A Tale of Five Houses

Yes, that’s right, we are on house #5.

I’ve been told our experience is atypical at best, but this is getting ridiculous.

We really thought #3 was a done deal, as I mentioned previously.  The sellers, however, seemed to think they were doing us some sort of huge favor by selling us the house at $6000 under list and refused to make any repairs.  This was after we realized the house had no blinds (that’s probably $1000 just to get blinds in).  They finally agreed to fix the broken windows and sliding glass door (at a cost of $450) if we would let them pay $500 less in closing costs.  They also refused to do mold remediation until they found out the house was under warranty from remediation done by the bank (the sellers bought a foreclosure).  That left us paying them $50 more for a house with no blinds and broken screens.  Oh, and the deck wasn’t up to code, so we’d probably need to replace it eventually.  And the fence turned out to be less Delilah proof than we’d originally thought.

The best part was we gave them a week to respond to the repairs request and they responded at the last minute with their answer.  I was totally blown away considering she’s a realtor and he’s a contractor.  They decided their house was worth more than we were paying even though the market dictates that it’s worth what someone will pay.

Whatever, I’m honestly just relived to be free even if we did already pay for the home inspection and the appraisal (oh yeah, crazy sellers also tried to get the appraisal behind our backs.  And no, I won’t release it to her unless she pays me the $300 I had to pay for it).  Anyways, that house was in a little town we will call Nanty Glo (not the real name).

House #2 which I desperately wanted was in Rhode Island (again, not the name).  House #2 fell through when the people demanded more money in a short sale.  I am not paying your bank an extra $5000 because you have pride issues.  Freaks.  Anyways, I really prefer Rhode Island to Nanty Glo because it’s closer to the zoo, my running group, and has better highway access.  Also, there are hotels in town, rather than going 20 minutes away.  Husband didn’t care one way or the other, but he agrees that I will be much happier in Rhode Island.

House #4 (in Nanty Glo) was an offer we made on Friday, but the people can’t actually afford to sell the house.  It needs a little bit of sprucing up (the carpets are filthy) and the next door neighbor has four dachsunds with a doggy door.  Anytime we stepped in to the backyard, the dogs came flying out going crazy.  I think this would have led to me wanting to kill someone, but the price seemed right so we made the offer.  I’m also kind of glad this one fell through.  The people can’t afford to sell the house so they want us to pay $5000-9000 more than I think the house is worth.  And we’d really be paying our own closing costs.  Pass.

Anyways, we put in an offer on house #5 (yes, 5) yesterday.  It’s in Rhode Island and is gorgeous.  It’s immaculately kept and all it needs is a fence.  I found one cracked window on the walk through, but I think that can easily be negotiated during the inspection.  We came to terms with the sellers on purchase price, so hopefully this is it.  We just have to get through the inspection and repairs.  Hopefully these sellers are less absurd.

This one better work out, because I’m pretty much over this.  And we’ve run out of options.  And we need to move in early March.

Oh yeah, and checking out houses with bronchitis is awful.  I cough every time I take a step, so stairs are killer.  I get a little better every day, but the feeling of not being able to catch your breath is slightly terrifying.  I basically haul myself out to these showings and then spend the rest of my time in bed.  Friday I had to go to urgent care for a breathing treatment and then go straight to look at house #4 and another house we didn’t bother to put an offer on.

So after all that, I’m gonna go to bed early.  It’s been an exhausting few weeks and I’ve still got plenty of dissertation to write (I’m already on page 44!).

Anyone got a great house buying or selling horror story to share?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in House, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Tale of Five Houses

  1. Nita says:

    Having grown up in Nanty Glo and having spent a lot of time in Rhode Island, I am certain you are better off in Rhode Island. Good luck and let’s hope 5 (as opposed to 13) is your lucky number.

  2. Kara says:

    The house we live in now is the 4th house we made an offer on. One of the houses got 2 offers on the same day (ours and another) and decided to raise their price to “see who really wanted it”. Guess what? We didn’t. 🙂

  3. Army Amy says:

    House Hunters makes the whole process look so easy and fun. Sorry that hasn’t been the case for you! I like to think that these things work out for the best, but since you are “with child” 😉 I’m sure you’d prefer that the house situation is resolved sooner rather than later. I’m crossing my fingers for you!

    PS – 44 pages is a lot! (My head is spinning at the thought!) Keep at it!*

  4. Look at you with your 44 pages – wow!

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you. Insert mumbo jumbo about some things are worth the wait and everything happening for a reason here (I really do believe all that, but I also feel like they’re said ad nauseum so…yeah).

  5. We bid on 6 houses before finding the one we bought. We put an offer in within 2 hours of it coming on the market and gave them listing price (this was a few years ago when the market was a bit different!). The weirdest thing was that the homeowners were at home for the home inspection that we were paying for and went around the house with the structural engineer. I was more than a little peeved that our realtor didn’t speak up as he even admitted he’d never encountered this. We ended up leaving and going to a coffee shop to review his findings because the owners stood there and said, “okay, so what’d ya find?”

    Love the house and have no plans of leaving, but I was so glad when it was over. And did i mention I did it during the first year of grad school with pneumonia and a cracked rib from coughing. I feel your pain entirely on doing home visits while being unable to breathe without hacking up a lung. But, since you got little girl growing away inside you, you get bonus points because I was able to take meds. It’ll be worth it when you find the right place and can begin your nesting for the big arrival!!

  6. Mandy says:

    The house we bought was the third offer we put in…and I’m with you – I was VERY tired of the whole process by the time it was done. In a way, we settled on the house I’m living in.

    To cheer you up, I did find some really inappropriate games for your baby shower today. 😀

  7. Christina says:

    I love reading house posts. I hope #5 works out for the three of you. You’ll have to wait two years to hear my awesome home-buying story.

    It sounds like your dissertation is moving right along. Gosh, it probably feels like it’s writing itself. Just kidding. Keep up the hard work!

  8. emily says:

    I’m not looking forward to the day I have to do all this. My fingers are crossed for you.

  9. Laura says:

    The fifth offer? Ugh, no fun at all… we lucked out and the first house we put an offer on worked out… but it did take us months to decide on that house.

  10. fixitwithwine says:

    we looked for 10 months and put offers on four homes before finally getting the one we live in now. with the first one we were 3 days from closing when we decided to pull out because the HOA would not allow hardwood floors (it was a top floor condo) and i have allergies.

  11. Stephanie says:

    Oh gosh I am so sorry you are going through this. We went through a crazy hell getting our house in May. It was only one house and one offer but the whole thing was awful!! There was so many problems. I know it sucks now but you will get through this I promise and find a house that is ultimately for you! Feel better! What kind of law do you practice?

  12. Terzah says:

    I think some of those sellers are still living in the world of five years ago, when it was their kind of market. Now? It’s a buyers’ market. Fingers crossed that this one works out. Immaculate is a good thing–you don’t want to worry about the house when the baby arrives.

    Congrats on page 44! And I hope you start feeling better SOON.

  13. Everything went smoothly when we bought our house 3 1/2 years ago. Keeping everything crossed that you get this one and have no more issues!

  14. Here’s hoping fifth time is the charm…. Seriously, house hunting is the worse. I put in three offers before I got the place I’m in now.

    And congrats on page 44!

  15. I am so glad you’ll be in Rhode Island. Much closer to all the cool peeps. This means book club still is at your house every now & again. This is totally not typical – you are right. We’ve been lucky – first house each time and we got them. I’d have been crushed if we didn’t. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

