Pre-eclampsia Update

Just a quick update:  my blood pressure dropped well back in to normal range, so we are just waiting for the results of my urine screen.  We went ahead and got the corticosteroid shot to develop her lungs on the just in case (there’s no harm to the baby and it won’t require delivery in any certain period of time, mostly it just burns when they shoot it in my tuchus).

The bad news is my creatine is still elevated.  That can mean, well, just about anything, but it’s an indicator of kidney dysfunction.  For funsies, the on-call high-risk OB (who is freaking hilarious), the resident, and I placed bets on how many kidneys I have.  The resident won with her vote of two.  The bad news is that normal kidneys means it’s more likely pre-eclampsia.  The good news is pre-eclampsia goes away post-baby, while having one kidney is kind of forever (unless it fails and then I would have no kidneys, which would suck).  Anyways, the plan sounds like another steroid shot to finish maturing the baby’s lungs (my butt is burning just thinking about it), a small dose calcium channel blocker when I go home to keep my blood pressure down (it will also prevent pre-term labor and help my migraines, but those are just bonus), and rest.  I’ll be allowed up for 1-2 hours a day, no strenuous anything, and I’m only allowed to go to work for a few hours once a week.  Luckily, 99.9% of my work can be done from anywhere with an internet connection.

For the record, I feel fine.  The baby looks and sounds fine.  If for some reason my urinalysis comes back obscenely bad then they would take the baby tomorrow, but no one expects that and a 29 week old fetus post-steroid injection would be fine.  A few months in the NICU, but ultimately fine.  Not that we expect that.  The plan now is just to take it easy and follow my discharge instructions and have a full term baby.  Oh, and they are scheduling me in with my psychiatrist who I haven’t seen in a long time because I’m obviously feeling overwhelmed and post-partum depression is common in people with a pre-existing history of depression.

Anyways, so far I’m ok and so is she.  I fully intend for both of us to stay that way and I’m so thankfully that I chose such a good OB.  Thanks for all the kind words, well wishes, and e-mails!  It really means a lot!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pre-eclampsia Update

  1. Terzah says:

    That sounds like first-class care! I really like that they are being proactive with the post-partum depression stuff, too.

    I’m thinking of you and your little one out here in CO. I have a five-mile race on Saturday that is now officially dedicated to you. :^)

  2. It sounds for sure like you’re in good hands and that you have a good, positive attitude about it, come what may. That makes all the difference!

  3. Okay, so I lose access to my cell phone for 3 days and you go and go get admitted to the hospital?? WTF! I’ll see you tonight with Mandy.

  4. Really glad that you and baby girl are doing better!! Now you’ll just have to get the husband to wait on you, hand and foot!!! 🙂 Love ya….keep resting!

  5. Army Amy says:

    I’m glad that you and baby are ok! I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that things stay good!*

  6. Marissa says:

    sounds like you’re in good hands and keep taking care of yourself and baby! hang in there and keep us posted…

    ((hugs)) to you and baby!!!

  7. Kara says:

    Is anyone telling you to just relax? I feel like lots of stupid people would tell you that. I hate stupid people so much.

  8. TriGirl says:

    Well, here’s the silver lining: you get to work from home so no more running up a flight of stairs to go to the bathroom!

    It does sound like things are under control, and that you are feeling ok about things. I can’t imagine how stressful having a baby is.

  9. Mandy says:

    It was good to see you tonight – you looked fabulous. 🙂

  10. I am so glad you are doing better! Oh I hope things stay this way so she can grow and mature a little more.

  11. Christina says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your pregnancy medical issues! It sucks that such a beautiful time can be so stressful. I’ll keep your family in my thoughts.

  12. Megan says:

    Sheesh! Praying for you and hoping everything works out okay!

  13. Grace says:

    I am glad you’re doing better too! Take good care of yourself. It’s your chance to be queen of everything, so get other people to do all the unpleasant stuff (or just ignore it). I wish I had taken better advantage of this during my pregnancy (I was stupid and whatever the female equivalent of macho is, so worked up to the day I went into labor and insisted on doing everything myself).

  14. Laura says:

    Thanks for the update… glad there is some good news mixed in there, too. I hope the baby can last inside as long as possible, but like you said, even in the worst case scenario, it’s comforting to know that everything would be okay. Hang in there!

  15. Marissa says:

    waiting for another update??

  16. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

