Pregnancy Week 20

Week: 20
Pounds Gained: I gained 2.6 pound this week (effff), which brings my total pregnancy weight gain to 5.  That is way too much in one week.  Time to slow down on the brownies and eat some chicken and veggies.  Also, gestational diabetes would suck.
Inches Gained (Waist): I have gained 7.5 inches total, 2.5 in the last week.  I guess she’s growing?
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a banana, a coconut, and a cantaloupe.  This explains a lot about why I need to pee ALL THE TIME.

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Vaginal discharge. You can expect this to keep increasing until delivery.–Kara is so excited this made the list again!  And yes.
  • Leg cramps. Be sure to do stretches and drink plenty of water.–still tight muscles, but not really cramps.
  • Heartburn and/or indigestion, as baby starts to crowd your digestive system.–spicy food and tomato products are dead to me until she is born.  Sore throats from heartburn suck.
  • High energy — and libido (grrr)–why is there a grr here?  Grow up, The Bump.
  • Mild swelling. Don’t worry. This should subside after delivery. In the meantime, put up your feet.–my fingers got a little sausagey when I got warm today.  Good thing it’s winter and I only get warm once a week.
  • Shortness of breath. As your uterus expands, it pushes against your lungs.–mostly going up and down stairs, but I assumed it was because I am wicked outta shape.

On Saturday night I noticed that my nipples now leak clear fluid.  I’d heard this can happen, but it still freaks me out.  Still, it’s a really good sign that my body will be ready for breastfeeding, which is really important to me, so yay.  Just hoping it stays a small amount and no embarrassing wet spot headlights at work.

I finally gave in and bought more maternity clothes.  Old Navy has amazing shirt because they are super long, so they should last a lot longer than my last bunch of Motherhood clothes which are already showing off my maternity panel.  I also realized my maternity winter coat is getting dangerously close to needing to be unzipped.  I am blowing up.

This is one of my new shirts, but I really took the picture so you could see my belly's constant companion. Delilah cannot get enough of cuddling with my bump. I'm kind of excited for when the baby kicks her through my belly. It'll be hilarious!

She kicks!  And punches!  I didn’t realize that her moving would feel like tiny muscle spasms (that’s the only way I can describe it).  I can feel it from the inside, but not the outside.  I think I’ve actually been feeling it for awhile, but I didn’t really put it together until Friday morning.  Now that I’ve noticed it, I’m noticing it all the time.  Every once in awhile she’ll hit pretty hard and I’m totally taken aback, but mostly it’s just little taps.  The really creepy feeling is when I feel her hit and then there’s a dragging sensation to one side.  I think she likes roll around a lot.  And everything is exclusively on my left side (occasionally close to midline, but not often).

I am genuinely smiling in this picture. I had a super awesome day, I got to see my baby, and I didn't have to go to work. Today really made me confident about my decision to stay home.

Meanwhile, I had another epic meltdown this week.  I’m not even sure why I was so angry, I just know that my husband repeated something a family member said and I felt like it was disparaging and I LOST it.  Some of what I said was legitimate (at least I still think so), but I’m sure the legitimate points got lost in the crazy shrieking.  I hate winter.

This week has made me really wonder how anyone has a second child.  Pregnancy is hard and I bet it’s 80000000 times harder if you have a small child that is completely dependent on you not being crazy and sick all the time.  I feel like an idiot for admitting that, but it’s really been going through my mind a lot lately.

Oh, you guys only came here to hear about the anatomy scan?  Fair enough.  The doctor said she looks perfect, but really small.  We then realized that my due date was put in to the computer wrong, so she’s actually only a tiny bit small.  After talking to my mother, it sounds like my family might have small babies, so I’m not too concerned and neither was the doctor.  Honestly, my husband is 6’4″, but I am only 5’5″ and I come from a short family, so I guess she takes after my side.  Anyways, it was really cool to see and feel her move at the same time.

Those are her arms waving at us. I checked, those are not lobster claws. My doctor was a little confused by that fear. Too much Nip/Tuck?

That is a four-chambered heart and the doppler flow below. It was perfect. Heart beat was 172 bpm.

Profile. I think this picture looks like a blob, but I put it here for my mother. Say hi, she's at home recovering from surgery.

I also got my cervix measured, but they didn’t give me a picture of that.  It was super weird because they use the dildo ultrasound, which shows the cervix, but also the top of her head.  My cervix looks nice and long, so I’m cleared to travel for Christmas.  I’m supposed to get an ultrasound with the high risk doctors in 3ish weeks and get my cervix checked then as well.  If everything still looks good then we’ll proceed normally until full term.  There is a possibility that at 37 weeks she won’t have descended into my pelvis, in which case we will schedule a c-section around 39 weeks.  I was really upset about the c-section until I talked to the doctor today, but she really reassured me (she’s had 2 herself).  My mom offered to come spend a week with us if I get the c-section, so I’ll have help.

So, yeah.  Basically we are having a healthy baby girl.  Not that she showed us her bits today.  If I had waited for this ultrasound to find out, I probably would have cried.  At least I know she is modest?  She’s actually most active this time of night, so maybe that’s why we got a better view last time.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pregnancy Week 20

  1. Army Amy says:

    Yippee for a good doctor’s appointment and a baby with arms instead of claws!*

  2. Kat says:

    Happy 20 weeks! I hate winter too – I was due in January and by December I was cycling between depression and hating everything and everyone around me. lol especially the people who were due at the same time or AFTER me and had their babies! I had the whole, how do people do this another time, thought too – and now with P here….I hate to admit it….I can’t wait to go through it all again 🙂

  3. Abby says:

    How in the world can a baby be the shape of a banana? (And how can they equate a banana with a coconut)?

    • lakshmistar says:

      that’s what i was going to say! in what world is a banana, a coconut and a cantaloupe the same size??

      ps. the dog is SOOOOO cute cuddling up to your bump. we were going to get a dog and then we got pregnant instead, so now we’re waiting but i’m so jealous! i can’t wait to have a dog! 🙂

  4. I like the profile pictures the best. So adorable… UGH I want a baby now! : ) Congratulations on a good doctor visit.

  5. I definitely squealed “baby!” when I saw the last picture and then I read that you thought it was a blob. Oh well. You also look much happier in this picture and that makes me happy too.

    And because I can’t help but disparage, I’ve never seen a coconut the size of a cantaloupe. The coconuts I’ve seen are usually smaller, but then again I don’t live in a place where either of those things are natives so I’m probably just being lied to in the produce section. Gosh I hate when that happens.

    p.s. I put something in the mail for you today.

  6. I am grateful they are not lobster claws too. What was that all about, Nip/Tuck? So screwed up!

    I am with Katie – I see a baby in the last one too. No blob! Looking forward to seeing you Saturday!

  7. Kara says:

    Yay vaginal discharge AND boob juice? Christmas has come early!!

    I have no idea how I will handle pregnancy with a toddler. It’s terrifying. I took a lot of naps when I was pregnant with Faith (and working as a community college professor with a flexible schedule).

  8. Amy says:

    Love, love, love your smile! I’m so excited for you guys!!!! 🙂

  9. Love hearing “healthy baby girl!” Happy, happy, happy for you!!!!!

  10. Terzah says:

    I think that last ultrasound pic is great! Definitely a sweet little baby girl in there. And I loved it when I could feel mine kicking. It was very reassuring.

    And do not fear the c-section (though it might not happen to you). Mine was not bad at all. If you do have to do it, the only thing I’ll warn you about is taking painkiller afterward. It can, um, stop you up, which to me was worse than the incision pain. Just sayin’. (I hope this doesn’t put me on the list of annoying people who tell terrible birth stories. Really wasn’t terrible at all, I promise!)

  11. I love hearing about her moving. That is something I am really, really looking for ward to when I get pregnant. So happy to hear mommy and baby are doing well!

  12. Megan says:

    Yay for good doctors visits! I’m so happy for you and love reading about you feeling the baby move just because I really want to feel my baby move and haven’t felt it yet. But knowing you’re only 4 weeks farther then me and feel her all the time makes me excited, and anxious 🙂

  13. Christina says:

    You and your bump look fantastic! What a bummer you didn’t get to take home a cervix picture. 😦

    You seem really aware of your meltdowns and hormones. I was crazy during and after my pregnancy and had no idea how bad I was.

  14. Laura says:

    Congrats on being halfway!! I’m glad you’re not stressing about her being small… I wish drs didn’t have to make all those comparisons. It’s too easy for a new mom to panic! Everything looks (and sounds) perfect.

  15. Sam says:

    woohoo for a healthy baby!! love that she moves around so much. you look awesome and love the dog on your belly. future babysitter!

  16. Kim says:

    Sounds like things are going great!! YAY!! I love the pic of your dog with your bump! SO CUTE!!!

  17. Very exciting…..plus you said vaginal discharge so this post is getting an A+

  18. Mandy says:

    I remember the “rolling” feeling – definitely the weirdest feeling ever! What’s wrong with your eyes woman – that’s so a baby. :~P

  19. aprilvak says:

    Hubby explained the Nip/Tuck reference to me. Ha! And I can’t wait for a reaction video with Delilah.

  20. Andrea says:

    Glad things are going well with your pregnancy! Try pantyliners cut in half and put them in your bra for any leakage….it’s way cheaper than the breast pads and it works!

  21. Raquelita says:

    You look so adorable in your full bump photo this week! So glad you’re cleared for holiday travel and that things are looking good!

Leave a Reply

