Execution of a snowman and some winners!

In case you haven’t gathered, posting has been and will continue to be light until 2012.

I’m just too busy being awesome writing a manuscript/my dissertation.  Anyways, we spent Christmas at my dad’s after a brief night at my mom’s house.  Christmas at this age with no young children in the house is rather less insane, so while we were all up by 6:30 AM (my husband, sister, and BIL are all up that early and I had to pee) it was not crazy.  I’m sure that in a few years there will be at least one screaming child going nuts, so I enjoyed it.  My dad always has people over Christmas morning, but we snuck into the kitchen for some fun.

My sister is a chemist whose reactions don't work much these days so she took up baking since that chemistry always seems to work. Observe the sneering French melted snowman cookie. You are correct in assuming I ripped off his marshmallow head and ate it as soon as this picture was taken.

My brother-in-law received a rifle shaped lighter in his stocking (he’s ex-National Guard and met my sister through WWII reenacting).  Obviously someone needed to be executed.

The lucky victim was executed for the crime of vomiting on himself (and being the only cookie left by then).

He had no last words.

There may have been cheering and clapping at this point. We are easily entertained. And the green gel icing was bubbling and cracking rather spectacularly.

There's a great green icing bubble on the right.

We were sort of disappointed that it just looked like he was wearing a hat. And yes, someone ate it.

In other news, I came home to find a package from my secret Santa via the Run with Jill blog gift exchange. Victoria from the Running Peanut did an awesome job!

A shirt for my baby girl! I can't wait to put her in this!

 Thank you, Victoria, I am so excited for her to wear this!

I’m assuming you are all here to see who won the Sugardaddy’s giveaway!  The winners are:

#1 (a bag of pocket change)–Terzah!
#2 (a half dozen brownies and blondes)–April!

Congrats to both of you!  E-mail me (scs 1114 <at> gmail <dot> com) by 8PM Wednesday 12/28 to claim your prize!

As for me, I’m going to go snuggle my poor Rufus who needs surgery in the morning.  He has a strange growth that looks like it could be skin cancer so we will be having it removed along with a skin tag.  He’s also getting a dental while he’s under, so I expect him to be unhappy tomorrow when he gets home.  Cross your fingers that it turns out to be nothing.

That is, I will be snuggling him if Delilah leaves me alone for 5 second. I gave her a new stuffed hedgehog ($1.97 at Petsmart!) and she's going crazy because she hasn't destroyed the squeaker yet.

Or he'll snuggle my husband's head again. Whatever makes him happy.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Execution of a snowman and some winners!

  1. Kara says:

    I didn’t win?? This is the worst Boxing Day EVER.

  2. Terzah says:

    BEST EVER giveaway! Emailing you right away….

    That marshmallow man execution…disturbing….

  3. April says:

    Yay!! That poor puky snowman. What a cute shirt! And poor Rufus. I hope everything turns out okay!

  4. You had me laughing so hard will all those pics of the snowman LOL! Praying everything turns out ok with Rufus.

  5. Ha! Ok, I totally would have been that person eating the cookie. Poor snowman never had a chance.

  6. Love the cookie execution! Totally something we would pull! Hope the surgery is nothing & he is okay! He will definitely be unhappy. What a nice treat after you take him out of the kennel.

  7. Michael says:

    The snowman thing is hilarious! What a great little baby shirt 🙂

  8. Yup. That’s how I like my marshmallows. Burned. To a crisp. You have excellent taste.

  9. Poor Rufus! I hope everything is ok.

    Also, I think the marshmallow cookie man looks more like he has a sweet afro than a hat.

  10. Army Amy says:

    Rufus! I hope he is ok. Doggie surgery is no fun!

    I love the snowman cookies. I fully intend to steal that idea.*

  11. Alyssa says:

    I love burnt marshmallows. I would have totally eaten that cookie.

  12. Abby says:

    I missed that the rifle was a lighter and read through this post four times before figuring out how the marshmallow man died. I kept thinking, “it looks like a burnt marshmallow, but how would a fake gunshot do that?”

  13. I love the snowman cookie idea.

    Hope Rufus is okay!

Leave a Reply

