Pregnancy Week 28–Definitely Third Trimester

Week: 28
Inches Gained (Waist):
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: a rutabaga (I’ve always wondered what that was), Chinese cabbage (which is somehow different from regular cabbage), a pair of sneakers (???)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Trouble sleeping. As you get closer to your due date, you’ll likely have more and more trouble with this. It could be hormones or nerves — or both!–I actually seem to have developed sleep apnea from having been sick for so long (oh yeah, still congested and shiz).  I keep waking myself up choking.  Between that and the peeing all night, I’m exhausted.
  • Shortness of breath, as baby continues to crowd your lungs.–Yup.  And I have to walk up the stairs to pee at work, so this is getting old.
  • Aches and pains — the third trimester can be really uncomfortable due to hormone fluctuations and the toll on your body.–I do ok in the morning, but it is almost impossible for me to make it up the stairs at night.  My hips lock up on one side and it’s excruciating.  It’s also making cleaning and packing for the move difficult.
  • Braxton Hicks contractions — these might be getting stronger or more frequent as your bod gets ready for labor.–Negatory
  • Leaky boobs. Your breasts may already be producing baby’s first food, a yellowish substance called colostrum.–I had them a while back, but nothing super noticeable recently.  I could go in to detail, but seriously, I think you guys have had enough of my various leaks.

Guess whose got two thumbs and isn’t diabetic?

This girl!  Thank goodness, because we went to a Superbowl party and it was carb-y heaven.  Like I’ve previously stated, we all kind of knew I wasn’t diabetic, but I had to prove it.  For some reason the idea of gestational diabetes was mortifying.  I can’t explain that, it just bothered me.

Moving on to the elephant in the room on my face.

Pregnancy makes my nose grow.  And I’m half-Jewish, so I already had issues with my nose.

Pre-pregnancy. Good lord I look like I'm posting this on MySpace.

Nose at 28 weeks. Is wider.

Insert current nose picture if Picasa ever stops being a little bitch.

Anyways, that better go back to normal.  I can live with the gigantor saggy boobs and the stretch marks, but the nose thing is just ugh.  Also, in my perfect world my feet will go back to normal size post-pregnancy too.  Please?

We also had our maternity ward tour this week, which I think I mentioned.  I’m really unhappy with some of what they told us, but I’m going to hold off on throwing a fit until I talk to my doctor about it at my appointment tomorrow morning.  No reason to go crazy yet.  I can honestly say, though, that we are very unlikely to choose this hospital for another child (our current insurance only covers this one, but we’ll have new insurance in June).  The high-risk clinic that I loathe so much is also part of the hospital.  We’ll see, maybe things will go better/suck less than I’ve been led to expect.  I still love my doctor, though, but luckily she delivers at more than one hospital in the city.

I am officially banned from buying any more baby clothes, by the way.  My “nesting” (still hate that word!) instinct has totally taken over, but I’m either physically unable to do anything (packing, cleaning, etc) or it has to wait until after we move (buying useful stuff, setting up the nursery, etc), so I’ve been buying clothes.  I have 10-15 outfits in the first three sizes (newborn, 0-3 months, and 3-6 months) and then probably 6-8 in 9-12 months and 2 for 12 months.  It’s officially time to stop until we see what we get at the shower and how big she actually is.  We may actually need preemie stuff is she doesn’t start growing a little faster, but I’m definitely not buying that on the just in case.

I just got kicked in the ribs for that.  Actually, she kicks me in the underwire of my bra a lot.  I’m a sloucher, so it ends up resting right below my ribs and she makes it target practice.  I find it hilarious.  She actually was kicking my abdomen so hard during my lab meeting that I could see my shirt moving.  Luckily no one else noticed because I think it would freak out my young male coworkers.

I am admitting that my shirt is actually a nursing top. I decided spending more money on maternity clothes wasn't worth it. Also, I had to change my shirt before this picture because I got melted cheese grease on my original shirt. Klassy.

Anyways, it looks like I’ll be defending my dissertation the day I hit 38 weeks.  Which is technically full-term, but my options were limited so I took what I could get.  If she comes early than we can move it to the end of May and she’ll be 6ish weeks.  I do believe this is a win-win.  And if my water breaks during the defense then they have to pass me, right?

I would so stand there in my soaked pants and keep going, if anyone was wondering.  I am not doing this twice.

So anyways, I am officially in the third trimester no matter which site/book you look at.  I now have OB appointments every two weeks.  And I’m supposed to start growing exponentially or something, which is awesome since my coworker insists on making me squeeze past him and the wall once a week for our group meeting.  He’s like really pleased with himself for making me sit not near the door.  Men.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pregnancy Week 28–Definitely Third Trimester

  1. Army Amy says:

    I just started cracking up over the thought of a pair of sneakers in your tummy! Hahaha! I needed a good laugh, too.*

  2. Kara says:

    Wow, I didn’t know your nose got pregnant too. If it makes you feel better, when I was pregnant I found out that I have a third nipple in my arm pit (the pregnancy hormones made it pop out). Yeah, just try to beat that.

    Didn’t think so.

  3. TriGirl says:

    Your nose grows?? I guess that makes sense, extra fluid and all coursing through your body. Hope the doctor has some good answers for you regarding the hospital. And yay for not having gestational diabetes!!

  4. Terzah says:

    That nursing shirt is my favorite color. I had nothing like that classy when I was nursing. I sometimes just walked around topless. Had to stop that when my father-in-law was staying with us.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed your water does NOT break during your defense. You need to have a peaceful week at least between that and the baby arriving.

  5. Mandy says:

    No more clothes! I told you this already. Besides, you can use Avery’s preemie clothes if you need those. 🙂

    And, you coworker deserves to be squished.

  6. Your nose grows when you’re pregnant? What DOESN”T grow?!

  7. Laura says:

    The 38 week plan definitely seems like a win-win… glad you found a solution. I agree on the no more clothes! On top of gifts, we’ve been given bags of hand-me-downs and had very little to buy ourselves. Especially preemie– they can swim in the newborn clothes for the two weeks it takes to out grow them! 🙂

  8. Whoah, so weird about the nose thing. Hopefully that is just swelling that will go down because I would not be cool with that either. Especially when my niece says to me “you have my dad’s nose.” That…is not a compliment.

  9. April says:

    Is it just us southern girls who know about the nose thing? That’s one of the things I start checking as I near the end of a two week wait. Don’t worry, it’ll be fine.

    I wonder how many full term pregnant ladies defend dissertations? That’s gonna make somebody nervous.

  10. Amy says:

    So glad you were able to schedule your defense! Sounds like things are coming together…and I think you look fabulous! 🙂

  11. Marissa says:

    looking good and yes, my nose was much bigger during pregnancy, and when i look at pictures post-deliver…it was crazy big. hilarious how that happens huh

    hang in there, it’s almost over

  12. I have heard that about your nose before!

  13. Abby says:

    For some reason I’ve never noticed you had a nose ring!

  14. Abby says:

    (Is it still a nose ring if it’s just a stud? How about a “nose piercing”?

  15. Will it go down after the pregnancy? That’d piss me off too as my nose is already too big.

    As far as I know, Chinese cabbage DOES look completely different then regular.

  16. Yay for not having diabetes! Never heard of the nose thing.

  17. Alyssa says:

    And I continue to learn more about pregnancy. So glad you don’t have diabetes and you got your defense moved!!

Leave a Reply

