The Baby Shower that Almost Wasn’t

I’m sure we all remember that I swore I was going to remain pregnant at least until my baby shower.

I am an idiot.

Anyways, my first instinct was to ask Mandy to cancel the shower, but then everyone assured me that taking a few hours to have a party wouldn’t make me a bad mother and that it would be good for me.  They were quite correct.  Also, Mandy knows how to throw one hell of a party.

There was even a yard sign. Seriously, this girl goes all out.

Mandy had a bunch of different games for us to play.  The first was the classic guess the melted candy bar in the diaper game.

We keep it klassy up in here.

I won that game.  First of all, I love candy.  Second of all, I’ve played that game more than once (thank you, “The Girls Next Door”).  Third of all, a melted Cadbury Creme Egg is the most disgusting thing I’ve ever seen.  At least the most disgusting piece of fake poop I’ve ever seen.

We then played “Pin the Sperm on the Egg” (I’m gonna get so much spam from that).

True story: the last time I was blindfolded was during my fraternity initiation and I was accidentally allowed to walk face first in to a wall. The bloody nose and concussion have given me a healthy fear of being blindfolded and mobile.

I thought this was the greatest game ever invented.

We also played a game called “Guess the White Powder”, but somehow there are no pictures.  I, of course, asked if one bag was cocaine, which meant that Mandy’s husband won a bet.  I am so predictable it hurts.

I opened presents.

That bow came with express instructions to wear it on my head. Don't mind if I do!

I got a bunch of really amazing gifts and we are so thankful for everyone’s generosity!  I was totally blown away by everything.

Laurie's mom (whom I've never met) made this. Amazing!

Oh yeah, and my sister made cake.  Her husband, a tattooed veteran, decorated.  Apparently looks can be deceiving and he is “a ninja with a piping gun”.

That angel was on the cake at my mom's baby shower when she was pregnant with me. My sister's friend crocheted the booties with little frog buttons for my Leapster.

Thanks for a great party, Mandy!  It was nice to take a break and celebrate Leapster.

BFFs

Oh, and I did go visit the reason for the party beforehand.  I was sad to have to cut my visit a little short, but I think she understood.  Especially since she got a bunch of new stuff.

One of her many gifts from the shower. I officially own every preemie outfit at Babies R'Us. And Target.

And because I can’t stand to not share her latest news, Charlotte drank her entire bottle for the first time yesterday!  It was only her third bottle ever, so I’m rather proud.  She did promptly fall asleep for the rest of the day, but it’s a huge step.  She’s also still off oxygen, which is hopefully permanent since she was so tuckered out and still managed to keep her oxygen saturation levels up.  Next she has to start taking all her meals by bottle and the last tube can come out.  The nurse told us we should take the discharge class next Sunday just in case.

I couldn’t sleep last night because I was so excited.

Oh yeah, and draft #2 of the dissertation is back to the advisor.  We are meeting this morning to discuss it (yup, back to work for a morning less than a month post-childbirth) and then send it to committee on Thursday.  HOLYCRAPTHISISACTUALLYHAPPENING.

BTW, I will so make everyone call me Dr. S for months after my defense.  Except Baby C, she can just call me Dr. Mom.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Leapster, NICU, Parenting, Preemie, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Baby Shower that Almost Wasn’t

  1. Mandy says:

    The party was so much fun – mostly because you were smiling and laughing. Love you!

    I’m so excited about Baby C drinking a full bottle too! Go Baby C!

  2. lcbilovesky says:

    Whoa! The discharge class? Already? Awesomeness! The party was awesome. I think I didn’t take pictures of the white powder game because it stumped me! She is already one spoiled little baby!!

  3. Alyssa says:

    Awesome party, and that’s great news! But, my takeaway from this post is

    1. Why did you have a fraternity initiation, you are female, as you recently proved by giving birth.
    2. Mandy’s husband is Peeta.

  4. Army Amy says:

    Seems like a fun shower! You look so happy in all the pictures. A happy mom makes for a happy baby, right? And high five to Leapster for showing those bottles who’s boss!*

  5. Holly says:

    Aw! You definitely deserved it. So glad you had a shower after all! 🙂

  6. Congrats Leapster! That looks like an awesome party! I always win the diaper game too. I have played it entirely too much. That and every other shower game. I have been in charge of 3 showers over the last 2 1/2 years. I have never seen the pin the sperm game! Absolutely awesome! Best game evar! I am going to tell my friends we are playing that at my shower!

  7. Abby says:

    Sounds like a great day! And glad you avoided a bloody nose this time 🙂

  8. Kari @ Running Ricig says:

    This post was so sweet and then you took things to the next level with the dr. jokes. I spit out my coffee. Well done.

  9. Yay! I’m glad you had fun. After all you’ve been through, you freakin’ deserve it.

  10. Kara says:

    Your baby shower looked like so much more fun than mine. We didn’t have any fake poop, only bingo!

  11. Love the pictures, especially of Baby C! She is adorable and looks content. So sorry I missed the festivities!

  12. megangwen314 says:

    Looks like so much fun! Glad you got one anyway, everyone deserves a baby shower!

  13. Laura says:

    Love all those shower pictures, Mandy knows how to throw a good one! And congrats to Leapster on the whole bottle, HOORAY!

  14. Kathy R says:

    Yes, Doctor!
    What a wonderful week all around!!!
    Great to hear Charlotte is staying off the O2!
    Well done with the progress on your dissertation!!

  15. Terzah says:

    Happy to call you Dr. S!! What was your dissertation on?

    And that’s great news about Charlotte. I’m still keeping my fingers and toes crossed for you. (Sorry I’m late to comment. My son was sick this week and I’m behind on many things.)

  16. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

