Pregnancy Week 24

Week: 24
Inches Gained (Waist): Total 8 inches, +0.5 inches this week.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a papaya (again), an ear of corn, a half gallon of milk (? that seems awfully big)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Swollen ankles and feet. Be sure to elevate them while you’re sitting.–Is that why they hurt like hell all the time?  The swollen fingers are still worse.
  • Leg cramps, which can be sign of dehydration.–Borderline.  I’ve realized that if I stretch my calf any more it will Charlie horse, but so far I’ve avoided it.
  • Back aches — yup, still!–Gee, really?  You mean my backache won’t get better as the baby gets bigger.  Shocking.
  • Linea nigra. That’s the dark line that runs up the center of your belly. It will fade after baby’s born.–Nope
  • Stretch marks, which may continue to appear as your skin stretches even more.–Yeah.  I’m gonna have wicked bad stretch marks by the time this is over.  Also, my belly button is starting to feel tight.  I wonder if it will pop out?

I'm cracking up because I was yelling directions at my husband and he informed me that he's "been taking these pictures for months, so he might know a thing or two about how to do it." Touche, sir. I find it hilarious when he gets all self righteous.

Anyways, let’s talk about pregnancy food rules, shall we? I think that it’s normal for first time moms to be anxious and a little obsessive about the rules. From what I’ve seen and read, it sounds like being a former infertile adds to that anxiety and anal retentiveness.  Basically, according to the internet, pregnant women can’t eat undercooked anything (including runny egg yolks), soft cheeses (feta, blue, etc), cold deli meat, excess seafood, etc.  Basically, I’ve avoided all of these things to the letter and even feel a little guilty when I eat deli meat heated to steaming despite being told it was ok.  Finally, Kara called me out on being crazy, which is good, because I really want some soft freakin’ cheese and I’m allowed to have it as long as it is pasteurized (although blue cheese may be a grayzone because of the mold, does anyone know?).  While I don’t intend to throw the rules out the window, I do think it’s time to loosen up a little.  There’s no reason I can’t have feta (pasteurized) along with some well heated lunch meat.  And it makes me happy and feel less restricted.  And I’m not endangering my baby.

Still, I think the sushi is going to have to wait.  Have I mentioned that I dream about a good piece of raw fatty tuna?  Also, I’m dying for a Jimmy John’s sub, but those are not made to be eaten warm and I’m not quite ready to push the limits that far.  I can honestly say that I don’t miss alcohol, though.  Actually, I find the smell of it absolutely nauseating.

Moving on, tomorrow is my 24 week appointment, which means the dreaded gestational diabetes screen.  Basically you drink a nasty tasting bottle of orange sugar water and then they check your blood sugar.  If it’s too high after an hour, you get sent for a three hour test, which involved a larger quantity of the nasty and 4 blood draws over three hours.  I’ve had the short test before to check for PCOS, so I already know that the drink makes me sick as a dog.  Last time I was incoherent and had a migraine all day.  This should make working on my dissertation super fun tomorrow.  It’s worth it, but I have to wonder how crazy baby girl will go when I consume that much sugar.  That’s also her most active time of day anyways.

In baby news, my husband finally got to feel her kick on Monday.  Lately she kicks my right side really hard first thing when I wake up.  My placenta is on the left, so when she manages to get to the right, it’s quite noticeable.  He told me it felt pretty freaking weird. Sorry guys, we are not sentimental and it does feel weird.  I love knowing she’s in there, but it is a little strange to see my gut move on its own.

Regarding baby names, someone (cough, Amy, cough) called me out in the comments for refusing to tell people her name.  Yes, we have settled on one.  It was the one we were serious about before the ultrasound, but no, we aren’t telling people besides immediate family (and we weren’t going to tell them, but I suck at hiding things from my mom and sister).  It’s nothing personal, it’s just that we don’t really want people’s opinions on the subject and I would be devastated if someone ruined the name for us.  I will say the middle name is Martha after my great aunt.  But that’s all you get.

Anyone else a little too strict about rules?  I really need to learn to relax.  It’s not just pregnancy rules I follow too closely.  Think we are crazy for keeping the name to ourselves?  How was your week?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pregnancy Week 24

  1. Tracy says:

    I think that’s an adorable photo of you.
    And props to you for keeping the name secret if you want. Your baby. Your choice. Word.

  2. Emily says:

    So keep a watch for some poopy mail 😉 I had to send you your, um, baby shower (?) gift before your address changed. I can’t wait for pictures once you get to use it 🙂 BTW I still have your Hot Chocolate packet. I promise to send it to you someday 🙂

    I think it’s perfectly fine to keep the name to yourselves until she’s born. I envy your willpower.

  3. I have a friend who calls her child “Lulu” on her blog because she doesn’t want anyone’s opinion on the name and Lulu is almost a year old now. We (collective, not royal) are a bunch of thoughtless bitches when it comes to baby names. More power to you (Although I already suspect you’re just keeping it a secret cause you named the baby after me and don’t want your other readers to be jealous).

    While I know when I get pregnant I also will be a stickler for the food rules because it will be my first baby and odds are high I’ll be *that* mom, I say go for the (pasteurized) blue cheese. Not that this is the kind of hard-hitting scientific fact you probably want to justify your decision, but my pregnant best friend has been eating it. I know everyone can say something along those lines about every pregnancy “no-no” but in the event that helps…now you know.

  4. Army Amy says:

    I hate it but I love it when people keep a baby’s name secret. I hate not knowing it, but I love the big reveal.

    And I love that you are smiling in this week’s picture!*

  5. Kara says:

    I didn’t tell people Faith’s name. Random people ask you for the name and like you, I wasn’t interested in their opinions or “Oh, I knew a Faith in high school. She was such a slut” type comments.

    I was super strict about the food rules when I was pregnant too. I figured it was the nature of the game to sacrifice for the kid. Even now I still do it because she likes to eat my food, so I’ll end up making something (boring) healthy because I don’t want her eating shit like me everyday. 🙂

  6. Raquelita says:

    My sister only shared the name with my mom, her husband’s immediate family, and me before this afternoon. I think it’s fine to keep some things private.

  7. Amy says:

    I’m resigned to the fact that I will have to wait to find out her name…although I’m not against using bribery. 🙂 I wasn’t real strict on my eating, but I stayed away from artificial sweeteners and caffeine. I don’t remember the soft cheese/lunch meat rule being around when I was pregnant.

    I think you look absolutely beautiful! I can’t wait to feel that little one kick…if you let me close enough to feel her! 🙂

    I actually liked the taste of the sugar drink…thought it tasted like Sunkist. Hope it goes well!

  8. Mandy says:

    I was a stickler for most of the rules. I even looked up which fish I could have in what quantities when I went to Maui. That being said, other than the cheese, I think you’ve been even crazier than I was! (I never did soft cheese, sniffle).

    That’s how you know the name is a keeper. Once we thought of the name Avery, we were scared to tell it to anyone. 🙂

  9. Holly says:

    There are so many “don’t” and I am realizing now like every beauty product or cough syrup – whatever – says to consult your doc if you are preg. Jeeze. I’ve been gaining an interest in aromatherapy — and even those natural oils are not supposed to be used by preg women. What can you do?!

    I am just happy I was born when I was and not 1,000 years ago because back then I would have been bearing children for a living and pretty much preg my whole life.

  10. I don’t blame you for wanting to follow all the rules to a t, i would probably be the same way!

  11. Marissa says:

    LOVE the pic of you all smiles…you look SO happy!!!

  12. My Dr always says sushi and alcohol are definite no, but everything else in moderation. Don’t kill yourself over wanting a sub sandwich. My bestie ate whatever she wanted obviously made sure things were pasteurized and stayed away from sushi and alcohol. She ate cold cuts almost every day for lunch. She ate soft cheese, hotdogs and lots of other no no foods and her baby is perfect. Remember our parents and grandparents didn’t have restrictions and probably smoked and drank and we and our parents turned out fine.

  13. biz319 says:

    When my daughter was born 20 years ago I am so glad that I didn’t read a thing (maybe because I was young and stupid!) but I basically ate anything – I hated red meat though and craved Chinese food. To this day my daughter doesn’t like red meat and blames me because I never introduced it to her in the womb!

    I am sure everything will go well – and didn’t realize about the cold cuts until my co-worker couldn’t eat Subway!

  14. Laura says:

    Loved it when my husband could finally feel her movements, too! Yes- I’d go for the feta, I ate it too… it’s hard to find un-pasteurized, most of what grocery stores sell is fine. We kept our name a secret too, and it’s a good thing, because after she was born we changed our mind!

  15. Terzah says:

    Your baby, your decision about when/if to tell the name!! That’s my opinion. :^)

    I totally thought of you while I was running on the Alter-G. :^)

  16. aprilvak says:

    I love these size comparisons. I think if I saw an ear of corn the size of a half gallon jug, I’d check to see if I was at a county fair. That’s gotta be blue ribbon size, right?

    And it’s your kid, your name choice, you don’t have to tell anybody or justify it!

  17. Nice to see a smiley picture this week! Way to go!

    We’ll just have to plan a sushi date for some time after No Name Martha is born. I had a friend who didn’t dye her hair during her entire first pregnancy b/c the doctor said not to. When the second came around, the doctor said it was okay so she did. she had a lot of gray hair. I just wonder about the rules because what did our mothers do? Shoot, mine smoked and I am half way normal.

  18. Megan says:

    I have definitely been slacking on following the pregnancy “rules” – and I never stopped eating pasteurized feta. Oops. I’ve been eating more lunch meat, but I heat it up, doesn’t bother me to do that. I still seriously miss some eggs benedict with dippy eggs. Oh man. I completely understand about the name thing. I wish my husband had the same name taste as I do, because if we had a girl, I am in love with the name Penelope, but he hates it, and I know it’s not a very popular name… So instead, we’ll probably be picking a very popular name in recent years (awesome, not) and pray that there aren’t 6 other girls with the same name in her class. A boy name has been picked forever considering that my husband would want him to carry on the “family” name. Whatever.

  19. Alyssa says:

    I just had a major breakdown over not being able to eat runny eggs while pregnant. Oh well, I guess it’s a sacrifice I can make. My husband and I chose names years ago and refuse to tell and it’s funny how much it pisses people off, even people we barely know, when we are not even pregnant or close to! Good luck with the test!

Leave a Reply

