthday party this weekend, but Mr. Big Pants called me last night to inform that he (my dad, not my uncle) had the date wrong and there was no party.  He was, of course, giggling like a nut the entire conversation.  I’m actually relieved because I’d much rather spend a quiet weekend with my dad and Uncle B.  Apparently I’m turning in to an angry old lady who wants to know why you kids are playing that music so dang loud!

In other news, Uncle B and his wife are tremendously good cooks.  We never go out to dinner when we are there because they make better food than any restaurant.

What are your weekend plans?  Does anyone else have fake family?  I also have a “brother” who spends most major holidays at my Dad’s.  Both my “brother” and “uncle” were my dad’s PhD students, but I really do call them my brother and uncle without thinking about how confusing that is for people.  I mean, they are family, but it’s different.  Good different, but different.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pretend uncles and clementines

  1. Marissa says:

    Well I can totally relate. With both of my pregnancies, I had trouble NOT reverting back to old eating habits. I just had to remind myself how hard it was to lose the weight and knew it would be harder with a newborn and that kept me on the right track! Good luck to ya 😉

  2. Army Amy says:

    I have an Aunt Debbie who is actually my mom’s cousin and therefore also my cousin. I have just always called her my Aunt (way less confusing.)

    I brown bag it to work and I take pb&j, yougurt, some kind of chip (cheese-its, crackers, something). Sometimes I also take string cheese, apples, and carrots and hummus. I don’t know if any of that will work for you, but I thought I’d pass along the suggesions!*

  3. Kara says:

    In my first trimester, I could only eat plain ramen and applesauce. It was miserable.

    Lunch ideas: Tuna salad (once a week to avoid mecury overload), egg salad (eating a whole egg a day will make your baby smarter and better looking), pasta salad, pita pizza….and that’s all I got. When I used to work, I’d bring a can of Progresso soup for lunch because I’m a lazy, cheap bastard.

  4. No one likes what I eat, so I won’t make food suggestions. I’m a giant weirdo and eat bagels and cream cheese for lunch EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.

    Humungous boobs would make me feel like I was putting on weight too, mostly because I’m flat chested :).

    I DO have a fake family. I don’t see them very often anymore, but my parents best friends are also my best friend’s parents, so it works out nicely.

  5. Today was great…I made 2 lasagna’s today – 1 for lunch next week and 1 for the freezer for lunch sometime next month…or whenever I totally forget to make lunch.

    I made a pot roast for dinner then brownies for dessert.
    Then I’m making pancakes for breakfast tomorrow…I am a cooking machine this weekend!

    It only happens when it is chilly out, otherwise I hate cooking. But in the winter I am a cooking beast!

    Then laundry and groceries tomorrow- I lead a truly glamorous life!

  6. April says:

    My fake family is my BFF-since-we-were-11’s family. So much so that hubby was almost as nervous meeting those parents as my real ones. Ah, good times! I forgot to tell him my ‘other dad’ is blind, so hilarity ensued when hubby put out a hand to shake, and dad put out his hand to shake, but not near hubby’s hand.

  7. I ate PB&Js too, chocolate pudding, pop tarts, happy meals, and snickers. I can’t remember anything else. I told you before, my DH made me puke an oatmeal raisin granola bar by making a puke face, so I didn’t eat those for awhile. I would still go to Subway, I had them microwave my meat though. I love pizza, but no red sauce for me pg. I was eating cereal about every night. I can’t remember much else. Hang in there, the first tri your hormones are crazy 🙂

    Oh–I have tons of fake family. Since we’ve had so many losses, my kids have all these extra Nanas and Papas. I’m pretty sure they’ll never really get it 🙂

  8. Abby says:

    I’ve become a big fan of packing string cheese for lunch (or part of lunch, rather!). Instant protein, fun to eat, and it lasts longer than a cheese sandwich, especially if you eat that and then at a roll separately 🙂

  9. Amy says:

    When I was pregnant, I put the lunch meat slices in the microvwave for about 15-20 seconds. My OB said this was okay, but if you really enjoy lunch meat sandwiches, you might want to get your OB’s opinion. 🙂

  10. I had a huge aversion to tomatoes, so I completely understand! I did a lot of PB&J, until I started nuking lunch meat to make it OK. If you have a microwave – they make nitrate free hot dogs now. I lived off those a bit, not gonna lie.

    I have a niece who’s not really my niece…but no older fake family. Although, I call my stepmom my mom, does that count? 🙂

  11. Lunch that doesn’t involve PB&J or lunch meat…….hmmm………my wheels are spinning! You could do some kind of whole wheat tortilla wrap with black beans and brown rice and cheese and avocado (maybe salsa?). Okay, that sounds good to me, maybe to you too?! When I was a kid I ate cheese and ketchup sandwiches, but again, that is tomato!

    I don’t know what the hell I am going to eat when I am pregnant! PB&J sounds like the safe way to go!

Leave a Reply

