Blog malaise and a house

We are officially in contract on house #3.

Yes, that’s right, #3.  The people for house #2 remained batshit insane and I’m not willing to pay their bank an extra $5000 because they have pride issues.  Also, this house has a really sweet backyard and fence for puggles.  This house is nice too because it has a bonus room (a 4th bedroom sized room over the garage) and a fully finished walk out basement (the yard has an awesome slope for sledding, less so for mowing, which is husband’s problem).  Anyways, we will be closing February 10 as long as everything looks good during the inspection and we don’t have any weird hiccups.  Now to tell our crappy apartment complex.  This is both exciting and terrifying.

Anyways, lately I am suffering from some serious blog malaise.  I just have nothing interesting to say.  Still pregnant.  Still living in my crappy apartment.  Still procrastinating on the dissertation.  I’m possessed of a horrible burning need to get my house in order and set up baby stuff, but that’s not really an option right now.  It feels like my entire life is just a holding pattern right now.  Waiting for baby, waiting to be done with school, waiting for our house, etc.  It feels like all I do is wait.  And I am the least patient person in existence.

Maybe I should spend less time waiting and more time dissertating.  I keep complaining that a lot of people my age don’t seem to understand the concept of working for what you want, but I’m not doing a good job of following through.  I’m going to have to think about what I can do to make me more accountable because I need the completed document by the beginning of April.

How do you get past blog malaise?  Anything we should know about being new homeowners?

Sorry for the whining, I’ll be back Wednesday with less first world problems.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blog malaise and a house

  1. Terzah says:

    Hey! When I get blog malaise, I don’t blog until it’s over. I figure, since I’m doing it for myself, there’s no need to try to break my brain when I don’t have anything to say.

    I can’t speak to the house question, alas. Maybe you can help me next year with that.

    Can I just say again? Those are the best brownies I’ve ever had. I’m getting them for my sis-in-law’s birthday and I might just have to buy some more for myself before that.

  2. Kara says:

    Ah, home ownership. Get ready to spend a LOT of money at Lowe’s, but not on anything fun. It never ceases to amaze me how much it costs to just buy stupid stuff you actually NEED. If I spend 200 bucks, I expect to get something fun, but yeah….no.

    Should we be yelling at you when we see you on Twitter to stop fucking around and dissert the crap out of that paper already?

  3. Army Amy says:

    Yeay for the house! I’ll cross my fingers that it is smooth sailing. No house for me, so I have no wisdom to pass on.*

  4. Amy says:

    So excited for you, Keith and baby girl Stevens! (That’s what I call her since you refuse to give up her name!) 🙂 Make sure you let us know when you need muscle man Rich to help you move!

    Get busy on that dissertation. You won’t want to do anything academic once she arrives. Again, notice the lack of proper noun usage in above sentence…

  5. foodiefiasco says:

    Congrats on the house and I hope everything goes well this time! You’ll get through your malaise. You just rock like that. 😉

  6. Christina says:

    May everything go well with this house! If you ever feel obligated to blog, please blog about house stuff.

    I haven’t felt much like blogging lately, either. There is a lot going on in my life right now, and I feel overwhelmed. It’s not running stuff, so my blog doesn’t seem like an appropriate outlet

  7. Kate says:

    When I don’t feel like blogging, I don’t. But sometimes I do what I call “cop out” posts to keep myself in the habit of posting even when I’m not super interested in the blogging-ness. I’ll do a round up of pinterest things or a meme or whatever feels worth doing. I think I’ve even blogged my to-do list on a few occasions. Not that I advocate throwing out crappy posts just for the sake of posting, but if you need suggestions, that’s what I’ve got. You might also try using the blog as an incentive for yourself – like, “if I spend an hour dissertating I can write a blog post! yay!” It may not work, depending on your funk, but it might also be the trick to pull you out of your malaise.

    I bet you could get some guest bloggers if you’re worried about getting content put up and you just don’t have the time/energy to put together anything of your own.

  8. I often have nothing to say on my blog. Which is why I post less frequently now. Eh, it happens. Don’t sweat it. Once you get in that new house, you can tell us all about the decorating, baby!

  9. Abby says:

    My blogging-to-dissertation ratio was always an inverse relationship: when I was dissertating well (even if just thinking about it productively, if not writing), my blogging frequency went way down. Maybe you can chalk the malaise up to a lot of productive thinking?

  10. Laura says:

    Congrats on the house! Hope everything goes through quickly and smoothly. I know the feeling of everything being on hold and it feels like you can’t do anything but wait… it won’t be long before you’ll be busy again getting settled in and preparing for the baby. Enjoy the downtime while you have it!

  11. fixitwithwine says:

    sign up for some kind of home warranty program, it covers you in case any appliances break and it’s wonderful to have. my washer broke and they sent someone out the next day with a replacement piece.

  12. Mandy says:

    YAY! I had a home warranty that paid off when my furnace broker the first year. Smart idea!

  13. Congrats on the house. Praying everything goes smoothly and you close when you are supposed to. So, home ownership, Yea be prepared to spend money and don’t get upset when projects take a lot longer than expected or just never get done. Remember the house can wait, spend time with family.

  14. My advice? Wait to tell the apartment complex until AFTER the inspection passes with flying colors. You just never know. Another thing? If you can afford it, hire Two Men & a Truck to help you move. Its easier than asking friends and then buying beer/pizza for them. Also, sign up for Angie’s List…………you can find great businesses for any things you need done around the house there.

    I am seriously blocked too. Can’t figure out what is so interesting in my life to post about. I have ideas and then never have any paper to write them out when I am away from my computer. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

