Dogs as snacks, butt warmers, and baby growth spurts

I swear I’m still around.  I’m going to get a chance to catch up on blogs if it kills me (or at least by Thursday since I have Thanksgiving and Friday off).  Anyways, I promise I can explain my absence.

Baby growth spurt.

Seriously, they warned me this would happen in the next few weeks.  I wake up a little bigger every day and I have to take a nap to make it to bed time.  Oh, and I can’t stop eating.  It’s been two whole hours and I’m eyeing up the dog as snack food again.  They’ve been rolling in poop and mud a lot lately, probably because they want to smell as bad as possible so they don’t turn in to snacks.  Or, ya know, because poop is eau de puggle and they think it makes them smell awesome.

Anyways, we also bought a car this weekend.  Say hello to my favorite car ever:

And by say hello, I mean picture a candy red Ford Fiesta SES.  There would have been a picture, but husband forgot to take it and now it is dark.  I’ll put the picture in here when I get one.  I promise it’s pretty.

I know, red can be douchey, but it was what we could get.  And it’s more maroon than bright, so I’m ok with it.  But as much as it makes me a consumer whore, I love this car.  I love the Sync (I can make calls in the car from my mobile phone using integrated Bluetooth), I love the magical butt warmers (heated seats), and I love how comfortable it is to drive.  Oh, and the hatch means we can keep the puggles in the trunk and thus off the baby if we want to take them all together.

Of course, there was a tantrum at the dealer once, but then they gave me Oreos and a better deal.  Tantrums work, people.  And any car dealer that gives me Double Stuff Oreos is awesome.

It’s nice to know that 5 years of saving for car/house/baby was actually worth it.  Next I need to learn to extreme coupon and grow my own garden.  Oh, and cook.  Anyone want to share their favorite recipe?  Bonus points for short prep and/or slow cooker.  I love Pinterest for giving me such an easy way to store recipes.  Too bad all the pictures make me crazy hungry at 10:30 in the morning (too early for lunch, but too close to lunch for breakfast).

We started looking at houses this weekend, but we have a problem.  Husband likes country/old-fashioned and I like suburban/modern.  There was one house we kind of liked, but it had some weird unfinished parts and it was a short-sale with holes in walls and such.  Also, it appeared that it was being reclaimed by nature considering the GIANT wolf  spider on the back stairs and the stinging insect chilling inside.

If I can't unsee this, neither can you.

Our realtor assured us that most people look at 20 houses before they find the one.  He didn’t seem surprised that we didn’t like any of them, so I’ve decided not to get too worried.  For those of you who are homeowners, how did you know when you found “the” house?  Anyone else have radically different taste from their partner/spouse?

Oh!  And I actually got some freakin’ exercise this weekend!  I met some MITers for a 3 mile walk.  It took us an hour and my hips/back were achy after, but it was so good to get some fresh air and get moving.  I really need to make my husband drag me out for walks more.  I just don’t enjoy walking the way I do running, but I’m allowed to walk so I need to start doing more of it.

Anyone else love to run and hate every other form of exercise?  Maybe I’d like riding a bike, but I never got around to learning.  I swear I will get on that next year.  Maybe I’ll find some more motivation now that I’m breaking up with a bunch of shows.  New Girl and Grimm, I’m looking at you.  Anyone else kind of unimpressed with this year’s shows? I like Once Upon a Time and Ringer, but the rest are kinda blah.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Marriage, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dogs as snacks, butt warmers, and baby growth spurts

  1. Ashley says:

    ahh heated seats are the best!

  2. Army Amy says:

    The car (that I’m picturing in my mind) looks really cute! I’m jealous of the butt warming feature. Did they really give you Oreos???*

  3. Congrats, Ms. Car Owner! I do like running, but I also try to keep an open mind, you know? 😉

  4. Abby says:

    I recently bought a new car and was deciding between the Fiesta and the Hyundia Accent. I went with the Accent, but I thought the Fiesta was cute… and I was actually going to get lime green 🙂

    In terms of our house, Brent started looking to buy something right around the same time we started dating (that was coincidental – though our third date did involve me coming along to look at a handful of places). He checked out what felt like dozens of houses before finally (after four months) finding ours on craigslist, of all places. The previous owner decided to try to sell it on his own before listing with a realtor, and Brent happened upon it in desperation.

  5. I think the Ford Fiesta is the cutest little hatchback (I’m biased, I own a VW hatchback), and I gotta say, the red is a pretty big step over the green color they advertise. Congrats!

    Yes, I get cranky if I don’t get my runs in. Eric’s taken to telling me to go to the gym and get on the treadmill when I start waffling about whether I want to go because he hates when I get cranky without my exercise. I think he’s finally starting to understand!

  6. I definitely hate almost all exercise other than running, so you’re not alone. That’s awesome that you got a good walk in, though.

    When we bought our house we looked at SO many and they were all either gross or weird. When we finally found ours it was more of a “hey, this is nice and normal, let’s buy it” than a “I’m in LOVE!” sort of thing.

  7. Kate says:

    I’ve been thinking about a new car lately as mine is approaching the 80,000 mile mark. I’m thinking in the long-term since the car has had (knock on wood) no issues and is running just fine so far – but I keep having friends buy new cars and it makes me have the jealousies. So that’s one more thing to save for I guess.

    Also, I may have to stop speaking to you over that spider picture. I just. It’s hairy. And I was barefoot when I looked at the picture and now…I need a shower. Ugh.

  8. Mandy says:

    They gave you oreos? I feel completely cheated from my last car-buying experience. The car is awesome! Congrats!

    As to house-buying. I can show you my crazy house-buying spreadsheet. Mark and I looked at way over 20 houses…and I understand that discouraged feeling. We actually looked at the house we bought 3x before putting in an offer. And actually put offers in on 2 other houses AFTER seeing this house the first time. Now though – I love my house. I know – not a big help, huh?

    Let’s walk together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (If I put enough exclamation marks – it means you have to – right?)

  9. Megan says:

    Mr. Skinny and I aren’t home owners, but when we were looking at a house we didn’t have much choice in regards to our price range, so we found one that was livable, and put an offer on it. We didn’t get it (clearly), but since we didn’t have much choice, it wasn’t too hard to make the decision haha.

    Congrats on the new car! We were looking at the Focus when we were got our car, and I loved all the features Ford had, but Toyota offered us 0% financing and we couldn’t turn that down. I do love our Corolla though.

    And baby growth spurts are fun! I can’t wait to get my appetite back, although I hope I don’t look at the dog for a snack, haha!

  10. Kara says:

    Heated seats make me feel like I’ve wet myself, but in a nice way.

    We put in 3 other offers on other houses before we bought ours. I swear by that point, I would have agreed to live in a van down by the river.

  11. Alyssa says:

    Heated seats are the world’s greatest invention. I’m not a homeowner, but I wouldn’t buy one with spiders. Good luck!

  12. My heated seats are the best thing ever…they make me so happy.

  13. Terzah says:

    The only non-running form of exercise I can tolerate is spinning, but only for an hour. Running is the only thing I can do for a long long time. I’m so glad you got out for some fresh air–it makes a huge difference.

  14. Emily says:

    Awesome: a car dealer giving out Double Stuff Oreos.

    NOT awesome: the spider picture. WHY??!

  15. michelle says:

    The first time we saw our house we weren’t impressed. I went back to take another look and fell in love with it. I don’t know, something about seeing it at a different time of day and not sandwiched between terrible places made it different. We love it now and we can’t believe we didn’t jump on it as soon as we saw it. If something is a “maybe” go back at a different time and see what it’s like then. Sometimes it really makes a difference. Be patient, you’ll find something!

  16. I like Once Upon a Time too! I will have to come watch it with you one night!!

    I had a blast on Saturday – I am glad you came out to walk! 🙂

  17. Your car is simply gorgeous…I am also picturing it in tie dye colors with a bunch of clowns inside of it.

  18. Sam says:

    yeahh for a new car!! i’m digging once upon a time. happy thanksgiving to you!

Leave a Reply

