Pre-e Update #2

So, the good news is I’m home.  The bad news is I’m on bed rest.  The urine screen turned out to be analyzed in a way that didn’t really tell us much of anything.  So now I’m doing it again and then going to the OB tomorrow afternoon.  I saw my regular OB’s partner before I left the hospital on Friday and she was a bit less positive than my regular doctor.  I also saw the high-risk OB again and he told me I shouldn’t be sad about missing my last two Blue Jackets games, because, well, I can watch them lose in bed. Point, sir.

Digression, but I seriously cheer for the absolute worst team in the NHL.

Anyways, we got to make another trip to Labor and Delivery this afternoon because my blood pressure spiked along with a wicked migraine this morning.  Of course it dropped within an hour of being at L&D, but the nurse originally seemed quite sure we were having a baby this evening.  Luckily, my blood tests all still look good and my BP is back down again, so I’m home in my own bed with my gassy dogs (why must they have gas when I can’t get out of bed to escape it?).  Anyways, it was a long and frustrating 4 hours at the hospital, but I’m happy to be home.  My mother-in-law is making arrangements so she can come in the next week or so to help out and help us get moved.  My husband needs a break and no one feels super great about me driving a car right now, so we are thankful for the help.

The baby is still fine, though.  She hates the fetal monitor, but she’s active.  I’m pretty sure I’m giving birth to a dolphin from the noises we hear on the monitor, but the ultrasounds all still look human.  I have pictures from one a few weeks ago that I’ve been meaning to post, but I’m too tired to do it now.  We’ll get another ultrasound on March 4 just to make sure she’s still growing and I’m not near going in to labor.

Anyways, that’s what we know for now.  I’m still hoping we can make it another 7 weeks, which would mean no NICU, but even making it to Thursday (30 weeks) is another milestone.  I’ll keep you updated.

Oh, and my husband definitely dumped my jug of pee on himself when we were leaving the hospital.  That’s true love right there kids.

Anyways, I’m hoping to have real blog content again someday.  Did I mention my doctor says I can probably start running 5-6 weeks post delivery?  I’m pretty stoked about that.  I feel like I will have no muscle tone left by the time this is all over.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Medical, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pre-e Update #2

  1. Why were you leaving with a giant jug of pee? Wouldn’t that stay at the hospital?? Please let me know if there is anything you need/want this week. I am working but I am here and can head over whenever. I am a text or a phone call away. Fingers crossed for 7 more weeks but is this like waiting for the groundhog to see his shadow?

  2. Army Amy says:

    “Doggie fart gladdens my heart.” My dog is pretty gassy, but thankfully he isn’t too stanky. Maybe if he stunk more I wouldn’t think his farts were so cute.

    I’m glad that the baby is good. I’m going to super cross my fingers that she stays in there a while longer. Hopefully you’re taking things in stride. I’m sure stress isn’t good, but how you are managing this with the other stuff you got going on, I do not know. Hang in there!*

  3. Laura says:

    That is definitely both good and bad… I’ll be thinking of you. Hope that baby stays in there as long as possible. And yay for the a-okay to run again!

  4. Kate says:

    Home and pregnant is a good place to be! Are you allowed to have a laptop in bed? I’ll entertain you with long rambling emails if you’d like!

  5. Terzah says:

    I feel bad that I’ve been whining about my stupid race when you are going through this! The go-ahead to run is a gleam of light shining through the bedrest. My fingers and toes are crossed for you.

  6. TriGirl says:

    Glad to hear you are back home! Hope your bedrest doesn’t make you stir crazy 😀

  7. Kara says:

    “Giant jug of pee” is my new favorite phrase. Pregnancy is such a bonding time for spouses.

    I hope things calm down and that little dolphin stays put!

  8. Megan says:

    Happy you’re back home! Praying for you and the baby to make it another 7 weeks!

  9. So glad you are home and you and the little one are doing well. I hope she stays in there longer. Tell her there is chocolate coming and she can only have some if she stays put!

  10. Abby says:

    Just getting caught up on all this drama! Sounds like you’ve got a good team of people around you (pee-toting husband including) who are going to get you and that little dolphin through the rest of your pregnancy.

    In the meantime, bedrest gives you lots of time for dissertation writing, right? 😉

  11. Mandy says:

    You’re in trouble – you should know why. :~P
    As I’ve said before – just let me know when you want Avery and I to either crash your apartment or steal you away for lunch or something. Or if you need anything else at all.

    Love you.

  12. rissarose80 says:

    yay to being back home for now…take care of yourself and that baby!

  13. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

