Pregnancy Week 9: Wherein I reveal way TMI

So, I was informed that pregnant bloggers usually do weekly updates or some junk.  Considering Weight Loss Wednesdays has died a painful death and I start a new week of pregnancy every Thursday, I figure I might as well start doing pregnancy updates on Wednesdays.  But because it’s me you can pretty much expect way too much information about everything.  So, here goes nothing!

Week: 9 (sidenote, I am 8 weeks pregnant, so I am ending my 9th week of pregnancy.  This shiz is major confusing)
Pounds Gained Lost: 4.4 (crap!)
Inches Gained (Waist): 0.75 (I assume this is mostly bloating)
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: Kidney bean or raspberry (I can’t wait to have swiss chard!  Who comes up with this garbage?)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • “Bigger, heavier, sore breasts, as milk producing lobules in your boobs start to expand.”–Oh good lord yes!  I went up two cup sizes by 5.5 weeks (even the maternity store doesn’t sell a G cup!) and umm, I may have leaked a little last week.  There was white stuff when I took my bra off and it smelled like milk.  Gross, but apparently normal.
  • “Fatigue and/or nausea (yup, still).”–I could sleep for the rest of my life right now.  They don’t mention the insomnia and constantly waking up to pee, but that’s contributing to my inability to stay awake at my desk at 1 PM.  Also, I can’t really get comfortable anymore.  I’m a stomach sleeper and my boobs definitely inhibit that.  The nausea comes and goes, but I’m living.
  • “Pregnancy cramps — the ligaments in your abdomen are stretching as your uterus expands.”–I had horrible cramping from week 4, so it’s actually getting better.  Apparently staying hydrated helps with cramping.  This round ligament pain is a serious beast.  It’s kind of like being shived in the side.
  • “Other tummy issues: constipation, indigestion, bloating or heartburn.”–I do a happy dance every time I finally manage to poop.  There, I said it!  It’s getting better, but honestly, I knew I was pregnant when I stopped being regular.  Oh, and heartburn for sure.  How come no one ever mentions the gas, though?  I know I’m not the only one with this symptom but no one ever fesses up to it!
  • “A heightened sense of smell.”  Hahaha, understatement!  I can smell Cheerios three cubicles over.  I also can’t get too close to dogs without feeling ill because I can smell them.
  • “Weird dreams — get used to them; they’re totally normal throughout pregnancy.”  Luckily the vivid nightmares seem to have petered off.  I wake up not feeling very rested, but I’m not sure if I’m actually having vivid dreams.

The list also neglects to mention leukorrhea, which is a thick vaginal discharge that is quite common in pregnancy.  Yup, I went there.  Sorry, Dad.  I’m also still incredibly weepy and easily upset.  Thankfully, you guys really help make me feel better (thanks!).  Oh, and I’ve had raging back pain for weeks, but I assume it’s from the giant melons on my chest and my pre-existing back issues (bulging disc).  And weirdly dry, itchy skin.  It’s kinda gross.

In other news, I’m definitely already in the “fat or pregnant?” stage.  I know, I know, it is way too early, but I haven’t gained weight, so it’s gotta be baby, right?  Either way, I bought a second pair of maternity pants and I’m loving them!  Now I just need some shirts that are actually long enough to cover said maternity panels.

For comparison, this was in week 4 when I was trying on a new running skirt.

Taken today, 8 weeks, 7 days. And you best notice that I blow dried my hair all pretty for you guys this morning. You are welcome.

Slightly more flattering angle of my roundness. I'm realizing you can't see the difference that well in pictures, but more than one person assures me you can in person.

So far, the hardest part is the uncertainty.  I have to just assume my baby is fine because I can’t feel it move yet.  I’m mostly just scared and a little bit uncomfortable most of the time.  And it’s hard to believe this is really happening after all the crazy TTC hell.  The best part is how excited everyone is.  Mr. Big Pants is just totally verklempt and can’t get enough of telling people he’s going to be a grandfather.  Also, making my husband wait on me and handle all the random toxic stuff doesn’t suck either.

So, anything I should add/change/whatever with these updates?  Does the amount of TMI make you barf a little?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pregnancy Week 9: Wherein I reveal way TMI

  1. Emily says:

    I love the TMI! Keep it coming!

    You certainly make pregnancy sound appealing 🙂 your hair does look nice! You’ve set a prescident. We expect blow-dried hair in all further updates.

  2. April says:

    So it’s kinda still weight loss Wednesday, right? Definitely not too much TMI for me. And I think your hair is gorgeous!

  3. Kara says:

    None of this is no information, so I’m good.

    Add a stool softener to your daily vitamin and avoid the hemmoroids that are coming your way. My two cents.

    If you’re leaking already, you are going to be a prime dairy cow.

  4. Kara says:

    *new information, not no. I’m an idiot.

  5. So I really love the TMI actually, but I’m pretty interested in how pregnancy goes for people right now. My stupid biological clock makes me look at every baby and go “AWW! I want one!”

  6. Love it, love it, love it. I also have to wonder who comes up with the comparisons – why food? I mean, most veggies come in different sizes so it’s not even like that’s a good neutral thing!

  7. Megan says:

    There’s no such thing at TMI for me, and hopefully I’ll be joining you in the weekly pregnancy updates soon 🙂

    And yeah, comparisons to fruits and veggies kind of weird me out. Can’t they pick something you can’t eat??

  8. Sam says:

    keep the deets coming!! you are looking mighty cute, little preggo.

  9. amandasvids says:

    Can I just say that I love your sense of humor! Your post always put a smile on my face:-)
    Congrats again on your pregnancy…looking forward to more TMI updates;-)

  10. Love it! We’ve had so many conversations about the symptoms we had in common that I won’t rehash them again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

