Pregnancy Week 29

Week: 29
Inches Gained (Waist):
Nonsensical item baby is supposedly the size of: an acorn squash, a butternut squash, a basketball (is anyone else suddenly hungry for squash?)

Pregnancy Symptoms I’m supposed to expect according to TheBump.com:

  • Lots of kicks! (All that crowding.)–I don’t notice it as much at this point, probably because I’m used to it.  I do notice that I have to suddenly pee, though, which I assume is from her.
  • Headaches and/or lightheadedness, possibly due to difficulty sleeping, but it could be from low blood sugar too, so make sure you’re eating at regular intervals.–I have horrible exhaustion headaches most mornings.
  • Itchy belly. Your skin is stretching thinner, making it more sensitive.–Itchy everything is more like it.
  • Back, leg or pelvic pain.–Yup. Let me just say that I’d read about 800 times that the third trimester is the worst and I kind of didn’t take it that seriously.  I am an idiot.  I swear, I woke up on the first day of the third trimester and felt like I’d been hit by a truck.  My body is constantly sore and I’m really only able to shuffle across the floor because it just hurts to move my hips and legs.  It’s harder first thing in the morning or after sitting for a while.
  • Hemorrhoids. Baby’s putting pressure on your digestive system, and hormones may be relaxing your intestinal muscles. Eat plenty of fiber.–Thankfully, no.  I’m really hoping I’ll get to avoid this one.
  • Constipation. This isn’t really helping the hemorrhoid situation, is it?–Opposite problem all the sudden.
  • Trouble sleeping — still!–I now wake up every 3 hours. It’s like my body knows we’ll be doing that soon
  • Gotta pee — again! The more your uterus expands, the more you’ll probably have to hit the restroom.–Umm, I’m leaking.  Seriously. I hear it’s normal, but eww.  I’m only coping to this because I promised to be honest about the gross stuff. That being said, you will not be getting pictures of my mucous plug if it falls out.  I’ve got a few limits.
  • Varicose veins. Don’t worry! These should fade after delivery.–Nope.  Probably helps that I don’t cross my legs much.  Crossing your legs causes varicose veins, so don’t.

So, at my 28 week appointment it was decided that I have enough symptoms of pre-eclampsia to warrant some testing.  We don’t think it’s going to be positive since there’s never been a sign of protein in my urine, but it’s still going to require monitoring.  My blood pressure is creeping up (there’s a basic physiologic explanation for why that would happen in pregnancy, but I’m 99% certain no one cares) and I’m pretty swollen in my extremities, both of which can indicate pre-e.  Anyways, I get to pee in a jug for 24 hours before my 30 week appointment and then they’ll do some extra blood work.  I’m making a bigger effort to put my feet up so I can get my boots off at the end of the day.

For those of you who don’t know, pre-eclampsia is just a syndrome of increased blood pressure and protein in the urine with or without swelling (usually with).  Pre-eclampsia in and of itself isn’t particularly dangerous, the problem is that it can turn in to full on eclampsia, which is potentially fatal due to seizures and organ failure.  Thyroid problems are a major risk factor for pre-eclampsia, so I suspect that’s partially why the doctor is monitoring me so closely.  Anyways, there is treatment for pre-eclampsia and at the worst, they’ll pull the baby out early.  It’s pretty unusual for things to progress to eclampsia, so I’m really not concerned.

My husband keeps badgering me to sign a healthcare power-of-attorney (states that I want him to make medical decisions for me if I’m unable to make them myself) and file it at the hospital, though, so maybe he’s taking this more seriously than I am.  For the record, everyone should probably have one since you never know when you’ll be incapacitated.  He also says we need to make our will, but I’m really just waiting for him to do it.  Everything goes to our daughter and we’ve already agreed on the executor and guardians, so he just has to use his magical lawyer skills and make it happen.

Anyways, that all sounds like a bummer.  I was hoping to have some kind of interesting tale from breastfeeding class this past weekend, but it was seriously lame.  We were so bored that we started doing stupid stuff like picking the baby doll up by one leg and sticking pretzel nuggets in its mouth (this doll was freakish and had a huge open mouth with a tiny plastic uvula).  I didn’t know a class about breasts could be so boring.  The people annoyed me because they were breathing (I hate most people), but none of them were obnoxious enough to be entertaining.  Hopefully baby basics class this Saturday will suck less.  Or at least have someone I can mock.

And since I last worked on this post, I have awesomely been sent to Labor and Delivery.  I’m going to be here for awhile due to excessively high blood pressure.  They need to rule out pre-eclampsia and make sure if I do have it that it doesn’t get worse.  I’ll be getting corticosteroid shots to mature her lungs on the just in case, but currently we plan to keep her in there.  I’ll update when I have more.  Obviously you get no pictures because I’m in the hospital.  Somehow, I think you’ll survive.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pregnancy Week 29

  1. aprilvak says:

    And now I’m seriously worried about you! I hope the blood pressure comes down and you can safely go home soon!

    Also, I love basic physiologic explanations. I tend to give them probably too often. I can’t help it being interesting.

  2. Kara says:

    Wow, leaking urine and potential death all in one post? I’m a lucky girl. 🙂

  3. Wow, I’m a little freaked out how earlier I said I miss you only to find out you’re in the hospital. I assumed it was work/dissertation keeping you away from the internets but no…I very much hope to hear that you’re better soon. Will this mean no jug of pee for you?

    On a lighter note, I have never in my life seen an acorn squash that’s as big as a basketball. I think the length of an average butternut squash is probably the same as the diameter of a basketball though, so we can handle that. Until you look at a comparison of every day objects to cervical dilation sizes and suddenly it all gets sketchy again.

    Anyway, I’ll keep you and baby in my thoughts and keep my fingers crossed that she gets to stay in your belly for a while longer. I know you’re eager to meet her and I’m eager to stalk pictures but I’d like another two months of strange vegetable/fruit comparison updates, please!

  4. Mandy says:

    Since I just got home from visiting you – I have nothing witty left to say…I said it all when I was distracting you from the IV. I do have a present to bring you tomorrow – and yes, I realize that telling you that I have a present for you without telling you what it is will be torture – at least it’s distracting torture.

    Love you.

  5. Terzah says:

    Wow, take care of yourself…..definitely update us when you feel like it….It sounds like they are taking good good care of you.

    I had the steroid shot for my kids’ lungs too–very glad I did. They were 5.5 weeks early and small, but healthy as little horses, all pink and screaming. Your little girl will be too.

  6. Thinking of you and the baby! I hope you are both okay. Take care and keep us updated (if/when you can).

Leave a Reply

