Pregnancy Week 27–Third Trimester?

Week: 27
Inches Gained (Waist): Total 9 inches.  1 inch this week.
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: cauliflower or a sock monkey (? are those uniform size?)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • The same leg crampsbackachesconstipation and hemorrhoids of previous weeks.–Wow, The Bump, it’s like you’ve finally figured out that the symptoms don’t go away.  Congrats, you deserve a shiny medal.
  • Skinhair and nail changes — they might be thicker, grow faster or be more brittle.–My hair is growing super fast (thank G-d, because I HATED my bangs and they are almost gone).  My nails have to be trimmed every two days and are less brittle.
  • Snissing (that’s peeing when you sneeze). Baby is putting a ton of pressure on your bladder. Make frequent pit stops.–That is the stupidest made up word ever (and I make up a lot of stupid made up words).  And no, but I feel like this could happen at any time.

Still no results from the diabetes test.  Now that my voice is finally coming back, I should probably call.  I stand by my “no news is good news” theory.  More importantly, I have had absolutely no time to deal with it.  As it stands now, my committee feels I should defend my dissertation May 23.  For those of you who don’t suck at math, that means she could be as young as 2 weeks.  I have pointed out that I’m not allowed to drive for two weeks post-delivery and we are in the process of negotiating.  Otherwise, I hope my mom has some free time to come deal with her during my defense because she’ll need to be on campus with me.  And yes, I am freaking out about it.

Oops, my husband just yelled at me to call tomorrow.  My blood pressure went through the roof today, which I’m assuming is school stress, but I think they would want to know that too.  Note to self: stop being a dumbass/lazy jerk and call the doctor.

Anyways, moving on to pregnancy stuff.  Mostly I’m still sick and I ache.  Word on the street is that I start the third trimester tomorrow, although much like the second trimester, there seems to be some debate.  I’m really not sure why this is so up in the air. Is it really that hard to decide what trimester we are in?

My husband informs me that I grew substantially this week.  I don’t feel like I did, but he’d be able to see it better than me.  It’s hard to pick things up off the floor and rolling over in bed takes forever, but otherwise I don’t feel THAT unwieldily.  My body definitely doesn’t feel like it’s mine, but it’s not that bad.

Mmm, gotta love the double chin effect. I'm cracking up because my husband was trying to take the picture while Delilah was bringing him toys to throw. Needy little dog.

One new uncontrollable habit is belching.  I will burp uncontrollably for thirty minutes after I eat.  It’s kind of embarrassing at work (at home I laugh like a 14 year old boy about it), but it’s not like I have any control over it.  Considering the wicked heartburn I’ve had, I’m assuming my abdomen is just kind of out of room.  Or I’m so hungry that I’m stuffing my face too fast.  It’s a possibility.

In puggle news, the more pregnant I get, the more possessive of me Delilah gets.  It’s a bit problematic, but now that we’ve recognized the problem, we are keeping it from making Rufus crazy.  Delilah likes to be up against me at all times in bed and guards me until I get out of bed in the morning.  It’s kind of annoying, but kind of sweet.  Hopefully it’s just her way of telling us that she loves the baby.

Delilah cannot get enough of the bump these days. Also, I have a sweet rack. I'm a little terrified to see what comes after G-cup, though. Breast feeding makes them grow again, right?

So, those of you with kids, how soon after can I realistically expect to defend my dissertation?  I have to stand and be coherent for about 3 hours.  Or is this one of those “you’ll never be coherent again after having a baby” moments?  Cause I keep hearing that one.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Pregnancy Week 27–Third Trimester?

  1. aprilvak says:

    Call tomorrow!! Blood pressure is serious bidness.

    I think you look awesome!

  2. Kara says:

    Dear lord, don’t plan to do it 2 weeks after giving birth. I would say I achieved intelligent speech about 3 months post baby. I don’t know if you can wait that long, but 2 weeks will be rough and the hormones will probably make you both sob and rage during the 3 hours.

  3. Army Amy says:

    That last picture makes me want to start belting out “Puppy Love!” Happy third trimester!*

  4. Grace says:

    I think it really depends, on you and your personality, and on the delivery (like if you have a pretty uneventful labor, or not). Physically I was more or less back to normal after 2 weeks (I had an easy vaginal birth). But if you have a c-section, you won’t be back to normal for at least 6 weeks.

    In some ways it might be easier to do it early, because very newborn babies sleep all the time: even colic doesn’t hit until week 3 or so. Then they get more awake and fussier (I think time spent crying peaks at 6 weeks?), which means that you will be sleep-deprived and loopy. Also, since sleep deprivation is cumulative, the levels of tired won’t be that high yet. I think 6-8 weeks would be the worst time to do it; the baby cries a lot, you are exhausted, you are probably fighting with your husband (as the newness has worn off, but you haven’t established a new routine yet). Either do it early or postpone as Kara suggests.

    Also, high blood pressure=bad! Call.

  5. Terzah says:

    You’ll be coherent again, but two weeks after giving birth is a bit much to ask. Unless….

    When my kids were born, they came home right before my husband had a quantum mechanics final. So his sister and I (lucky me that she was visiting) took the bullet for two nights before the exam so he could get some decent sleep. If you guys have some family in town, maybe your husband and the visitor could do the same. (It would help if you have a breast pump. If not, you could still get up to feed her but let others do the prep and the soothing back to sleep parts for you.) Just a suggestion!

  6. Christina says:

    Oh, the belching! I’d totally forgotten that part of pregnancy. I never burped before I got pregnant, and then during the third trimester I became a burping machine. Gross. Do you think your heartburn means your babe will be born with a head full of hair? I had awful heartburn, and Ramsey was born with tons of hair.

    Defending two weeks postpartum sounds awful.

  7. Kate says:

    A sock monkey? Really?

    I have no concept of what life post-baby is like so that’s obviously not a question for me. I’ll be impressed no matter what you decide.

    I love that Delilah is so attached to you. My little dog glues himself to Kathy’s belly every time she comes over. It was cute at first but since he also feels the need to put his face right in your face and breathe his nasty smelling breath into your nose (and needs to stand on your chest to accomplish that) it’s probably getting a little old. We still like to joke that her baby has a best friend already, haha.

  8. Aww what a sweet puppy! I don’t think you will be going anywhere but to Dr appts 2 weeks after.

  9. Laura says:

    So hard to say what you’ll feel like at 2 weeks… like some said, it could be helpful that your baby will still be in a really sleepy stage in the day time, but you’ll be really sleepy too… then again, I think I was still running on adrenaline the first few weeks, and the real sleep-deprivation settled in weeks later… 3 hours is also the max you could go between feeding (if you’re b-feeding) so I’d make sure you’d have a break in there at some point, is it 3 hours straight through? Good luck figuring it all out!

  10. Megan says:

    I still can’t believe that you’re in the third trimester and I’m only 3 weeks away from the third trimester. Where is time going???

  11. Katy says:

    HI! Sorry I’ve been absent so long! Anyway, yay for baby (boo for not so much fun side effects….)!!

  12. michelle says:

    Sock Monkey? I have no dissertation advice. Can you do it before your due date?

  13. Alyssa says:

    Wow that sounds stressful. At least after you can focus entirely on the baby? I agree, snissing is a completely dumb word. Thebump needs to try harder.

  14. Abby says:

    I think you need to dress that little girl up as a sock monkey as soon as she comes out and submit a picture to thebump.

  15. We discussed this yesterday but your boss is an idiot. You can’t defend something you may not remember.

    Delilah is adorable and so loving of Mom. I wonder what Annie will do next time you are over.

  16. Kim says:

    You are looking fantastic, Sarah!

  17. Mandy says:

    I’ve already discussed this with you – not realistic to do. I do agree that 2 weeks might be better than 4 weeks though. Mark and I definitely had more trouble as the “newness” wore off and there was still no sleep. 🙂

    I’m glad I either missed it when I was pregnant or had already forgotten the word snissing.

Leave a Reply

