Pregnancy Week 26–99 Days to Go

Week: 26
Inches Gained (Waist): Total 9 inches.  1 inch this week.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: an eggplant (again), an English hothouse cucumber (wtf, that’s strangely specific), a 2 liter of soda (I know she doesn’t weigh that much)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Trouble sleeping. The closer you get to your due date, the tougher it might be to get some rest!–I have always struggled to fall asleep and the more I wake up at night, the worse it gets.  I never thought I could survive with less than 8 hours, but I’m routinely getting a total of 6 or less and I’m still (shockingly) functional.  I am not sleeping well at all right now, though, do to being mega sick and waking up for no reason every hour. I miss NyQuil.
  • Swelling. This also might not let up for a while.–Definitely still have sausage fingers on my man hands and a lot of my shoes aren’t fitting well anymore.  Stupid swollen feet.  I finally found my missing slipper after months and it barely fits.  First world problems.
  • Headaches, due to hormone fluctuations or stress.–Eh, I’ve had migraines on and off this entire pregnancy.
  • Pregnancy brain — is it getting tricky to remember stuff?–Bite me.
  • Braxton Hicks contractions. These are different from labor contractions because they’re irregular and milder.–Nope
  • Slightly higher blood pressure. That’s normal at this phase of pregnancy.–OMG, the drama.  Some jackass OB I’d never seen before accused me of hiding a pre-existing condition of hypertension because my BP was slightly elevated and put it in my medical chart.  Thanks for the false diagnosis that will screw me on getting insurance later.  And yes, I will be letting him know the clinical definition of hypertension (which I don’t meet, especially considering that I’m pregnant) when I see him again in 3 weeks.  Dick.

So you may have guessed that my visit to the high risk OB clinic went poorly.  I was blown away by how unprofessional and rude the nurse was and the doctor was a smug jerk who kept acting like I was hiding things.  At least the ultrasound tech was nice.  I spent about an hour with her and I’m pretty sure she poops rainbows and sunshine.  Unfortunately, my back is so screwed up that the ultrasound was extremely uncomfortable.  We got confirmation (#3) that she’s a girl and some great pictures.  I also got to see her smile and show off her regular not-cleft lip.  Baby girl is weighing in at 1.5 pounds (still small) and looks perfect.  My cervix also looks awesomely long and closed.

I never thought I’d be so proud of my cervix.

Don't mind the looking like crap warmed up. I don't remember being this miserably ill in a long time.

Anyways, I also had my three hour glucose test on Friday.  It wasn’t as bad as I remembered until they missed my vein on the second of four draws.  Twice.  The results were…well, I have no idea because they haven’t called me yet.  I figure no news is good news since usually bad results get quick call backs.

This week I have officially started to waddle a little.  It also takes me at least a minute to go from lying down to standing.  This is an issue with my hips rather than me being that large.  My hips have decided they need to become their own human and are trying to exit my body.

Didn’t I promise to complain less?  I swear it’s just been a bad week.  Besides feeling like death (and not sleeping), our house fell through, which I promise to come back to on Friday.

Meanwhile, I’m going to focus on the fact that my due date is 99 days from today.  Double digits here, people!  I am so ready to meet this baby.  Obviously she needs to stay in here at least another 11 weeks, though.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pregnancy Week 26–99 Days to Go

  1. Tracy says:

    I have NEVER seen an eggplant the size of a 2-liter of soda. That’s just… crazy.

  2. The number of one-liners in this post is just amazing. I’m dying over here. I never have feelings about my cervix much, but now that you’ve mentioned yours I’ve spent an awful amount of time thinking about mine. Awful may be the wrong word.

    Fingers crossed your results come back the way you want them to! My latest test results only have me confused…but I’m confident that my doctor is a bit of a failure. Also, I’m glad you keep learning that you’re having a girl. I get all anxious that someone along the line has read the ultrasound wrong. I know you can see anatomy, but I’m always a little skeptical because there are so many stories out there…and we all know the internet never lies.

  3. Mandy says:

    I hope you feel better quickly and will definitely deliver chicken soup if you need me to!

  4. Army Amy says:

    You’ve cracked 100! That means that it’s starting to get close! The doctor sounds like a d-bag. I hate (with a fiery hot passion) medical professionals who aren’t kind to their patients. Being at the doctor already has a person feeling vulnerable. Not cool, Doctor, not cool.*

  5. Again, don’t worry about that being in your file. When you go for insurance (life) they will send out some crazy tech to take a medical history and the cost of your policy is based on that. You will not be screwed. With all the crap you’ve been shoveling with this house stuff, you are allowed to complain. A little. We expect no further complaints next week.

  6. Terzah says:

    Hang in there! You’re coming into the home stretch–look at it like the toughest part of a race, except a baby is even better than a finish line.

    I understand about the cervix pride. Maybe you should think up something to hide for real from that doctor. :^)

  7. Hope you feel better soon.

  8. Are we still thinking of baby names here? Or did you decide on one and I missed the post?

  9. Kara says:

    I don’t understand why people who hate people become doctors. At the very least they should be surgeons. I expect those people to be asses.

    • Alyssa says:

      Haha I’ve met a lot of asshole doctors, but my friend who is a surgeon is one of those people who poops rainbows and sunshine. She’s like Melanie Wilkes, she’s so nice she can’t even imagine that not-nice people exist in the world. But her patients aren’t even awake to appreciate it.

  10. Holly says:

    You are tagged in my “meme” today 🙂

  11. Laura says:

    Not sleeping makes everything worse for me… glad you’re functioning well and hope you get more rest soon. Congrats on double digits!!

  12. Jenn says:

    Are you at OSU Maternal & Fetal…..I loved it there. Sorry it’s sucky 😦

    Stay in Baby Girl!

  13. Christina says:

    Wow, I feel like you just announced your pregnancy not too long ago! This pregnancy is moving right along (at least over the internet). I love the weekly updates.

    Congrats on your cervix, and thanks for not including a picture.

  14. Amy says:

    Yay for double digits! 🙂

  15. Alyssa says:

    Complain all you want! All that sounds freaking hard. Glad the glucose test wasn’t as bad as you expected (well, sort of). 99 days seems kind of close!

Leave a Reply

