Confessions (I have run out of ideas)

1.  I used to be a dirty hippie.  Like no animal product eating (or wearing), “no blood for oil” t-shirt wearing hippie.  I still showered more than once a week, though.  As we’ve previously discussed, I went to college at 15 and lived in a dorm, so I just did what my hippie friends said was cool.  I now eat steak and don’t care enough about politics to wear t-shirts.  And no, baby girl will not be going to college at 15, I don’t care how smart she it.

2.  I have a weird crush on Joe Biden.  He’s just so spectacularly random.  I swear when he opens his mouth, it’s like Christmas.  You just never know what you are going to get.

Also, his wife is my hero.  Did you know she is the only second lady ever to hold a job?  She’s a college history professor who teaches classes every semester while still doing her VP’s wifely duties.  I don’t care what party you are, Jill Biden is brilliant and maintains her own identity.  I wish I could find a copy of the article I read about her because I think you all would admire her as much as I do.

Note: this is not about politics.  I do not endorse anyone or their politics.  I pretty much hate everyone, remember?

3.  I find “What I Ate” posts so incredibly dull.  I just don’t get the point and I never know what I’m supposed to say about them.  Unless you ate something super amazing delicious (dessert) or you are linking a recipe, they all look the same.  Especially all the bowls of oatmeal.  Sorry.

4.  I have smoked cigarettes (and a few cigars).  I know, I’m a cardiovascular physiologist, but I was also a 15 year old college student.  I was never a “real” smoker, but I was definitely a social smoker.  Once I learned how nicotine works on the body in my Human Physiology class, I quit for good.  And now my asthma is so bad I can’t even be around smokers.

5.  I LOVE when bloggers post pictures of themselves.  As we’ve previously established, I talk about you guys like we are in real life BFFs (seriously, my husband knows your names), so it’s nice to put a face to your name.  And in Kari’s case, a man voice to your name.

See, isn't it more fun when you have a face? BTW, do you like my friends? We went to St. Mark's Square in Venice in 2007 and they have this weird species of flying rat that just land on you as they please. Creepers. And that bird is totally ogling my rack.

6.  I am a rule follower.  Like to the point of driving people crazy.  Besides speeding, I just can’t bring myself to break rules and I get really upset when other people do if there’s any chance the consequences could affect me.  This probably one of the less charming facets of my personality, but I’m not sure it’s a habit I should break either.  Just because someone told me it’s stupid to follow rules and it’s better to ask forgiveness than permission doesn’t mean that’s actually good advice.

7.  I’m secretly (maybe not so secretly?) obsessed with the royals.  I’m not really in to looking at photo galleries of celebrities, but I always click through if one features Kate Middleton.  I was never in love with Prince William (he’s a little on the fugly side), but she fascinates me.  And yes, I watched the wedding on Hulu.  I feel like this might be a continuation of my fascination with the York and Tudor monarchs (ex-History major, remember).

8.  I feel obligated to have 10 confessions per confessions post, but honestly, this post is already 600+ words, so screw it.  It’s Friday the 13th and there’s white death outside.  I’m just hoping to not die walking to and from my car this weekend.  Physics stops being your friend at this point in pregnancy.

Tell me something about yourself!  Anyone else love when bloggers post pictures of themselves?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Confessions (I have run out of ideas)

  1. Army Amy says:

    I’m a major rule follower, too! Everyone at work will blow off something the principal said we have to do but not me. Even if no one is going to follow through or check on us, I still follow the rules to a t.

    And you think Prince William is ugly?! Bullocks!*

  2. Kara says:

    Harry is the hot one. Ginger lover for life!

    If I’m drunk, I want to smoke. I don’t know why exactly, but it’s a strong urge. This is one of the many reasons I don’t get drunk.

    I don’t have many pictures of myself on my blog because I take them all and I can never get a good one with the self timer.

  3. Sarah says:

    I’m a wicked rule follower too. Especially in the car. Lack of directional usage is my biggest pet peeve!

    I agree with Kara about Harry. He’s the hottie.

    Oh, and now I’m going to go read about Jill Biden because she sounds pretty awesome.

  4. I am with you on Prince William! His nose is HUGE! He seems like an amazing person though and I admit – Kate is beautiful!

    I used to smoke too and I’d say I was a social smoker too. I was able to quit when Steve told me he didn’t want to date someone who smoked. He rocked my 20 year old brain so quit I did.

    Now I have to go read the college at 15 post. Explains to me why I think you are 37 and not 26.

    And I love it when bloggers like Kara post pictures of their kids with hilarious sayings. Get ready to get funny when bump is born.

  5. Mandy says:

    I love blogger pictures too….especially ones that feature flying rats ogling you. :~P

    If I’d know that about the royal wedding, we couldn’t have been friends. HA!

  6. Christina says:

    Blogger pictures are great! I also love pictures of little bits and pieces of the blogger’s life. It’s nice to see the blogger as a whole person and not just as a runner or whatever.

    I was a pack-a-day smoker for four or five years. I quit when I was four weeks pregnant.

  7. Marissa says:

    LOVE THIS KIND OF POST!

    Hmm, something about myself: I LOVE to dance while I clean house…I will turn up the music and the broom is my dance partner and we tear up the dancefloor-or living room floor! LOL! I’m such a dork!!!

  8. Laura says:

    I’m behind in blog reading… I didn’t know your college story, or the hippie past. I’ve gone through bits of hippi-ness, especially living in Ithaca. There are things I hope to keep (growing some of our own food, composting) and things I’m okay without. 🙂 Love pics of bloggers, too! I hear you on the wiaw posts… I always feel a little sheepish doing them, but it definitely keeps me more accountable in my eating that day, and it’s been fun connecting with some bloggers that way. No need to comment, though!

  9. Katie says:

    Ok, I have a remedy to #3. Bonzai Aphrodite. Her “What I Ate Wednesday” posts are fascinating, partly because she’s a vegan breast-feeding mother, partly because she makes vegan food look delicious (sometimes hard to do), and partly because she has the cutest 2 year old boy you will ever see. Check her out. I’m not vegan or a mom and she fascinates me.

  10. I freaking hate what I ate posts too. They either make me hungry or bore the crap out of me.

    Funny story about my man voice (that I forgot to put in the blog): Saturday morning, I was out at the crack of dawn to walk Bungee and I was standing in the lawn calling her over to hook her up to my leash and my neighbor next door was apparently outside and goes “good morning Mike!” Awesome. Apparently, I sound like Mike now.

  11. Alyssa says:

    I used to be a huge social smoker when I was in my early twenties. Who knows why getting drunk makes me want to smoke, but it does. The what I ate posts just make me feel fat, because people always eat way less than me. I’d rather only hear about something amazing someone ate (preferably dessert). I like the pictures too. Apparently Kara doesn’t post enough because when she posted one of us in a race, a commenter thought I was her.

  12. I love pics too. Putting a face with a name helps me remember everyone better and I remember their history better too. Thanks for all the fun facts. I love learning more about you.

Leave a Reply

