I am old?

So, umm, Gossip Girl led me to believe that you die of old age by 26, but apparently that is not the case.

Actually, it really feels like we are just getting started.  I mean, I feel old, but there’s so much exciting stuff going on.  We got pre-approved for our mortgage today.  We are having a baby girl (still in total shock and awe).  My husband is an attorney and I’ll be a PhD in another 7 months.

It’s gonna be a great year!

Crap, I am old.  I’m completely stocked to have a mortgage.  And there is the whole being someone’s parent thing.

My mom came up for the weekend to buy me maternity clothes.  I have shirts that cover my midriff, a winter coat (the sides unzip when I get fat), and bras that actually fit (I had to buy the super mega biggies at Cacique).  She also took us to Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse for dinner (the whole place smells like sizzling butter and the food was amazing) and then we went to the ultrasound where they showed us the cheeseburger.  It was a great visit, even if she did admit I’m basically the grandchild life support system (she walked in and demanded to see her grandbaby, which I found highly entertaining!

She also bought something for her grandbaby!

Today we kept it pretty simply since husband had to work an hour and a half away.  I went to work, I went to Mandy’s (and ate all her food), and then I came home where husband presented me with my birthday gift:

Oh, hello! Gotta love that there's a jewelry outlet on the way home from the office he was working at today.

 

Now someone needs to invite me somewhere fancy!

Word on the street is there is a matching necklace for Christmas!  This is our last birthday/Christmas as DINKs, so I guess he decided to do it up (also, 60% off).  The best part is he picked emeralds because the baby is due in May (emerald is the May birthstone).  I hope she decides to stay in there until May!

And now to go to bed before 9 PM because I am, in fact a senior citizen.  No seriously, I have been getting threatening letters for the AARP for the last few years because someone my age NEEDS to be a member of the AARP.  They don’t seem to believe me when I tell them I was born in 1985.

Do you have any birthday traditions?  Did I use too many parenthesis in this post?  I kinda think I did.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I am old?

  1. Kara says:

    Woah, I missed that it’s a girl!! How fun! Never mention cheeseburgers again please. 🙂

  2. If you are old at 26, what am I at a week away from 37? A dinosaur? Nope, not old, just experienced.

    Love the earrings. Do you think Max & Erma’s is a good enough place to wear them?

  3. Michelle says:

    Happy Birthday! Today is my birthday and you are making me feel ancient!!! 🙂 Im 40!!!! Beautiful earrings too 🙂

  4. Emily says:

    1985?? Holy shit. I’m on my deathbed if you’re old. Stop it. Just stop.

    I’ll be thirty in less than a month. Fuck.

    See what you started???!!

  5. 3-5 even though my hubby put 37 on my cake because he’s funny. No really, just ask him. No birthday traditions here. Jason and I have bdays 2 days apart, which sucks the fun out of both of them.

  6. I ddin’t proofread……apart…a part…..idk. you never really recover from baby brain.

  7. I feel ancient most days. 27 seems like it’s basically 90. But then again I don’t have a husband or a mortgage or a baby on the way so I may as well be 21. With a Master’s. So I’m THAT kind of kid. Not as cool as you for sure.

  8. Elle says:

    Hurray for May birthdays.

  9. TriGirl says:

    Happy birthday! Since it *is* your birthday you get a pass on the parentheses 😉

  10. Happy birthday! You are not old. Not at all. If you are old, then there is not an ounce of justice in this world. You are beautiful. 😉

  11. Raquelita says:

    Happy birthday, youngin’! Congrats on the mortgage!

  12. Excited to have a mortgage? You’re crazy. Sometimes I fantasize about renting again. No snow removal, if something breaks it’s not my problem…glorious.

    Loving the bling for your birthday! That’s awesome!

  13. Army Amy says:

    There’s no such thing as too many parenthesis! And I love the earrings! Gorgeous!*

  14. Happy Birthday! 🙂

    I have contradictory feelings about my age now. I don’t feel all that old, but certain events (baby brother turned 21 yesterday, holy crap, he’s a real adult) make me realize that I’m actually a grown-up. Like how your post made me realize I’ll be 27 in less than 3 months.

  15. Terzah says:

    Happy Birthday and congrats on having a little girl. I have one of those–she’s a hoot.

    Great birthday bling! And dude you are not old! I was born in 1973 and don’t feel a day over 25. :^)

  16. Sam says:

    a birthday and a baby girl – what a week!! way to go husband on the gorgeous earrings 🙂

  17. Megan says:

    Happy belated birthday! And no, you are not old, but I feel like I am too, and I’m just 22! Love those earrings, so pretty! I hope that baby comes out in May, I’m pushing a June baby, but I like emerald more than June’s birthstone, but I forget what it is and I’m too lazy to look it up 🙂

  18. Abby says:

    Brent and I both turned 30 this year, if it makes you feel any better 🙂

    Your husband’s got good taste in jewelry – definitely a keeper!

  19. Amanda says:

    I’ve got 2 years on you. No mortgage yet, and husband is still in grad school. I feel like I’m getting old but we haven’t gotten started yet!! I guess I’ve had a “real” job for 2.5 years now, so that counts for something. Your birthday earrings are very pretty! He chose well. But now you have to wait 6 weeks for the necklace??? No birthday traditions here. (I like parentheses).

  20. Mandy says:

    I’m excited it was jewelry he stopped for! Good guy….although if your baby pulls an Avery – he’ll just have to get your ANOTHER set that’s the April birthstone. (which is a diamond). How come when Avery was early I got peridot instead of sapphire? And you would get diamonds or emeralds? So unfair. (And – apparently I’m ANCIENT)

Leave a Reply

