Pregnancy Week 13–Then again, maybe things are getting better?

Week: 13

Pounds Gained Lost: I gained 2.2 pounds this week, so now I’m down 2.8 pounds. Hooray for managing to rehydrate!  I’m apparently expected to start gaining a little weight around week 15, but I wasn’t supposed to gain any before that.
Inches Gained (Waist): No change.  1 inch total gain.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a peach (bleck), a medium shrimp (wtf?), an egg (there are many sizes of egg internet, a little clarification please?)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Visible veins, thanks to your increased blood flow.–Only on my breasts and I’ve had them for awhile.
  • Less fatigue and nausea, as you enter the second trimester, which is known to be the least symptomatic.–Actually, true!  I haven’t thrown up (just a little gagging and spitting) in two days and I feel more awake sometimes.  Of course, this was all after the barbecue incident on Sunday, which has solidly convinced me that barbecue is of the devil and I am never eating it again.  Awful.
  • Maybe an increased sex drive — enjoy!–Ha, this happened weeks ago.  I’m starting to think they are just digging around for some “new” symptom that isn’t really new.

I’ve also still got the dry skin, runny nose, back pain, pink toothbrush, and round ligament pain.  Well, actually, I had round ligament aches before.  On Saturday I discovered how bad round ligament pain can be when it felt like I’d been knifed in the abdomen.  It was one the side of my uterus, so I didn’t get that freaked out, but it hurt! The doctor we saw today said the amount of tenderness I have over my uterus is not normal.  I don’t know what the deal is, but I found the abdominal ultrasound extremely uncomfortable.

So, we sucked it up and posted something on Facebook.  It was convenient to slip it in with mention of husband’s job, so we just did it to shut people up.  The girl I was worried about upsetting posted something sweet, so I think she is genuinely happy for us.  She’s a better person than I am.

Oh, and my baby bathtub came.  I took it out to look at it and then put it in the box in a corner.  Might be a little early for baby stuff.  Especially since we are moving in February.

It's the 4Moms Cleanwater. There are drains to keep fresh water flowing so baby doesn't stew in it's filth and it has a digital temperature gauge since I'm a total moron.

I went ahead and got my flu shot yesterday at the behest of my doctor.  I felt strongly about waiting until 12 weeks because I tend to run a low-grade fever post injection (my immune system is stellar and likes to do such charming things as attack my colon), but we are past that and I didn’t even run a fever this year.  My arm hurts like Hades, though. Still better than getting the flu, especially with the crazy complications it can cause in pregnancy (like I need more of those).

In other news, we had an appointment with the genetic counselor today.  My Ashkenazi Jewish (Eastern European Hebrew) heritage means that I may be a carrier of some very specific diseases.  Normally, there wouldn’t be much cause for concern since I’m only half Jewish and my husband isn’t Jewish at all, but we are both at a 1:4 risk of being cystic fibrosis carriers.  After looking at the cost and talking to the counselor, we decided not to do the screening right now, but we may if the test turns out to be partially covered by insurance.  The good news is that the state requires the baby be screened for CF in the hospital at birth, which is the important part since we wouldn’t terminate the pregnancy no matter what the test said.

The counselor did, however, talk us in to the first trimester Down’s screen.  We’d originally declined, but I’ve been having some anxiety issues, especially with how sick my flu shot made me this week, so I think I mostly agreed because it gave me another chance to see the baby.  Did I mention my crippling anxiety is being exacerbated by pregnancy?  I blame it on an anxiety disorder, infertility and other people saying really stupid crap.

I think I'm going to be giving birth to Skeletor.

Surprisingly, the kid was super cooperative for the NT scan. I assumed any child of mine would be difficult from the moment of conception.

Anyways, I’m really glad we did the ultrasound.  All of the parameters suggest no Down’s syndrome and we finally got the official bicornuate uterus diagnosis.  This was my first belly ultrasound ever (I told you guys about the ultrasound dildo they use in early pregnancy, right?), so they had a better view of my uterus.  While I’m not thrilled to have the diagnosis, it’s good to know now so we can prepare ourselves for the risk of pre-term labor and the increased likelihood of a C-section and it may help explain our infertility issues.  The baby is living on the left side (my uterus is shaped like a heart, so the kid doesn’t really have room to go from one side to the other), which I kind of knew because I have a lot more aching there and I just had a weird feeling.

This means my stomach will most likely look kind of lopsided as my pregnancy progresses.

Don't mind the hair, I need to wash it. Badly. Husband agrees that my abdomen is protruding outward a bit more than before and we can pretty easily feel my uterus (again, more so on the left).

Sweet.

So does anyone know what the hell trimester I’m in?  I’m officially 13 weeks tomorrow, so starting my 14th week.  According to some stuff tomorrow starts the second trimester according to other stuff it’s a week from tomorrow.  Anyone?  I think I’m leaning towards a week from tomorrow since that’s what the most reputable sites and books seem to suggest.

How was your week?  Anyone else had the overwhelming desire to hibernate lately?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Pregnancy Week 13–Then again, maybe things are getting better?

  1. Emily says:

    I’ve had a “dildo ultrasound”. Strange, right? Definitely a dude’s idea.

    I’m so excited to soon receive confirmation it’s a boy. I’m convinced you have a little penis inside you. (ewwww) 🙂

  2. Army Amy says:

    I’m not good at interpreting ultrasounds (they just look like blobs to me), but I’m so happy for you and your little blob!

    My bro-in-law has CF, so my husband and I have talked about what we’d do when we hypothetically have a baby. We also wouldn’t terminiate a CF baby, and we wouldn’t want to know ahead of time.*

  3. aprilvak says:

    I didn’t know chickens laid eggs the size of peaches.

    Yay for not puking!! I’m glad you’re feeling better and you’re both doing well.

  4. TriGirl says:

    I can’t speak to any of the pregnancy stuff–it’s all so complicated isn’t it? But obviously you’re well informed and you (now) have good doctors so you can tell your anxiety to take off.

    I *can* however completely relate to the desire to hibernate. I’d like to curl up for the next 4 months!

  5. Katy says:

    I have to go directly to this…. what medium shrimp is the same size of a peach?!?! I’m sorry, not to distract from the rest of the post, but it really stood out to me! Haha. I am really happy that it looks to be a negative on the Downs, and hope your pregnancy goes well.

  6. Kara says:

    You = second trimester.

    My MIL had a deformed uterus (her words, not mine) so she had a lumpy bump for both pregnancies. She used to hide it under muu-muus I believe….

    Have I ever told you how much I love reading about vaginal discharge and increased sex drive in one glorious blog post?

  7. Absolutely. It is cold. It is dark. I want to sleep in until the sun rises but I don’t think my job would appreciate it.

    Sorry I’ve been such a bad blog commenter lately! I still read but sometimes I’m time constrained with commenting. I’ve got the baby hat pattern all picked out and my two balls of yarn awaiting the gender announcement (if you’re giving one!).

    P.S. Um…dildo ultrasound???

  8. Hibernation? Yes, please! You know exactly how my week has been!

    I enjoy reading your pregnancy posts. I feel like I should download them and save them for when I am expecting. I’m never going to remember all of this stuff!

    Great info and I enjoy reading your blog more than ever! 🙂

  9. Megan says:

    I say second trimester, but that’s just me. And aren’t a peach and shrimp a little bit different sized? What the heck? Haha, and good for you for increased sex drive, wish I could say the same thing! Love the bathtub, so cute!

    And no worries about your comment on my post, as long as someone didn’t say “you’re stupid and going to kill your baby because you aren’t getting the flu shot” I’m good. I like informed debates, just not personal attacks. No worries 🙂

  10. Mandy says:

    I’d say 1st trimester. But, that may because none of my symptoms eased until week 14, so I decided that the books calling that the 2nd trimester were accurate. So scientific I am. Pfft.

    Love the ultrasound! Bummer on the uterus, but we kind of knew it was coming. At least you’re prepared for what may come next!

  11. Ahhh, this is so neat. You are going through so much and keeping your head up. I can only imagine. I will definitely be learning through you, this prego stuff is complete news to me.

  12. Sam says:

    one of my bff’s had a heart shaped uterus and i think they fixed it (not when she was pregnant though) with one quick and easy surgery. will you have that done after baby arrives? or perhaps there are degrees of it?

  13. Alyssa says:

    Announcing on FB makes it real. So exciting!

  14. Kim says:

    It was great to see you last night & I am glad to hear that you are starting to feel better!! I love seeing the US pics, so pls. keep posting! I really miss being pregnant (mostly feeling the baby move, not the puking part 😉 )

    Kim

  15. Abby says:

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better! And I’ll be interested to hear how you decide to proceed with some of the genetic testing. I have a friend (who has cystic fibrosis) who’s a genetic counselor, and we recently had a pretty interesting philosophical discussion about all of the things you can learn about your unborn kid, if you’re able to put the resources into it.

  16. Yes, I totally want to hibernate. I miss sunlight…

    • Joje says:

      I know everyone and every pacrngney is different. Im 12 weeks pregnant with number 3 and sure feel like i’ve popped in the last couple days. I dont remember that with the other 2 but my other kids r 8 and 10 so its been a little while! lol! so excited!! congrats and good luck with everything!!!

  17. Is it me or is there a huge difference between the size of a peach and the size of a shrimp??? I’m sooooo glad that the end of the sickness might be in sight!!!

  18. lakshmistar says:

    glad to hear someone else mention the ultrasound dildo. i thought maybe it was just a german thing and was getting a bit confused… i also mentioned to my doctor that i’m half eastern european jewish and she was kind of like, “so…??” and i said that i knew there were additional tests and she said she’d have to look that up. and i felt like saying, “yeah, i guess you probably don’t have a lot of jewish clients?” but thought against it… not very politically correct to say here.

Leave a Reply

