Leapster Update–day 6 of life

First of all, we had a good day at the NICU

No more CPAP! And no, she isn't yellow (anymore), this is just from my shitty iPhone camera. And I felt like an epic jerk when it flashed in her face. Stupid iPhone.

Thug Livin'. She used to be yellow (and on CPAP), but they put her under bililights for a few days, which require sweet baby sunglasses.

That’s right, my baby actually does have a face under all those tubes.  The only thing left on her face is her gavage tube, which probably will have to stay in for a few weeks.  Currently Leapster can breathe on her own, suck, and swallow, but she can’t handle all three at once, so we can’t attempt nipple feeding (that’s seriously what they call it!), which can be either by breast or by bottle (but they recommend bottle first since it’s easier for them).

In other news, without the hat on, my kid totally looks like The Leader.

Since she was born so early, the sutures in her skull haven’t fully opened yet, so she’s got a long pointy head and weird ridges at the top of her forehead.  We might have to put her in a special bed to shape her head if it doesn’t correct itself.  This was not something they warned us about, so I was a little taken aback when I saw her head.  Also, she has a full head of brownish-blonde peach fuzz, which shocked me since I figured she hadn’t been in there nearly long enough for so much hair to grow.  I’ll have to get a picture without a hat soon, but she got too cold and it was causing her oxygen saturation to drop a little, so she needed her head covered.

I get to hold her at least once a day most of the time. She gets Furious George when they put her back in the incubette. Yesterday she tried to throw herself out fo the incubette when she got put back in. This makes me feel awesome and awful at the same time.

And yes, I think I did just compare my baby to a supervillain.  I’m sure I’m going to get yelled at later, but his head looks like that cause it’s full of super smarts, so maybe that’s a good thing.

Anyways, the next big step for her is going to be having her umbilical vein catheter (it’s an IV in the cord stump) removed.  They have to take it out by day 7, so she’s having it out tomorrow.  The original plan was a PICC line to replace it, but that’s starting to look unnecessary, so we are going to try to go without the PICC line and just use a small IV somewhere (hand or foot maybe?).   She also needs an ultrasound of her head tomorrow to make sure her brain isn’t bleeding (it’s a standard test in preemies on day 7 of life).  I fully expect good news.

As for me, I’m healing, but it turns out that percoset will make you sleep.  And I have a dissertation to write, so this is sort of a problem.  I was late on a dose, though, and felt like my insides were going to rupture out of me, so this is just going to be slow going.  I also have a rash over half of my abdomen from the dressing they put over the incision for the first 2 days.  I am horribly allergic to medical tape, which I always forget to mention.  Anyways, the next part of Leapster’s birth story should be up in a day or so, but I wanted to share her good news.  The ups and downs with NICU babies are crazy.  Yesterday I left practically in tears (bitchy nurse day) and today I left feeling great.  Oh, and I will be seeing a counselor starting in a few weeks.  No shame in saying you need some professional help once in a while.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, NICU, Parenting, Preemie. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Leapster Update–day 6 of life

  1. Terzah says:

    Good for Leapster having a good day, and good for you on seeing a counselor! I did that too. And I remember my own bitchy nurse day in the NICU….When you guys are through this, we can swap war stories. Your time there will be longer, but a lot of the stuff is sounding similar.

    FYI, my little niece Lucy was born on Sunday evening! So many cute newborn pictures are (almost) making me want to be pregnant again.

    Good luck with the dissertation, too!

  2. Emily says:

    So sweet! I’m glad you get to hold her everyday. I’m looking forward to how it goes when you get to take her home

  3. Army Amy says:

    Hugs! I’m glad to hear that you’re hanging in there. Seeing a counselor is smart! I’ve seen a few in my time, and I never regret it.

    I love the picture of you holding your daughter!*

  4. That picture of you two is so sweet. So sweet. You have a beautiful daughter!

  5. Glad to hear things are sounding good! The pictures are great! I’ll keep thinking good thoughts for all of you! And I am glad you are going to start seeing someone! I see my someone tomorrow over lunch! 🙂

  6. Sarah Brady says:

    Nothing better than finding ‘someone’ who can take care of the MOST important part of our body… Glad to hear everything is seems to be going well. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts!!!

  7. Kara says:

    I love the picture of you holding her! Hopefully you can do some kangaroo care soon. My friend had twins at 28 weeks and that was a lifesaver for them!

    Faith was 11 days past due and she was still that yellow and needed the lights. All the cool babies are jaundiced. 🙂

  8. Aww, she’s soooo small and cute. We’re not gonna get a name? Is it leapster forever?

  9. michelle says:

    What a whirwind… my thoughts and prayers are with you! You’re doing great, keep healing and hanging in there. She’s perfect, and I love that little hat in the first picture!

  10. Megan says:

    I’m so happy for you guys that everything seems to be going well! Continuing to pray for you!

  11. I am so glad she is doing well and doesn’t need the CPAP anymore and hopefully wont need a PICC line. I cried when I saw the pic of you holding her. Just so amazing.

    Seeing a counselor is such a great thing.

  12. Heather Braswell says:

    She is so beautiful! I’m glad to hear you are healing well and that little C is doing well in the NICU. Hooray for no more CPAP!! That is super news.

    Glad that you are going to see someone as well-it is super important for Mom’s to take care of themselves.

  13. Kim says:

    Love the pic of you holding your baby girl! 🙂 She is doing great!!! Grow, Charlotte, grow!!!!

  14. Mandy says:

    I’m glad you’ll be seeing a counselor. I’m here if you ever need someone to yell, scream or cry with you.

    I adore that picture of you and Leapster.

Leave a Reply

