Pregnancy Week 18–has anyone seen my toes?

Week: 17
Pounds Gained: I gained 1 pound this week, which brings my total pregnancy weight gain to 1.6.  That’s really a little more than I should be gaining in a week, so I’m trying to slow down on my constant consumption of junk food.  I can admit I have been eating like garbage because it’s what tastes good right now.
Inches Gained (Waist): Apparently my ability to do math is questionable.  My waist didn’t change much this week, but I check my original measurement and I’ve gained about 4.5 inches.  Yup, I’m totally getting a PhD in science, can’t you tell?
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: sweet potato (bleck), bell pepper, a soda can.  Is it my imagination or are none of these really the same size?

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Baby’s kicks — they’re getting stronger!–Hey, thanks thebump.com for assuming (incorrectly) that I’m feeling her move even though a lot of first time pregnant ladies (I refuse to use the word prego because it sounds like pasta sauce) don’t feel their babies for another few weeks.  You can suck it stupid web site.  Although, I think maybe I felt her kick once yesterday and once today.  Maybe?  It’s so quick that it’s hard to process.
  • Swollen feet and/or hands. An annoying pregnancy symptom, but nothing to worry about as long as the swelling isn’t sudden or severe.–Nah, but my right wrist is swelling.  I think that’s more because of how I sit with my lap top than because of pregnancy.
  • Back aches. Baby’s putting a lot of pressure on your insides.–Yup.  Also achy around my pelvic bones and hip joints.
  • Leg cramps. They can be a sign of dehydration, so drink up!–Negatory, thankful!  Charlie horses are the worst thing ever.
  • Varicose veins, a product of all that extra pressure on your circulatory system.–Nope.  Did you guys know that crossing your legs can cause varicose veins?  It increases venous pressure and edema in your legs, so if you are worried about varicose veins then don’t cross your legs.
  • Trouble sleeping. Your mind is working overtime and you’re getting more and more uncomfortable.–I am SO FREAKING TIRED.  I cannot find a comfortable way to sleep and I wake up constantly.  The best was Monday night when an hour after I fell back asleep the carbon monoxide alarm went off at 2:30 AM.  It turned out to be a low battery, but I had to spend some time googling the stupid thing to make sure.  I guess I’m just learning to sleep less in preparation for a screaming baby every 3 hours.
  • Increased pressure on the veins in your nose may be causing nosebleeds.–just tiny little ones.  And I think that’s as much to do with the cold, dry air as anything else.

You know what is super annoying?  Getting the compulsive urge to brush your teeth at work (what, this doesn’t happen to everyone?) and then realizing it just left you with a mouthful of blood.  I love when I smile and it looks like I’m a freaking vampire (cool kind, not the sparkly Twilight kind).  Brushing my teeth has turned into something I absolutely loathe because I taste blood forever.

Hmm, might be time to clean the bathroom mirror. Gross, husband.

Hmm, what else?  Mostly it’s getting a little harder to get up from a sitting position, especially if it’s a particularly deep or cushioned chair/couch.  Rolling over at night is starting to feel like a major chore.  I also walk a little funny about 70% of the time and I’ve noticed I’m walking much slower than I used to.  This is probably my own fault because I completely stopped exercising at 5 weeks.  If anyone can tell me where I can find motivation to walk outside when I’m freezing, I’d be thrilled.  BTW, I cannot for the life of me find maternity long underwear.  It’s cold enough here that I usually wear light long underwear under my jeans (denim is not warm) and I’m freezing without it.  One of the guys at work suggested scrub pants under my jeans, but those sound kind of baggy.

This is what I like to call my "I'm half asleep because some old lady bitched out my husband for something that wasn't his fault and he got home super late". Also, I was laughing at the dog for acting like an emo kid. Oh, and yes, I realize I need a haircut, but they are expensive and I don't know where to go. Help?

All of my Black Friday/Cyber Monday shopping was done online and was for baby stuff.  I now have my bottle warmer, bottle sterilizer, baby gym, and diaper bag on the way along with a $2 clearance outfit I bought so I could use a $5 coupon and get free shipping (so I basically saved $3).  I am still waiting for everything I’ve ordered in the last week to show up because the mailman hates me, but I need to resist the urge to unpack stuff anyways because we are moving soon.  Still no word from the bank about the house, but I’m crossing my extremities and trying not to get too excited.

Baby gym. Now I need a grown-up gym for me.

How was your week?  For any of you moms out there, what was on your list of must have baby stuff?  Oh, and can anyone recommend a comfy pair of slip-on shoes?  I’m struggling with this whole laces concept these days.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pregnancy Week 18–has anyone seen my toes?

  1. Army Amy says:

    You’re so far along! You’re almost halfway!*

  2. Emily says:

    I was totally opposed to these until i had a tantrum at having to give up my comfy flip flops for winter, but TOMS are amazingly comfortable shoes AND no laces (score!)

    I’m not gonna lie, that baby gym looks like way more fun than the one I pay $30 a month to go to. Babies are so lucky.

    For the warm under-clothing pieces, could you do thermal running type pants or even just base-layer pants? I don’t know how they’d fit a pregnant lady but that was my first thought.

  3. I love TOMS but find they run small so definitely go somewhere you can try them on before you buy them.

    I like the soda can comparison because I feel like soda cans are soda cans. Sweet potatoes are all different sizes and how could you even know which size sweet potato they mean? It’s like the lemon and lime comparison. I always think of them as the same size though I know they’re different.

  4. On the haircut – I have a coupon from the Fleet Feet Ladies Night for a $10 cut at the salon that was there. I feel like I am cheating on my hairdresser if I use it so its all yours if you want it. Let me know. A friend of mine went there and thought it was good.

    I have the hardest time NOT crossing my legs when I sit……I even remind myself about the disgusting varicose veins that my mom has but I still do it. I am not going to lie – I had to scroll up 3 times to remember how to spell that word. Dang short term memory!

  5. Kara says:

    Find a hair school and they’ll give you a free haircut. It’s really not bad, I’ve had worse haircuts that I actually paid for.

    Where was the mention of vaginal discharge??

  6. aprilvak says:

    You look so good! If I was your real-life friend I’d totally be begging to feel your tummy. I don’t know what’s up with me, I never do that! Maybe it’s the drugs.

    Must-have: a bouncer or a swing, whichever baby likes better. I mean, I love holding babies as much as the next girl, but it’s so much easier to read a book while they’re peacefully squeaking away in front of you in their seat.

  7. Terzah says:

    Sleep sacks were a must-have for when we stopped swaddling our twins. Also a humidifier, which was almost as important for the white noise as for the humidity.

    Have you tried a body pillow for easing the sleep? It worked wonders for me!

  8. This post could have been funnier. C’mon, I only read the prego 😉 posts to laugh!

  9. Jill says:

    You’re pregnant – how fun! 🙂
    My oldest (twins) are 16 so I’m guessing my must-have’s are now so probably out-dated and you wouldn’t even know what I was talking about! Ha. I’m not afraid to admit that one of my twins HAD to have a pacifier .. and he turned out okay :).

    Hey, can you please email me your mailing address for the blog gift exchange (got your comment today – yay)? You didn’t leave your email address so sorry for leaving this on a blog comment. Just replay to this message and I’ll get the email. I’ll email you next week with all the blog exchange info, but I need the mailing address first. Thanks bunches!! Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy…and you’ll see your toes again, in about 20 weeks. 🙂

  10. Mandy says:

    Sarah – you want to borrow my body pillow? It was ANNOYING, but did help. LOL.

    I already bore you with a million of my baby-must haves!!! 😀

  11. Sam says:

    you’re looking great!! no suggestions on baby items, i’m afraid. i’m looking to you to be the expert whenever it’s my turn 🙂

  12. Pingback: Crap. « Where Do We Go From Here?

Leave a Reply

