Pregnancy Week 12–There are no magical unicorns here.

Week: 12

Pounds Gained Lost: I lost 2.4 pounds this week, so now I’m down 5.4 pounds. This is my lowest weight during pregnancy yet and I lost most of the weight in the last few days.
Inches Gained (Waist): No change.  1 inch total gain.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a lime (again), a plum (how is this bigger than a lime?), a pacifier (wtf? this is not that concrete for someone without children)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Your hormones should calm down a bit — if not now, soon. That means less nausea and fatigue (yay!).–Don’t tease me you saucy minx!  As you may have guessed from above, the nausea is a little out of control.  I can live with vomiting every morning (guess who was 10 minutes late to church), but I’m having trouble eating at all right now and nothing sounds good ever.  Bad morning (morning is a misnomer) sickness is a sign of a healthy baby, so I’m thankfully for that, I’m just feeling like I can’t do this for much longer, but I suppose that’s what labor will feel like too, right?
  • More vaginal discharge, to protect your, um, lady parts from infection.–Puh-lease, this happened weeks ago.
  • A noticeably bigger belly. Do you look pregnant now?–I look fat.  I look quite fat a lot of the time, but I definitely just look fat.  I’ve been ok with that, though, because I was still hiding my pregnancy at work.
  • Headaches and dizziness may start to intensify around this time, which could be caused by hormones, vision changes, drops in blood sugar, dehydration or stress.–I’m on day 2 of a migraine.  Probably from exhaustion and lack of food.  The thing is, none of my normal coping mechanisms (medication and sitting under a scalding hot shower) are allowed, so I just feel really helpless.  This has been a very hard two days where I genuinely doubt my ability to do this.  That’s normal, right?  I’m starting to feel a little better, though.

I’ve also still got the dry skin, runny nose, back pain, pink toothbrush, and round ligament pain.  I think my skin is calming down a little, although, the winter will probably dry every thing back out.

It’s officially been a month since we last got to “see” the baby.  Tomorrow is my 12 week appointment, so I should get to hear the heart beat (they only do an ultrasound if they can’t find it).  I’m still rolling the idea of asking for an anti-emetic around in my head.  There are some small risks associated, but I’m not sure my weight can be allowed to continue to decline.  Even Saltines are making me sick, so this may be a necessary thing.  Either way, I’m just excited to see the doctor again and be reassured that everything is still fine.  Also, I’m going to start telling people at work (although I slipped to a few people this week).  I’m under some pressure to “make an announcement” on Facebook and someone actually asked me to post ultrasound pictures on my Facebook page.  Is this weird?  I always thought so.  I’d especially feel bad because I know one of my Facebook friends is struggling with secondary infertility.

I think I look bigger. Maybe it's in my head, though. Sorry this picture blows, but the light was making my head feel all explodey.

My cravings at this point are “white” carbs, so mostly bagels (and I just managed to devour some Pilsbury biscuits).  My best eating time is between 4-6 PM, so I’m trying to maximize that.  I’ve really moved past sweets for the most part, presumably because I’ve noticed that sugary stuff increases my nausea (although a cookie suddenly sounds kind of awesome).

Anyways, that’s enough of my whining.  No, the magical unicorns have not shown up to cure my misery, but in another 6.5 months I’ll have a baby in my arms and hopefully very little memory of how tough this trimester was.  No really, I need to forget because my husband really wants two kids.

In other news, I made my first baby purchase on Saturday!  I had a coupon for Buy, Buy Baby, so Mandy and I went to buy a tub.  The tub was out-of-stock so we had to ship it, but I got something small to take home that day.

Stupid crappy lighting! I need to work on this.

What’s new with you all this week?  I know we have some marathoners in the house!  I’m working desperately on catching up with your blogs, but the migraine has really put a damper on my internet time.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pregnancy Week 12–There are no magical unicorns here.

  1. Emily says:

    I’m gonna order some unicorns for you. You really seem to be in need. I’ll throw in a rainbow or two for good measure. I really hope the nausea subsides SOON! Geez, no one should have to feel like that for so long.

    I was especially excited to hear about the vaginal discharge. That is my favorite part of this post.

  2. Mandy says:

    I want to know where Emily is shopping for unicorns and rainbows…and start shopping there.

    HUGS. I hope it gets better soon! I was pressured into posting an ultrasound picture too – but I didn’t until the 20 week one…Do what YOU want to do. I’ll fend off the monsters for you if you need me too – I can probably aim Avery’s spitup if needed. 🙂

  3. Kara says:

    It sounds like you could use some Zofran!

    Even if your pregnancy is miserable, you’ll still want to do it again. Even the thought of being that sick for months again, but this time with a TODDLER! won’t deter you.

  4. Megan says:

    You have the right attitude and just think about the baby! I’m not having a hard of a time as you, but I still feel your pain. White carbs are my friend, too. You really might have to bring it up to the doctor and see what they say, that’s something that they should know about I think.

    Good luck!

  5. Amy says:

    I think you look fantastic, Sarah!! I hope you get to feeling better soon. My sister swore by Zofran in her last pregnancy and it helped her a lot. Looking forward to seeing you soon! 🙂

  6. Army Amy* says:

    Yeay for your first baby purchase! Boo for no unicorns! I’d say post an announcement on fb (if you are comfortable with it), but skip the ultrasound picture.*

  7. Lookin’ good, baby mama!!! You look so happy.

    I can’t remember if I posted ultrasound pictures on FB. It’s sweet that you’re concerned about your friend struggling with infertility, but I personally wouldn’t hold back sharing all the exciting baby news with your FB community just to avoid saddening one person.

    I ran the Indianapolis Marathon this past weekend, and I spent a lot of time in the porta-potties. It was fun.

  8. TriGirl says:

    Hey Sarah, sorry to hear you’re feeling so crappy (though from what I hear, totally normal). I haven’t commented on all your posts but I’ve been reading them. I’ve never been pregnant so I don’t ever have any words of wisdom of my own. That damn ‘morning’ sickness sounds a little terrifying to me. Good job plowing through 🙂

  9. Abby says:

    Sending some unicorns your way this week – here’s hoping that the nausea will abate this week!

  10. Seriously, you deserve some unicorns after all you’ve been through. OR OR maybe that should be the nursery theme!

  11. Marlene says:

    Hmmm, I crave white carbs too. Mmmm bagels. Hope I’m not pregnant. 🙂

    Check out this post……… http://marleneontherun.blogspot.com/2011/10/wednesday-winner.html

    I hope you feel better!

  12. Wow, amazing. I can’t believe all the changes happening with your body. You are doing a great job with everything. That little life your growing is a unicorn, I just know it!

  13. Kate says:

    I feel like everyone I know posts ultrasound pictures on Facebook but really? Who loves those other than family members? Just do whatever feels right. Maybe get one of your friends to spill the beans on your wall and then you can just come in and say “yep, its true” and then everyone can go wild from there. I feel like that’s less awkward than standing up and shouting “Look at me I’m pregnant!”

    I don’t want to ruin the party train but the practical side of me hopes you’re not actually gestating a unicorn. Childbirth is enough pain without a horn to contend with. Maybe we can make you a maternity t-shirt that says “No Magical Unicorns Here” though. Hm. Also, I’m looking forward to those gender prediction voo-doo magic results.

  14. Kim says:

    I am sorry that you are still so sick! 😦 My sister was like that & took zofran during her pregnancies – which really helped!

  15. Heather Braswell says:

    Sorry you are still feeling sick Sara! I really miss you at MIT (but I couldn’t be more delighted for the reason!).

    My sister took Zofran and Reglan during her Pregancy with my nephew, and it really helped.

  16. Hope you start feeling better soon! I’d have to agree with a few others and saying that part of pregnancy sounds awful! I always find it weird and interesting when people post ultrasound pictures on FB. It’s a bit much for me but it is all personal choice! I’d rather see my friend’s expanding belly then the growing baby inside it! But that’s just me. I am certainly no expert! I need to know where Emily’s store is!

  17. Alyssa says:

    Wow, I really feel for you, that sounds so tough! Fingers crossed that things start looking up soon, and you are so right, it will all be worth it for that little baby. Not going to lie though, wasn’t quite prepared to read about vaginal discharge this morning.

  18. Sam says:

    i’m so sorry you can’t really eat at all! that just sucks. hopefully the second trimester will feel like a piece of cake to you. no marathoner here, just trying to run enough to keep my brownie problem from stopping my jeans from fitting.

  19. Holly says:

    Late to the game on this one but… the FB thing is nuts. I have two preggo friends right now and basically they had to scheme this huge plan on how to announce it on FB and even had to inform people directly not to talk about it on FB until they announced it.

    I have NO IDEA how I would handle that or even my blogging/being preggo if that day comes.

    Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

