That time I got to hold an Olympic medal and other shenanigans

I need to be rich.

Last night was a special ladies night at the Blue Jackets game (hockey for those of you who don’t know).  We got hors d’oeuvres, drinks, a t-shirt, a seminar on hockey, and club seats for a sweet price.  Note that I could probably never afford seats that good otherwise.

First we went up to the suite for the food, drinks, and seminar.  I think the best part was the panel of referees who were the on-ice officials for the game.  I resisted the urge to ask what it’s like to be the most hated people in the universe.  Anyways, the refs were fascinating and most of them admit they are refs because they sucked at playing hockey.  I’d never really thought about it, but since teams don’t have location specific refs, these guys travel all over the country for a week or two at a time.  And they don’t ref in teams, so they are always working with something different.  Anyways, they were also kinda cute and my single friend is already calling herself Mrs. NHL Lineman #50.

Mandy (in the free shirt), Mrs. NHL Lineman #50, and me (plus slightly noticeable baby bump) at the reception. We like free food and adult beverages.

We also heard from an assistant coach and the team general manager, which was interesting since the head coach was fired last weekend.  I was surprised when the GM addressed it head on rather than waiting for someone to bring it up.

This is why people don't let us out in public often. Mollie is going to be my Dracula heterosexual life partner.

We also got a talk from Lisa Chesson, an Olympic silver medalist in hockey (side note: a quick Google search tells me that she’s a year younger than me.  I feel so unaccomplished).  We stepped out for a bathroom break (for the pregnant lad) and drinks (for the not pregnant ladies) and found her silver medal from Vancouver unsupervised.  I think we all know I have no self control and totally manhandled it.  Oops.  This reminded me of my plan to take up curling because I think it’s the only way my lazy butt could win an Olympic medal at this point.

I can't believe this was left unsupervised. There's also a gold 2009 IIHF Women's World Championship medal in the picture.

Did you know club seats involve someone who brings food to your seat?  I don’t know if I can ever go back to poor people seating (well, at least not until February when I have tickets with the other plebs).  Chocolate cake brought to my seat!  Which was good because I’d already eaten a plate of chili cheese fries and that made it hard to move since I’m already full of baby.

Clockwise from top: Mollie, Me, and Mandy. Yeah, I'm not sure they'll let us back in the club seats. We have a behavior problem. And yes, we were all sober. Oh, and hey random dude with your hand at your crotch, you should totally have photobombed us.

Chocolate cake brought to my seat! Could life get any better? For the record, I took the cake home to share with my husband (plebs don't have access to it) and got ice cream to eat there.

Oh yeah, the Blue Jackets lost, but they put up a good fight.  We had a great time and will probably have to make club seats a yearly thing.  Husband, you better start getting some promotions because I have expensive desires!

It was nice to get away from the dissertation/seminar I have to give on Wednesday.  I’ll be spending the next three days prepping my butt off (I hate public speaking and tend to freeze up) and then hopefully the rest of the week churning out this paper.  Wish me luck!

Any other hockey fans out there?  How was your weekend?  Any advice on not forgetting everything including my own name as soon as I get in front of a crowd?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Columbus, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to That time I got to hold an Olympic medal and other shenanigans

  1. LOVE ice hockey! Seriously, what’s not to love!? Glad you got a night out with the girls and that it involved chocolate….being brought to you….like a queen. 🙂

    Good luck on your presentation. The end is in sight and you will do great!!!!!

  2. bearrunner says:

    The Vancouver medals were pretty neat… Great post! Cheers

  3. Nita says:

    Great “score” [pun intended] on the club seats. Thanks for letting us live vicariously. As for the public speaking, I always act as if I’m just talking to one person. I’m careful to not actually stare at one person. I move my gaze around to different people in the room, but I am always just talking to one person – and I always pretend that whatever person I’m speaking to is my biggest fan and has my best interest at heart and is incredibly excited to hear what I have to say. Good luck!

  4. Army Amy says:

    What a fun night! The medal looks cool. Was it heavy? I liked hockey back in the day when the Stars were good. I even met Mike Modano’s mom. (She lived in my uncle’s neighborhood, so my brother and I just walked up to the front door and knocked! She was really nice.) People used to impressed by that. Nowadays they respond with, “who?”*

  5. Kara says:

    I’m not a hockey fan, but I’d watch if someone brought me cake. Hell, I’d watch paint dry if someone would bring me a freaking piece of cake.

  6. Raquelita says:

    Nothing good comes of leaving you unsupervised. 🙂

    Good luck with preparing your seminar!

  7. Mandy says:

    So. Much. Fun. I should have gotten the hockey puck.

  8. Abby says:

    If you go to the Blue Jackets game again tomorrow night, keep an eye out for my cousin – he’ll be inside the big Tim Horton’s cup 🙂

  9. That sounds like an awesome time! And chocolate cake being brought to your seat sounds like the total highlight. That is just awesome!

  10. No idea such an outing occurred, but it looks awesome! Love the pictures and so glad you guys had a blast. Love this post and your pictures! 🙂

  11. Kat says:

    I’d like to be rich also. If you figure out how, I want in. in return, I will share baby tips.

Leave a Reply

