Pregnancy Week 22

Week: 22
Pounds Gained: I broke up with my scale this week.  As important as it is to not go crazy on the weight gain, I was going straight up crazy.  I do not have a good relationship with food and my instinct is to practice caloric restriction, which is so wrong in this situation, so I’m taking away the obvious stressor.  I was weighing myself almost daily and obsessing, which is one of the things I spent years in therapy for, so I’m removing the problem for the sake of my child.  The weight will come off post-baby and at this point my body is doing what it needs to do.
Inches Gained (Waist): Total 7.5 inches, no change this week.  Probably because she removed her arm from waist area recently (I can feel a hard ridge when it is there).
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a spaghetti squash, a papaya, and a pound of coffee.  Really, a pound of coffee?  Are we talking grounds or beans?  Vacuum packed?

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Increased libido. (We hope you’re enjoying it!)–Why does this web site seem like it’s written by 14 year old girls?
  • Stretch marks and maybe even a brand-new “outtie.” These come with the explanding belly territory.–As I’ve previously stated, I already had stretch marks from getting fat.  They are just turning red and are visible again now.
  • More vaginal discharge, a result of increased blood flow down there.–Yup.  You are welcome, Kara.
  • Steady weight gain — about 1/2 pound each week from here on out.–I hate you.
  • Minor swelling in your hands and feet.–I get sausage fingers randomly once or twice a day.  I’m still hoping to be able to wear my wedding set the whole time, but it might not happen.
  • Back aches, due to extra pressure from baby and carrying around the extra weight.–Yup.  Thank goodness for my prenatal massage tomorrow!
  • Hair growth (maybe in strange places — sorry!). Thank you hormones.–Have I mentioned the hair on my belly?  I’m getting a higher slightly darker happy trail.  Thank goodness for tweezers.
  • Trouble catching your breath, as baby continues to crowd your lungs.–She likes to sit up in my lungs sometimes.  Other times she sits so low that I can’t get comfortable.

I seem to have developed pregnancy induced carpal tunnel and a wicked case of sausage fingers.  This is making writing my dissertation really fun (if fun=painful and awkward).  My wedding set it starting to get tight, so I may have to switch to the larger plain gold band soon because I’m not sure the wedding set will come off for much longer.  I think it may be time to go on a low salt diet even though my blood pressure is still fine.  I’m starting to feel like the Stay Puft man.  It’s epically sexy.

Baby movement seems to be really kicking in to gear this week.  She apparently hates riding in the car as much as I do because she was very quiet and still most of the time we were away for the holidays.  I was, of course, totally freaked out, especially after seeing a few things about stillbirths around this time (after 20 weeks is considered a stillbirth instead of a miscarriage).  Anyways, she’s been moving like crazy since we got home and I’ve been running to the bathroom like crazy.  It probably doesn’t help that I’ve learned that chugging a glass of ice cold water will make her dance for a few minutes.  At least I’m hydrating?

Oh, and I learned what a baby in the ribs feels like.  It feels as pleasant as it sounds.

Anyways, I found this post today, which made me laugh (and take notes for future use).  One thing that’s been bugging the hell out of me is this idea that my midsection is suddenly public property.  People feel free to just reach out and grab.  It’s one thing if I offer to let you touch (my sister) or if you are my handsy friend Mollie, but otherwise, if you touch my stomach without asking, I will probably be forced to break a few fingers or I will honk your boob.  Seriously.  I am unbalanced.  Also, telling me I barely look pregnant makes me want to punch you in the nose.  I feel F-A-T and that statement comes off as “you don’t look pregnant, fatass.”

I like to call that face the "I really hope my marriage survives trying to take this stupid picture". We had problems with just about everything. And I had to put real clothes on because I spent the day in his clothing since I was working from hom/comforting my poor Rufus

Obviously the stomach touching thing doesn’t really apply to my husband.  I like it when he does it because I know it’s his way of connecting with his daughter.  For a lot of pregnancy he sort of avoided the area because he knew I was self conscious about the whole Buddha belly thing, but lately he seems to want to cuddle with one hand there.  It’s kind of sweet.  He still hasn’t gotten to feel her move, though.

Baby also made out like a bandit for Christmas.  My sister got her some seriously cute Christmas ornaments (we don’t really have many because Mr. Big Pants managed to lose all of my childhood ornaments) and A Pirate’s Night Before Christmas.  That along with the aforementioned “see mommy run” t-shirt, baby book, and onesies means this kid got an awful lot of gifts considering she isn’t even born yet.  I can’t even imagine what next year will look like.

Anyways, it looks like we might be close to resolving out housing situation.  It’d be nice to know which house we are moving in to so I can figure out what color stuff to register for (I’m not painting).  Also, we don’t really want to buy stuff until we move, so I would love to get in to a place.  My “nesting” urge is kicking in (another stupid pregnant term that makes me want to throat punch someone.  I’m not a bird or a burrowing mammal).

So, friends, what did you get for Christmas?  What words/phrases/comments make you rage-y?  Anyone else ever have to break up with the scale?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pregnancy Week 22

  1. Terzah says:

    When I was pregnant and had small babies, I hated it when acquaintances (such as nurses) called me “Mom” or “Mommy.” Just hated it! I mean, I was (and am) my own person, with, you know, my own name–and you are not my kid. This still happens sometimes, but much less now that they are older. I do not miss it.

    Love the 14-YO girl comment!

    Hang in there!

  2. Army Amy says:

    I heard (now take this with a grain of salt b/c I really know nothing baby-related) that in-the-wombers like riding in cars. Something about the motion rocking them. LIke I said, grain of salt.

    Good for you for ditching the scale. We have one, but I refuse to stand on it. Instead I just give it the stinky eye.*

  3. TriGirl says:

    It would be so awesome if you honked someone’s boob for touching your belly. Just sayin’.

  4. This post made me laugh out loud. Thank you.

    Isn’t it amazing to think we were once in the baby’s position? I always find the miracle of life just amazing and beautiful. Promise to not touch your belly. I totally get what you are feeling.

    Hang in there – the reward will be worth it.

  5. nikimiller says:

    I think you are totally entitled to punch people in the face for touching your belly without permission. A boob-honking would be hilarious, and they would definitely think twice before touching someone’s belly ever again.

  6. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  7. aprilvak says:

    I want to take a trip so I can be one of the privileged few…that permission is still good, right?

    Christmas? Kindle Fire and six real books.

    Word? Should. Don’t say it, just do it or don’t.

    Scale? Yeah, I had to break up with it two years ago because I was losing weight. Way, way too much weight, way, way too quickly.

  8. I would flip out if someone just touched my stomach. I can’t believe people do that. It wouldn’t even make me comfortable. I never even did that to my best friend. Her boobs maybe. Stomach? No way.
    This is going to sound bitchy, but I haaaate when people try to make small talk. Like walking down the hall at work and someone says, “is it Friday yet?” Like, really? That’s what you got for me? I’m nice about it but inside, I’m punching them in the neck.

    Man, this was a really angry comment.

  9. Laura says:

    Honestly, you look great, and definitely pregnant. I know what you mean about comments… and the weight game is hard to control when pregnant, too. It will come off! It is in your power, and if you determine to make it happen, it will happen. Hope you can enjoy your pregnancy as much as possible and tune out all the other voices! Btw, what are you getting a phd in? My husband just finished his in sociology last May. Hope the writing is coming together!

  10. I have been trying to lose weight for a few months now. I know it is working cuz my clothing is feeling a bit bigger. I only go by that. I broke up with the scale a while ago and I don’t wanna go back.

    I don’t touch bellies unless I am invited even though I absolutely love to. I have a feeling I won’t care if someone touches mine when I am pregnant. Hopefully I will be able to test that soon.

  11. Alyssa says:

    Ok your husband cuddling with the baby is the cutest thing ever. That makes me want to get knocked up right this second. Adorable. That being said, I HATE being touched and am already nervous for this when I get pregnant. Like, even someone touching my arm weirds me out. I had to warn Team Bitch before I met them that I hate hugging.

    I broke up with the scale years ago. When they weigh me at the doctor’s office, I still hate it.

    The word panties grosses me out. Ew, even typing it was bad.

    Have I mentioned how amazing it is that you are pregnant AND writing a PHD dissertation? Seriously, incredible.

  12. You look great! :). I have to say that I am in the minority on this one…I LOVED all the belly rubbing and attention when I was pregnant :). But I can totally understand it being creepy. I think I was just so excited and happy that it didn’t bother me do much and any chance I got to talk about her was the best <3. Enjoy every moment, even those rib kicks ;).

  13. Holly says:

    You kind of sound like a raging preggo woman. But that’s OK. I think I would be the same way. I keep thinking that if someday I am preg and strangers try to touch me I am going to FLIP OUT and go banshee on them.

    I guess for some being preg makes them more feminine or motherly. I think you can still have a baby and be a great mother — but hold onto yourself and not have to change in all areas. If that makes sense.

  14. Sam says:

    i’m loving the sound of the fuzzy belly. something for my husband to look forward to one day for sure.

  15. Terry says:

    You think you hate people touching your stomach. Wait till they try to touch your baby. You will want to knock them out. I hate when strangers come up and touch babys faces. Who knows where their hands have been.

  16. Kara says:

    I don’t even OWN a scale. I have actually never had one. Gun to my head, I have no fucking clue how much I weigh. It’s wonderful.

    I remember going to get my hair cut on my due date and all the women in the salon were like “You’re so small! Are you sure you’re due??” People never say “You’re just the right size!” People are stupid.

  17. I’m sorry how difficult this is for you, but I know you’re going to be a great mom.

  18. michelle says:

    PLEASE honk a boob!

  19. Always learn so much from your pregnancy updates. Write a book! 😉

    I don’t need to break up with the scale, but I am definitely not one of those people that should weigh myself more than once a week, then it becomes an obsession and I focus on that instead of getting HEALTHY, which is my goal.

Leave a Reply

