Pregnancy Week 17–Brought to you by my Thanksgiving dinner pants

Week: 17
Pounds Gained: I gained 0.6 pounds this week, which brings my total pregnancy weight gain to 0.8.  That’s still well below predicted, but I’d feel a little better if I kept the gain under 0.5 pounds per week.  Still, baby girl is gonna do what she wants and all that really matters is that she is healthy.
Inches Gained (Waist): Still just a total of 4 inches.  I think I’m growing lower than my waist again.  I’m definitely in that stage of pregnancy where my husband has the urge to rub my bump.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: onion, turnip, or Beanie Baby(?).  I don’t think I’ve ever seen a whole, raw turnip in real life.

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Vaginal discharge, sweat, mucus and more bodily fluids. They’re in full force, because of your increased blood flow.–Yup.
  • Weird dreams. This might be hormonal, but it might also be the result of your nerves and anticipation.–I had horrible nightmares later in the first trimester, but now not really anything memorable.
  • Itchy boobs and bump — I have constant scratch marks on my boobs because they are so damn itchy.  Also, my butt and back are itchy from dry skin.  I know you all wanted to know that
  • Rapid weight gain. You’ve probably gained about five to 10 pounds by now.–Nope, and my OB and I are both quite happy with that.

I’ve also still got the pink toothbrush and some cramping.  I had pretty bad cramping during the first trimester, so I’m going on the assumption that this is normal since the OB didn’t seem concerned and it’s not like contractions or anything.  It’s annoying that I feel bigger than I probably actually look (and somehow the camera actually looks smaller than in real life).  I think the thing is that I can see a big bump when I look down, but from the side and front, it’s less big.

I never thought I'd live to see the day my stomach went past my boobs. I'm up to a G-cup, so that's saying something.

I saw the doctor last Thursday and everything seems good.  My next appointment will include my anatomy scan (check for birth defects and confirm gender) and they will also need to check cervical length.  Cervical length is a predictor of the likelihood of pre-term labor, particularly in bicornuate uteruses, so I’ll need this test more than once most likely.  They use a special ultrasound probe.  It’s hard to believe that I’ll be half way to my due date at my next appointment.

The bad news at my appointment was that a c-section is awfully likely.  My uterus is looking like it may not be able to contract even if the baby doesn’t get stuck breech.  My doctor is totally supportive of trying the old-fashioned way first, but I’m preparing for the worst because a c-section is still major abdominal surgery and requires a pretty intense recovery.  Also, I’m making sure everything is set at work so I can go out on bed rest at any point if I need to (pre-term labor is something the doctor is concerned about).

Oh, and the nurse called this afternoon to let us know that my thyroid medication is perfect and we got a very low risk number on the blood screen for neural tube defects.

Honestly, though, I feel pretty good.  Baby girl is measuring on target and had a strong heartbeat.  She’s viable in another 7 weeks and has a great chance of survival in another 13.  I’ve only got another 20 weeks until I’m full-term (full-term is weeks 37-40 and your due date is the end of week 40).  And since husband bought me those emeralds, she needs to stay in here until May so I can give them to her someday since they’d be her birthstone (is it too soon to bribe my baby with jewelry?).

I am, of course, using all the pre-Christmas sales as an excuse to buy stuff.  Babies R’Us had awesome deals on the Exersaucer and bottle set we wanted, so I ordered them today. Yeah, it’s more to move (we won’t open the Exersaucer box until we move), but the prices were that good (froogle.com tells me things like this).  I love buying baby stuff, so I’m always excited to have the excuse.

I can't figure out how to make this bigger, but this is the exersaucer.

 Oh, and on the naming front, we have most likely settled on a name, but I’m not saying anything until we are certain, so feel free to keep suggesting.  Someone actually did suggest the name, but we had actually already been discussing it for a few weeks.  I’m just worried she won’t come out seeming she should have the name we picked.  Naming another human is HARD.

So what are your big Thanksgiving plans?  I call my maternity jeans my Thanksgiving dinner pants, so I’m quite excited to actually try test that at Mandy‘s house.  Don’t worry, we are bringing pies…that I bought.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pregnancy Week 17–Brought to you by my Thanksgiving dinner pants

  1. Army Amy says:

    Did you put the question mark after beanie baby because you don’t know how big beanie babies are or because you don’t know what they are? I used to have a purple hippo beanie baby that I LOVED! It’d be weird to think of it as a human though.*

  2. I think you know, but I’m a c-section mama too. It was OK, I didn’t do anything they told me to for recovery. No lifting (hello 2 babies, 2 people, I lifted), No stairs (I don’t have a kitchen and bathroom on the same floor), etc. It hurt, don’t get me wrong. But, I never took anything other than ibuprofen even though percaset (sp?) was offered, a lot.

  3. Kara says:

    I like Penelope for a girl. Also, Faith’s middle name is Nora, but feel free to use Nora since it’s an awesome name.

    I’m so happy I can read about your discharge on a weekly basis.

  4. Mandy says:

    Oh no – I have to help put that thing together, don’t I?? HEHEHE

    Thanks for watching Avery this morning! And yes, I’m that girl that posts on your blog WHILE you’re in my kitchen. Did you really expect anything less?

  5. Raquelita says:

    I saw some really cute bump pictures taken from above on some style blogs last year. That might give us a bit more of your perspective. 🙂

    Glad the dreams haven’t been too wonky!

  6. Kim says:

    Great pregnancy post! I can live vicariously through you since I am done. 😉

    FWIW, I have had both a vaginal & c-section. I think I recovered faster from the c-section, but I had a pretty intense vaginal delivery with Jon (HR dropped, vacuum extractor, episiotomy – need I say more?). Everyone is different, though, and the most important thing is to do what is best for you & the baby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

