We are having…

a damn good time with these Old Wives’ Tales.  Ready for the run down?

1.  First up is the timeless classic, the Chinese Gender Chart (side note, a commenter mentioned that we are technically determining sex, not gender since gender is a social construct, but the chart and everything else I read was titled gender)!

Winner is...boy! (Shamelessly screen captured from TheBump.com)

2.  Next, cravings.

Husband was sent to fetch a Panera cookie right before they closed because I NEEDED it. Winner is...GIRL (although this is suspect since I was always the type to crave sweets).

3.  On to the ring test.  You take your wedding band and hang it on a gold chain, which is then suspended over your belly or wrist.  Circular motion=girl, pendulum motion=boy.  Belly was inconclusive and I refused to put on pants, so wrist it is!

Good lord this is an unflattering picture! Anyways, after some delay I got a pretty strong circle, so GIRL!

4.  Carrying high or low?  Ok, this one might not count.  When I look pregnant (about 60-75% of the time these days), my “bump” is very high.  My uterus is not as high as my bump looks (meaning, it’s organs shifting upwards, not baby).  My uterus is right where it belongs, but people say I’m carrying high, which means…GIRL.

5.  Year of conception and age at conception (they claim it’s the Mayan method).  I conceived in 2011 at age 25, which adds up to an even number…GIRL.

6.  Heart beat at my 12 week appointment was 170 bpm.  At my first trimester screening (the day before 13 weeks) it was 176 bpm.  That’s pretty firmly on the side of…GIRL

7.  Acne is supposedly a girl stealing my beauty.  Apparently my back used to beautiful because I can’t stop breaking out there.  And my face.  Winner….GIRL.

8.  Morning sickness.  I’m gonna guess that since I ended up puking daily that means…GIRL.

9.  The baking soda test (you pee on a TB of baking soda and watch for fizzing) definitely lack any sign of bubbles or fizz (even with a little shaking), so that means…GIRL (I took a picture of this one, but it just looked like a cup of pee, so I figured I shouldn’t post it)

10.  Finally, I decide to whip out the big guns (only for you would I waste money on something so stupid).  The Intelligender Gender Prediction Test claims to tell us what we are having with 90% accuracy (although none of the cited trials are actually at 90%).  According to reviews, it is much more accurate if it says girl than if it says boy.  Anyways, I had to pee in a cup and then suck it up with a syringe, so this was by far the most ridiculous thing I have done yet.  Anyways…

I think that one speaks for itself

So, got a sex guess?  Want to change your last one?  Is there another “test” we need to try?  Leave it below.  I’m compiling the comments on an Excel sheet and I’ll pick a random winner from the correct guesses to receive a mystery surprise!  The latest we’ll have an answer is in another 6 weeks, but we are probably going to find out in a week.  The OB’s office agreed that we could go get a gender ultrasound at one of those clinics so that my husband can be there since he can’t really come to appointments anymore.  Cross your fingers that this kid is cooperative next Saturday.

Oh, and I just had a really pleasant conversation with my former nemesis the OB nurse.  Now I’m feeling incredibly pleasant and happy with my choices. Oh hormones, you fickle bitch. Oh, and my blood pressure today at the Primary Care doc was perfect.

ETA: That’s 8 girl, 2 boy for anyone who sucks at counting on their fingers.  Also, we currently have 7 votes for girl and 3 for boy from commenters and everyone at work says boy (because the last 3 babies were girls).

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to We are having…

  1. aprilvak says:

    I’m sticking with girl, out of intuition. Good to see old wives backing me up on this though.

    But I must share this anecdote with you. Every ultrasound tech assured my BFF she was having a boy. Poor Julianne was stuck with a lot of blue when she surprised everybody with her lack of penis.

    Also that Intelligender coffee cup looks a little scammy to put much faith in.

  2. Emily says:

    Still boy for me!

    My friend had no morning sickness at all and she just had s girl. Old wives and their tales.

  3. Mandy says:

    The Intelligender thing looks like a swamp! HA!!!

    I’ll go with girl so that Avery isn’t the lone girl at Mommy Milers. HA! Such a scientific method to my madness.

  4. RunnerMoose says:

    OK, I wanted to say girl, but no, I have a very strong feeling that you’re carrying a boy. I know any of us have a 50-50 chance of being right, but I feel boy vibes! 🙂

  5. Kelly says:

    It is a boy. You are totally giving birth to a Viking!

  6. Alyssa says:

    I say girl! Can’t remember what I said before. You are only 25? So young! I miss my youth 🙂

  7. Michelle says:

    In thinking girl, or boy. Lol. 🙂

  8. I say boy too. I am usually right about these things. My matron of honor had a boy and everyone was convinced it was a girl. I was the only one who said it was a boy. Score. (Why do i keep saying score a lot lately?)

    And you just made me feel old……..

  9. Army Amy says:

    If the Mayan method says girl, then that’s what I say, too. Mayans are legit; they know everything!*

  10. Terzah says:

    Hopefully you are starting to feel better for real! This was a really funny post. You’re the only person I know who has tried all of those things. I can’t wait to hear what the answer is.

  11. Marissa says:

    I think…GIRL! I love all those gender prediction tests…SO FUN!

  12. Kelly says:

    You are totally having a viking. Its a boy!

  13. That’s really funny. I mean even if they aren’t accurate, they’re still fun to try, right?

  14. I’m voting for boy. Just to be contrary.

  15. Pingback: Pregnancy Week 14 | 30 Weeks Pregnant

  16. lakshmistar says:

    weird – that chinese gender chart says i’m having a boy, but the one on whattoexpect.com says girl – hmm… confusing?

  17. That is hysterical. I cannot believe all the tricks!

  18. Kate says:

    I have been laughing for days about these. I’m certain you’re having a little boy but I change my mind every week. Now that I’ve written that I’m pretty sure she’s a girl. Hm. Well. I guess time will tell. Are you feeling any better yet?

  19. Amy says:

    I’ve said it before… I think you’re having a girl!

  20. Wow. I had no idea these things existed! I will go crazy trying to figure it out!!

    I say Boy. Always have, always will. It’s a feeling! 😉

  21. amanda says:

    So this intelligender…if it says girl, it may be more likely you’re having a girl. But if it says boy, it could mean girl or boy? Got it! 🙂 the Chinese gender chart is clearly one of the more accurate sources, it even has a picture of your soon-to-be baby saying hi!

  22. I know you posted this a few weeks ago, but I have to tell you I stumbled on your blog by googling (for the billionth time) “baby gender predictions”. I appreciate your incredibly comprehensive data collection and must now go and pee on some baking soda (I am 12 weeks pregnant myself). Thanks for the laughs! I’m a follower now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

