Pregnancy Week 15–the upside down tortoise

Week: 15

Pounds Gained Lost: I gained 4 pounds!  I’m only down 1 at this point, although I think we all know I’ll probably lose again next week just to be contrary.  And cause that’s what I keep doing.
Inches Gained (Waist): Ok, so my waist is actually up 2 inches total.  My upper abdomen is incredibly hard, which is presumably all my internal organs shifting up.  Isn’t pregnancy charming?
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a lemon (again), an apple, a navel orange.  I really can’t wait to get in to more interesting fruits like rutabaga.  Not that I actually know what that is.

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Nosebleeds, thanks to increased blood volume and sensitive nasal passages.–My neti pot dislodged a clot of some sort the past few times.  Nasty.
  • Heartburngas and/or indigestion. More to blame on the hormones.–They forget to mention that pregnant lady gas smells like the worst thing ever.  Even my dogs are grossed out.  And there’s so much of it.  And yes, I do have to resist the urge to Dutch oven my husband.  I am secretly a 14 year old boy.
  • Frisky! Take advantage of the increased libido.–Someone forgot to mention the insane sex dreams.  It’s awkward.
  • Swollen gums, another pitfall of those pregnancy hormones. Make sure you’re taking care of your teeth, and see your dentist for your regular checkups.–I’ve given up on brushing my teeth without a mouthful of blood.  But I have been to the dentist recently and they said my teefths look great.

I’ve also still got the leukhorrea, dry skin (so itchy, especially my belly!), runny nose (friggin’ sinus infection), back and neck pain, pink toothbrush, and the occasional ache.  Oh, and I’m definitely peeing for two.  My coworker who is 36 weeks pregnant tells me I’m lucky I still only get up once in the middle of the night (and then again at 6 AM whether I’m ready to be awake or not).

I had another really charming vomiting incident.  I am seriously pissed because I was told the puking ended by now and I feel cheated.  I was dying for a Potbelly’s sandwich (they use cooked meat and I had them run it through the oven twice) all last week so husband drove us 15 minutes away to get one last Saturday.  I got the biggie size and devoured it.  I then coughed so hard I started vomiting the second I got home (I have never in my life vomited from coughing, but I’m still a tiny bit nauseated I guess).  Potbelly’s is now ruined for me and I was totally miserable.  This cough is killing me.  But, Potbelly’s really does have the best hot subs if you haven’t tried them.

My uterus is definitely quite easy to palpate at this point.  There’s one particularly hard spot on the left side.  I think it could be the head?  Or the butt?  It’s kind of creepy feeling, but it cracks me up.  This bump is gonna be so hecka lopsided.  Oh, and I can no longer go from lying on my back to sitting up.  I have to roll to one side first.  I feel really bad for upside down tortoises now.

So, something else no one bothered to mention is the rage.  My hormones are making me stabby, which is really charming since I always had a pretty short fuse.  I also feel really fat (it kind of looks like I swallowed a ham from the angle I see when I look down), so anytime anyone acts shocked that I’m pregnant I want to punch them.  I’m feeling fat enough that I get sensitive if people act like I just look like I put on a few pounds.

That's a great facial expression, self. Whatever, this is done so now I can sleep!

Anyways, rage.  Don’t cut in front of me in traffic.  Or look at me funny.  I’ll cut you.

Anyways, the big excitement is our gender scan Saturday night.  I’m so antsy and excited (and a little nervous).  The thing with determining gender is if you see a penis, it’s definitely a boy.  If you don’t see a penis, but they can’t visualize a labia (it kind of looks like a cheeseburger) then you might be having a girl, but no one can say for sure that a penis isn’t just hidden.  So if you get a poor quality ultrasound or one this early, it might be impossible to be sure.  I’ll let you know what we see, but there is always a chance that a girl could turn out to be a boy at the 20 week scan.  Needless to say, if they say girl and don’t show us a cheeseburger then we won’t be buying a bunch of pink right away.

So, what are you excited for this week?  Does anyone have any questions about anything?  If you have any last minute gender guesses, lemme know cause the pool closes Saturday. evening before the scan.  There are more girl votes, but the boys are a very vocal, very certain minority.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pregnancy Week 15–the upside down tortoise

  1. Kara says:

    You have ruined cheeseburgers for me. I’ll show you rage.

  2. I hope with all the nose bleeds and barfings that you are at least able to enjoy bigger ta-tas. I’m thinking those dreams of yours might be good blog posts.

  3. Army Amy says:

    I’m gagging at your cheeseburger/labia comparison. Blarg. I hope that your gender scan gives a definitive penis or cheeseburger so that the mystery is revealed! I also hope that the puking stops because that’s not fun either.*

  4. Emily says:

    YOU USED THE P WORD!

    Also You make Potbellys sound so appetizing.

    Upside down tortoise! I’m cracking up right now. That’s awesome.

    BOY!!!!!!!!<—that's me being very vocal 🙂

  5. Hmmm, this post went from amusing me (I read passages outloud to hubby) to making me NEVER want to see a cheeseburger again. Thanks. I used to like them.

    Have I weighed in on gender? Hmmm, I’d rather be surprised. I can’t see you with a hole lotta pink so I say boy. That way you can teach him all the 14 year old boy stuff he’d need to know.

  6. Terzah says:

    You crack me up as usual! I hope you feel better soon…and have FUN on Saturday, whatever it does (or doesn’t) show.

  7. These posts are pretty much the best pregnancy posts I’ve ever read. I pretty much stay away from anything baby related, but I can’t get enough! You crack me up.

  8. Mandy says:

    I love Laurie’s reasoning for her boy selection – so that you can teach him all the 14 year old boy stuff he needs to know. LOVE.

    I puked from coughing in the 2nd trimester too – not pretty. Mine was middle of the night though.

    And, for some reason, I have absolutely no problem with the idea of cheeseburgers. Does that make me not normal? 😀

  9. Megan says:

    So excited for you to find out the sex! Hopefully the baby cooperates! They told me I can find out the sex at our ultrasound at 17 weeks, but I don’t know that I’ll trust that. I didn’t know the technicalities of it though 🙂 thanks for explaining!

  10. Abby says:

    A Saturday night gender scanning date – very romantic 🙂

  11. Sam says:

    i am so terrified of what my gas will be like when i’m pregnant. it’s already so horrific. eeek!!! can’t wait for the gender reveal.

  12. Kim says:

    I am guessing girl. 😉

  13. Kate says:

    I will not pretend to understand nosebleeds as they relate to pregnancy but that’s okay. I just saw that you added a special Baby Girl tab! I love that!

Leave a Reply

