11 things because I am too sick to breathe

I got tagged for this sucker twice and I’m sick as all get out (I know, still, but seriously, my lungs decided I should eff off today).  So I’m going to answer both sets of 11 questions instead of coming up with 11 random facts.  You’ll live.  It’s probably good for me to learn to break the rules once in a while.

First up, Holly from Rust Belt Runner:

If you could no longer run, what sport would you take up instead?
Something with punching.  Maybe krav maga?  Or kickboxing?  I find hitting things very satisifying

What is your dream race?
I always said if I ran a marathon (which I’m not) that it would be Disney, but honestly, I was to do the 5K that Bart Yasso did in India.  It ended in the Taj Mahal.  Or the Antarctica marathon just because I want to go to Antarctica

What is your favorite racing distance?
Currently, 5K, but I suspect I’d really enjoy 10Ks if I ever actually got to ran one.

What was or has been the favorite time period of your life? (I was told it’s all downhill after college.)
College, no doubt.  But later in college when I was dating my husband.  I started college way too young and didn’t really get to enjoy it until I settled down.  I also miss my parent’s supporting my good for nothing butt.

When I’m not running I am ______.
Honestly, probably watching tv and online.  If I’m not at work.  I love tv almost as much as sleep.

If you could only drink one beverage the rest of your life, what would you drink?
Water.  That’s kind of all I drink already.  Sorry to be so lame.

Which piece of running gear would you find most hard to give up permanently?
I am a Garmin addict.  I need the numbers.  I blame the fact that I’m a scientist.  Although, I would miss my iPod too.  The iPod Nano is the best music device ever for running.

What do you enjoy most about blogging?
The people.  I’ve “met” some seriously hilarious and wonderful individuals through blogging and they really do make my day better.  It’s fun to get a chance to know people you otherwise would never know existed.

What do you enjoy least about blogging?
The people.  The internet is filled with some cracked out weirdos who make me want to slam my head off of various surfaces.  I’ve had to stop reading some blogs lately because they just make me angry.  Also, it’s frustrating to see how many bloggers spread disinformation and refuse to acknowledge when they might be wrong.

If you could be paid a lucrative salary to do anything of your choosing, what would you do?
Can I watch tv?  Cause I’d do that.  Or read.  I could test novels or something.  I wouldn’t mind getting paid to be a SAHM either.

Next is Mandy from No Standing Still (formerly Running for Two):

1.  What is your favorite dessert?
Dear lord, woman, I think you and I both know I can’t answer this.  I love everything that is sugary or chocolatey.  Maybe chocolate lava cake with vanilla ice cream?  Or Cheesecake Factory Chocolate Tuxedo Cream Cheese Cake?

2.  What is the silliest thing you’ve done AS AN ADULT?
The problem is that I do so many silly things on a daily basis that I can’t really remember them.  There are like 880 pictures of me biting people Mollie floating around the internet from this year.  I think part of the problem is that I barely consider myself a grown-up.

3.  If money were not an issue, where would you go on vacation?
If I can only pick one place, I’m going to say

4.  What time do you wake up in the morning?
When I’m not pregnant, 5 so I can get my run in.  Now that I’m banned from exercise, 6:30 so I can maximize my sleep time.

5.  When you run – music or no?
Don’t judge me, but I listen to a morning show most of the time.  They play a lot of music and sometimes the witty banter makes me giggle

6.  What’s the hardest thing physically that you’ve accomplished?
I am soft like marshmallow cream, so the half marathon.  And I did that with water intoxication so that was HARD!

7.  What’s your favorite book of all time?  (I know, I hate these questions and then I asked it).
I hate you.  I guess right now, probably the Hunger Games, but don’t you dare hold me to that.

8.  Other than running, what are your hobbies?
TV doesn’t count?  I own a sewing machine and I used to knit, but there things have fallen by the wayside of late.  Husband always says I need a hobby.

9.  Have you ever been to a country other than the one you live in?  Where?
England, France, Belgium, Lichtenstein, Holland, Greece, Italy, Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Mexico, and Canada.  My mother really likes to travel and takes me on awesome trips sometimes.

10.  Would you ever put a child of yours in a beauty pageant? (whether or not you have kids)
Only if she’ll be as awesome as this kid.  First, I must become the coupon queen.

(You are so very welcome to anyone who hasn’t seen that video)

11.  If you were packing for a trip, what would be the one thing that it would be a disaster if you forgot?
I have forgotten pretty much everything you can think of at some point, so I guess my meds.  I would probably be a mess if I didn’t bring my Synthroid.  Otherwise, a book (or 10).  I must be entertained at all times or I get destructive.

And, umm, I’m not tagging people because I don’t feel like it.  I left work at 12:30 so my husband could haul me to the urgent care for a nebulizer treatment.  It made a world of difference, but the side effects make me shake and have trouble seeing well.  Anyways, I have bronchitis, but they gave me an antibiotic that will also treat pneumonia and a sinus infection on the just in case.  I’ve never heard sounds like the ones coming out of my chest today.  Anyways, we still had to drive half an hour to make an offer on another house.  Yes, I still owe you that story.  Sorry this is so half assed, but I’m going to bed.  Next week, I will update on the house situation and generally try not not ramble.  No promises, though.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 11 things because I am too sick to breathe

  1. Amy says:

    OMG. Is that video for real?!!! What a train wreck!

  2. Oh no! You have bronchitis? That sucks crap! I had that when we got married and it was a treat. A real treat. Feel better soon. Now I better get busy writing my random things or posting a blog. I am an epic fail this week. Work sucks but is a check.

  3. TriGirl says:

    I am so sorry you’re so sick! I wonder if it has anything to do with stress… 😉 It made me laugh that you wrote #3 but did not tell us where you want to go 🙂

    That video: I’ve never seen it before. That little girl is a riot. She is seriously awesome. But her mom needs to stop with that pageant crap.

  4. Terzah says:

    My husband was looking at blogs with me and that video sent him running away screaming down the hall. Well, OK, not screaming….but definitely shuddering.

    I hope you feel better soon. Pregnancy made me want to hit things too. And then it made me want to sleep.

  5. Abby says:

    The silliest thing I’ve done as an adult may be the interpretive dance to Baby Beluga, that Brent caught on video while he sang the song in the background.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  6. Alyssa says:

    So sorry you are sick! I hate those freaking nebulizers, even though they do help. I agree with so, so many of your answers. College was the best time of my life, love being lazy when I’m not running, love all things with sugar/chocolate, the Hunger Games, you made so many good choices. I tried Krav Maga once. It was fun. Feel better!

  7. Raquelita says:

    I hope you feel better soon!

    College was not the best time of my life. It was a good time, but nothing compared to the summer I spent in Spain when I was 25.

  8. Kara says:

    You must be really sick because you didn’t answer your #3… 🙂

  9. OMG that video LOL! Feel better soon!

  10. Laura says:

    Yikes, bronchitis does not sound good… hope the antibiotic helps. I love the numbers too… I got my husband out on a 3 mile jog this morning, and even though it was an “easy” run, I was telling him the mile splits, but he reminded me that we used to just be able to run for the sake of enjoyment and not care what pace it was. I still run because I enjoy it, but I love knowing the data.

  11. Mandy says:

    I love that I’m not the only one that noticed number 3. I admit, my questions were lame. That was the hardest part of that post, coming up with 11 questions without just copying someone else’s. HA.

    Feel better or text me if you need something!

Leave a Reply

