So then this happened

I know I’ve been gone forever, but this past week has been killer.  Dissertation defense is next Thursday (shudder) and I’ve been visiting Charlotte a lot still.  In the last week she got a hearing test, had another eye exam, took a car seat test, got her Hepatits B vaccine, got a Synagis shot (prevents RSV), passed the 2 pound weight gain, and had three different discharge dates that came and went.

Hearing test passed!

The latest discharge date was today.  I didn’t tell people because I didn’t want to put myself through that again.  I pretended I didn’t care and assumed it wouldn’t happen.

I love being wrong.

I rode home in the backseat while trying not to lose my lunch (motion sickness and husband took the back roads home).  She’s been home for 6 hours and already pooped out a diaper and had 3 bottles.  The dogs are very curious, but they seem to really like her and Delilah is already guarding her.

She's home!

Anyways, I’ll be back on Thursday or Friday to let you know how it’s going.  Gotta get this dissertation defense done first.  See you when I’m Dr. Sarah!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Leapster, NICU, Parenting, Preemie. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to So then this happened

  1. Army Amy says:

    Charlotte’s home! Hooray! Congrats! I’m sure you are over the moon!*

  2. Alyssa says:

    I am absolutely THRILLED for you! I can’t imagine how hard this must have been, you’ve been a trooper and now your baby girl is home! YAY! Good luck on the defense!

  3. Alyssa says:

    HOLY CRAP I missed the watermelon hat the first time and I just happened to see it on my google reader – cutest freaking thing ever.

  4. Terzah says:

    Congratulations!! This is the best news!! I am in Cali helping with my new niece–letting my brother and sis-in-law go out tonight, so you and I will both be home with infants tonight. :^) Anyway, good luck with the defense–you will do great! I won’t call you Dr. Sarah til afterwards–that would be like wearing the race shirt before you do the race (even though I’m sure you will cross that finish line with a PR).

  5. Mandy says:

    I’m so, so, so, so, so happy for you!

  6. TriGirl says:

    Most fantastic news of the day!!!

  7. lcbilovesky says:

    Yay!!! I am so happy for you! Glad things are going well so far!

  8. Kara says:

    I’m so excited for you!! Yay for babies coming home!

  9. Kari @ Running Ricig says:

    Omg she’s home!!! So exciting! I’m so happy for you guys!

  10. Abby says:

    So so glad to read this!! Enjoy your first week together, and good luck on Thursday!

  11. Laura says:

    That’s amazing news! So glad it finally happened…and best of luck getting the dissertation together!

  12. Awww. So happy she’s finally home!

  13. YAY she is home!! Good luck tomorrow!

  14. Aimee says:

    I just found your blog. A preemie comment got me since my son was born 2 months early last yr (8.5 weeks), also from pre-eclampsia. So I started reading your older posts to see the story. I remember not telling anyone the potential discharge date because I was so afraid it wouldn’t happen. So NO ONE knew until I texted my family on the car ride home!

  15. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

