Our Love Story Link-Up (we are not romantic)

First, some housekeeping.  In case you’ve missed it, I’m writing a dissertation with a full draft due at the end of the month (I’m probably about 2/3 done, but 2/3 of a huge manuscript still means a lot of work).  My goal is to keep blogging about twice a week including pregnancy updates until I’m done, but no promises.  Suck it up, kids, it’s not like I ever have anything intelligent to say.

Moving on, I’m feeling like I have no blog content because my day is wake-up, get dressed, go to desk/Starbucks/Panera, write, eat, write, eat, repeat until bedtime.  Thus, I’ve decided to participate in the Our Love Story Link-Up by From Mrs to Mama.

1.  How long have you and your significant other been together?
It’ll be nine years in April (shebus, that’s a long time).  That makes me sound really old, but we got together when I was 17.

2.  How did you meet?
I’m sure this is supposed to be some long romantic whatever, but I don’t actually remember meeting him.  I was coloring a mutual acquaintance blue using highlighters (college was a special time) and supposedly my husband walked in, observed the weirdness, and walked out.  I remember our first meeting being a few weeks later at the cafeteria.  I stabbed him with a fork for making multiple inappropriate jokes (he’s out-grown thinking they are funny and would be mortified if I posted the subject matter here) and he threw me over his shoulder.  There was yelling and we both agreed the other was an epic douche.  I think we finally stopped hating each other a few months later and then I dated his roommate on and off for a month or so (most of the month was off).  Anyways, we don’t really have some epic love story.  Mostly we just spent enough time together to realize the other had redeeming qualities.

Good Lord does this picture look insincere. Posing is dumb. Anyways, this is from the first month we were dating. He had long hair and I had stretched earlobes. Thankfully we've outgrown those.

3.  If married, how long have you been married?
It’ll be 5 years on July 14, so like 4.5 years.  That sounds like a really long time, which considering our age when we got married, lasting more than two years seems to be an accomplishment in this day and age.

I looked for a formal portrait, but there aren't any on my hard drive and I'm too lazy to scan some. Also, our photographer really sucked. Hard.

4.  If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding?
We got married in my hometown, which is also where we met and went to college.  We had around 200 guests and it was a church wedding, so I guess that’s big-ish?  It was actually a lot bigger than I initially wanted, but I have a lot of family since I have step-parents and getting married in the same town as your college means a lot more friends can come.

I find the entire universe hilarious. My wedding was no exception. And yes, that is a blow-up guitar. We had the greatest DJs ever and they brought blow up instruments and balloon animals. They also took better pictures than the excessively overpriced photographer.

5.  Do you have any nick-names you call one another? Do share!
Umm, we’ll use the occasionally generic ones, but no, nothing specific comes to mind.  We aren’t really those people.

6.  Name 3 things you love most about your honey.
1.  He thinks “your honey” is as stupid a term as I do
2.  There’s no one I have more fun with
3.  He wants nothing more than to make me smile

7.  Tell us how he proposed?
HA!  He decided he was ready to get married when we were driving an hour home from a nice dinner (I’m from East BumbleF*ck, so good food was far away).  So he just turned and asked “so, like, you wanna get married or something?” I wasn’t gonna argue because I did want to get married so I said yes.  In retrospect, I probably should have made him redo it (he’s mentioned redoing a proposal for some anniversary, but I’m not holding my breath).  Honestly, I don’t have some amazing proposal story, but look at how many of those end in divorce, so I guess the proposal isn’t that important.  Also, at that point I just wanted to get married (I can admit I was so turning in to THAT girl who won’t stop badgering her boyfriend).  Anyways, we called my parents and my dad told me not to get married (he loves my husband, he just didn’t like me getting engaged at 20).  There is no aww moment in this story.

8.  Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?
Umm, neither.  I probably get flowers once a year or so when he remembers I like them and he find them on sale.  Usually we are more the go out to a nice dinner together type.  This year I asked him not to buy me anything because we are closing on a house 10 days later.  Usually for V-day I get some electronic I’ve been wanting that has drastically dropped in price post-Christmas.  Which is exactly how I like it.

9.  Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or a pop a movie in and relax on the couch?
I’m epically lazy (it’s a chronic, debilitating condition, just ask Alyssa), so I’ll choose to stay home and relax 8 times out of 10.  And dinner on a beach just sounds sandy.  How about dinner at a nice restaurant instead?

10.  Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant one day? If you could do anything? Go anywhere?
We both love to travel.  I know he’s dying to take me to Iceland (he studied abroad there for two summers) and I think he’d really like Costa Rica (I went with my mom 1.5 years ago).  I think we both also want to see Eastern Europe too, but for different reasons.

11.  Tell us what you plan on doing this Valentine’s Day.
Umm, he’ll be home around 7 and I have a St. Valentine’s Day Mouse-acre (not kidding) planned at work that day, so probably eating out of the CrockPot and then going to bed.  We went out to a decent restaurant last night and there was chocolate cake involved, so that’s probably all we will do unless he has something planned that I don’t know about.

12.  Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s Day?
Well, I’m pregnant and about to buy a house, so no.  And I already got nice jewelry for my birthday.  Flowers or something small wouldn’t suck.

13.  Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love.
Laugh. Everyday.

14.  Show us a picture of what love means to you.

Love me, love my dogs.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Our Love Story Link-Up (we are not romantic)

  1. Kate says:

    I love your story and really appreciate having such an honest look at it. It’s real! I appreciate that there’s no froufrou nonsense because I know all of that fades. It sounds like you have a strong foundation in reality and not in some fairy tale idea of how love should be. It also sounds like you communicate well.

  2. Katy says:

    Haha, loved this post! My husband proposed in a huge lavish way the FIRST time, and just sitting in the car before heading into the mall the second. I’ll always remember the first, but the second time is the one that lasted… Haha. I’m with you! Though I like presents, not gonna lie. But we’re not pregnant or buying a house… so. There’s that. Haha. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. Terzah says:

    I completely agree about the laughing every day. Once your baby arrives and you’ve got some semblance of a routine, try to go out together without the kid sometimes–you’ll be amazed at how much this helps in remembering why you got together with this person in the first place. Don’t be afraid to laugh at the kid, too–with your spouse. People are far too reverent about their children these days–laughing at them will help both them AND your marriage.

  4. Army Amy says:

    I gotta say, I think there is something romantic about the fact that your love story isn’t romantic. You sound just right for each other.

    I love the pictures, especially the last one with the doggies!*

  5. Mandy says:

    Love this post Sarah! Maybe the key to long happiness is not liking your spouse when you first meet? Mark and I didn’t like each other initially either. HA!

  6. Laura says:

    This is fun– I haven’t seem this going around the blog world yet. Our stories are pretty similar, we met fairly young, although we didn’t have the phase where we disliked each other. But it was kind of a gradual development, and neither of us is super “romantic” either. I like dinners out and staying home to hang out, and don’t need flowers either. Congrats on almost 5 years!

  7. This is a nice post! Love your wedding dress! Red is my favorite color!

  8. MrsSwan says:

    No romance with us either. But I loved your wedding date!! (my birfday and my oldest son’s LOL)

  9. Kara says:

    I like the long hair. Tell your husband he should consider returning to his Fabio roots.

    My proposal story isn’t that re-tellable either. I wasn’t even wearing pants.

  10. michelle says:

    Loved reading this! We also met in college over beer pong- he needed a partner he hadn’t hooked up with already. We dated FOREVER (8 years) and got engaged at South of the Border Truck Stop. So yeah, we’re not romantic. 🙂

  11. I love this! I think your story is perfect!

  12. Christina says:

    How sweet! You two really do sound perfect for each other.

Leave a Reply

