Pregnancy Week 25

Week: 25
Inches Gained (Waist): Total 8 inches.  I think it’s noticeable.  A sweet Chinese girl I work with got back from her 6 week maternity leave and told me I had gotten big.  She’s too nice for me to take it the wrong way.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: an eggplant, a rutabaga (I always thought they made that word up for Rocky and Bullwinkle), a 5 lb bag of flour (?)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Constipation. Be sure to eat plenty of fiber-rich foods!–I miss being regular.
  • Hemorrhoids — baby is putting a ton of pressure on your digestive tract. And the constipation certainly isn’t helping.–I’m sure Kara will be very disappointed to learn that I am not experiencing this symptom.
  • Gas and bloating. Your hormones are slowing down digestion, creating excess gas.–I’m farting for two.
  • Heartburn. Since baby is pushing on your digestive system it can push stomach acid up your esophagus.–A little bit.
  • All-over aches and pains, thanks to hormone fluctuations.–I hurt EVERYWHERE.  Especially below my waist.  My hips, back, and legs are incredibly sore.
  • Trouble sleeping. It’s tough to get comfy with that big belly in the way!–Oh gee, and here I thought I couldn’t sleep because I have crippling insomnia and I wake up to pee every 5 seconds.  But ok, let’s blame the belly.

So, would anyone care to guess who failed her diabetes screen by 5 points.  Yup, definitely was me.  I’m guessing it was because I ate a huge bowl of Cheerio’s the night before (I was hungry, don’t judge me).  So now I get the glory of the three hour diabetes test on Friday morning.  I have to fast for 12 hours, get my blood drawn, drink a bottle of sugar water, wait an hour, get my blood drawn, wait an hour, get my blood drawn, wait an hour, and yep, get my blood drawn.  I have to wait at the doctor’s office so I can’t try to cheat a walk off the sugar.  This is going to be the worst three hours ever.  I’ve had this test once before and it made me sick as a dog too.  I’m taking the day off of work so I can sleep off the inevitable migraine this will give me.

I’m epically pissed because they’ve basically told me I don’t have diabetes, but they need to be certain.  Apparently this is really common, but I’m frustrated because I feel like I keep hitting roadblocks.

Speaking of roadblocks, I have my appointment with the high risk OB tomorrow to check on my uterus and how the baby is growing.  I wanted to eat a brownie beforehand so she’d be more likely to show us the goods (I’m gonna be sad if she turns out to be a he after I’ve washed all these outfits and the sheets and such).  Now I think I must abstain from the brownie and hope she cooperates (she’s a very modest child judging from my last two ultrasounds).  This will hopefully be my last ultrasound unless they think she isn’t descending in to my pelvis (and thus need the c-section) or they need to check if they should induce.

I did try wearing a super charming maternity support belt this weekend.  It’s basically a girdle for my bump that helps keep it from jacking up my hips.  Unfortunately, I am one of the magical unicorns (and we noticing a trend?) that cannot wear one and ended up with pain for days.  It felt like a bruise, but it got better and the baby is still moving, so the nurse just said discontinue use.

I tried to smile, but I was busy thinking about feeding the dog to coyotes.

So in summation, this week was a bit disheartening on the pregnancy front.  I’m sure I’ll feel better after my ultrasound and once I’ve passed the diabetes test (and slept it off).

I promise to whine less next week (I should stop making promises I can’t keep).  Hopefully we should have all the house stuff squared away and have worked out the roadblock on my dissertation.  Also, then I can stop screaming about wanting white bread and sugar.

Anyone else taken the three hour test?  Advice on not feeling like crap afterwards?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pregnancy Week 25

  1. Nita says:

    My current favorite phrase from all your blogs so far, “I’m farting for two.” Good luck on all fronts.

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your test. I would be really upset too. Related: I just saw a rutabaga in the grocery store this week. They’re ugly. It looks like a giant potato that’s shaped like an onion. Yet again I wish they would not compare to veggies.

  3. TriGirl says:

    You know if you keep this up, *everyone* will want to be pregnant! Haha, sorry. They say it’s worth it, though.

  4. Kara says:

    I thought the diabetes test drink was actually good. Am I freak? I was like “Suggggggggggar”

    You are going to love that waiting room so much after the test is over.

  5. Army Amy says:

    The three hour test sounds super lame! On the plus side, you don’t have hemorrhoids.*

  6. Emily says:

    WTF dies a rutabaga even look like? These pregnancy websites are crap. I could totally come up with better size comparisons. Maybe my new part time job. Hmmm.

    I’ll be thinking about you Friday. I’m pretty sure that test would throw my body into a tailspin and I’d turn into a monster and my head would fly off and start eating everyone around. Apparently creating sci-Fi movie plots is my second part time job idea. I’m gonna be so rich.

  7. That does not sound fun! Bright side, you can finish the book for book club. Oh wait, you already did that. At least you can get your celebrity fix with mags from the waiting room. The test sounds awful. Good luck! I’ll be sending healthy vibes your way!

  8. Terzah says:

    I hope the 3-hour test doesn’t give you a migraine this time…..but I’m actually just kind of wondering what kind of brownie it was.

  9. Sarah says:

    A 5lb bag of flour??? Uhh…I don’t even think that is even remotely close to the size of an eggplant or rutabaga…

    Blech, the three hour test! That stinks, sorry to hear it. 😦 Good luck with on Friday with it!

  10. Holly says:

    This diabetes test really sounds like a sham to me. Seriously, you are about the 4th preggo blogger I’ve read about who has failed this thing and we’re talking folks who are in the fit and healthy realm!

    No one in my entire family or my husband’s family has diabetes. Is it against the law to not take this test? Frankly I feel like after hearing about this test so much I’m to the extreme point of saying I wouldn’t even take it.

  11. Megan says:

    I think it should be illegal to make a pregnant woman fast for 12 hours. That’s so awful! I would probably vomit whatever bile was in my stomach on the way to the hospital!

  12. Amy says:

    Ugh about the 3 hour test! I liked the drink once…definitely not 3 times! :/ Hope your appt. goes well today!

  13. Sorry to hear about the 3 hour test. I have had a 6 hour before. That was not fun. Praying the test goes fine!

  14. Alyssa says:

    HOLY SHIT! OMG I am so sorry you have to through that. That sounds like my two worst nightmares put together: needles and not eating. All I would need is a dog barking and jumping on me the whole time to complete my version of hell. Other thoughts….eggplants can be HUGE or tiny, and my friend slept on an air mattress to deal with the belly. She didn’t inflate it all the way so the belly could kind of sink down. Positive: You look adorable. And you’re my hero for going through that. Bring a laptop and watch funny movies??

  15. Mandy says:

    I’m way to late to say anything worthwhile – but you love me anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

