Pregnancy Week 23

Week: 23
Inches Gained (Waist): Total 7.5 inches, no change this week.  Probably because she removed her arm from waist area recently (I can feel a hard ridge when it is there).
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a papaya (another fruit I’m not sure I’ve seen in whole raw form), a large mango, a loaf of bread (are you frigging kidding me?  Can we at least specify type of bread or size of loaf?  I assume a baguette is too long)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Swollen ankles and feet (it’s totally normal, but call your doc if it’s extreme or sudden!)–I guess swollenish, but I have some serious sausage fingers.  I had to take off my wedding set and use an old (normally too loose) plain gold band.  The band is the one from my wedding, so at least there is some sentimental value, but I miss my shiny diamonds.  Still, better than getting my rings cut off later.  Oh, and my wrists are mega stuff and swollen, which is making fastening my bra an adventure.
  • Braxton Hicks contractions. Be sure to drink plenty of water and change positions frequently to stay comfortable.–Negatory.  Thankfully.  With my risk of pre-term labor, I’d probably freak out.  I do get cramping if I stand too long or drink too little water, so I am avoiding things that can cause contractions.
  • Aching back — sorry, but this will likely linger for a while.–My hips are just excruciating.  My SI joint wants to leave.  I’ll live.
  • Bleeding and/or swollen gums, common because of (you guessed it) pregnancy hormones.–I’ve had pink toothbrush for forever.

I’m struggling to get used to the fact that some days she is a constantly squirming ball of crazy (my sister assures me that baby girl must take after her) and other days she barely moves.  I’m really looking forward to being past this week.  More importantly, baby girl is considered viable at 24 weeks (although she is small, so better to stay in there  A LOT longer).  Anyways, the days she doesn’t move a lot send me flying for the nearest sugar source so I can make her move.  This may bode ill for my diabetes screen next week.

Anyways, today was a squirmy day.  To the point that I actually felt a little queasy and uncomfortable.  Luckily, I managed to get her to stop pressing on whatever weird spot she found, but I feel guilty that it made me that uncomfortable.  I’m really not sure what she was doing, but I think she was hungry.  I was trying to hold out half an hour until lunchtime before eating again and she always gets ticked when I get hungry.  Actually, she’s going nuts right now and I’m realizing I’m starving.

I’ve really hit the point where I NEED to start setting up her room.  It’s making me insane that I not only can’t arrange my apartment but I need to start packing it up.  We are still waiting to hear back from the homeowners.  They made an absolutely insane nonsensical counteroffer, so I’m feeling a little frustrated.  We are making a last stab at reaching terms with them and we should know tomorrow.  The bad news is that this suddenly turned in to a short sale, so we may not be moving in until March if it even works out.  I ordered her crib linens today because they were on mega sale for a few hours, but I want to get a crib and set it up.  And yes, I know I said we weren’t doing a crib, but I realized I wanted one and we wanted to have somewhere for her to sleep upstairs and downstairs.

My moods are a little…all over the place.  Last night Rufus decided to be a putz and I totally lost it.  Like screaming and yelling followed by a nervous breakdown about being a parent.  Luckily we all survived, but I’m realizing that I need to learn to take a deep breath or I’m going to do or say something I regret.  Thankfully, my husband took it all in stride.  At the same time, I get pissed if someone accuses me of being hormonal.  Has it ever occurred to people that I might just be kind of bitchy?

I hate this picture and yet I feel obligated to post it. Whatever, I'll live. The lighting is just so bad and making my face look extra screwy. At least I hope it's the lighting.

Mandy lent us a baby spy device.  I place it on my belly and use the attached earbuds to listen.  It’s pretty awesome.  Fetal movement sounds kind of like bubbles and we can just barely pick up the heartbeat.  It’s also reassuring because I can usually hear something so I know she’s fine in there.  Pregnancy is anxiety inducing and I’m a little high strung to begin with.  One more week until viability, 14 weeks until full-term.  Getting close!

How was your week?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pregnancy Week 23

  1. Kate says:

    14 weeks sounds way closer than 3.5 months. Good golly. Also, I would encourage you to revisit my “a papaya is not a mango” comment re: baby size. I’m wondering if a loaf of sourdough is right?

  2. Wow, this is going by fast – even if you don’t think so! Totally cool of Mandy to share that – how interesting!

  3. Army Amy says:

    “Has it occured to anyone that I just might be kind of bitchy?” Love it!*

  4. Kara says:

    This post seemed really hormonal.

    I can say that because you’d get distracted by donuts on the drive to MD to punch me.

  5. Kim says:

    You look great, Sarah! I loved being able to hear Hannah’s HB when I was pregnant! I rented a fetal HR thingy b/c I was so OCD about making sure she was okay.

    You are getting so close!

  6. Jenn says:

    I ate a snickers everyday to feel movement. IDK why, maybe retroverted uterus & kicks to the back, I only felt squirms. Shit–maybe it was the fact that 2 babies were squished up in there:) Keegan was breech and I was always poking him, it’s a wonder he didn’t come out with a thumbprint on his forehead.

  7. Laura says:

    You’re definitely getting close! I am jealous of the baby spy device… that would have been helpful on my worrisome days, too. 🙂

  8. michelle says:

    14 weeks does sound ridiculously close! I hope the house stuff comes through for you!

  9. 14 weeks sounds so close! I would probably grab some sugar just to feel a baby move too. lol
    I hope everything works out with the house!

  10. Sam says:

    i wonder if you can hear with just a stethoscope? that would be awesome and i’m pretty sure i would make bennett do it all the time.

  11. Alyssa says:

    That sucks about the house – sorry to hear it! Sounds like the baby is developing much more of a personality though – exciting!

  12. Mandy says:

    I was totally the exact same way – and yet – I have more patience than I ever imagined with Avery. You’ll be a good mom! We just may have to joke about animals eating their young. 😉

Leave a Reply

