The next big thing

Oh hey guys, guess who you can call Dr. S now.

Can I admit that my dissertation defense felt easy?  I think I was more nervous before my half marathon.  I keep expecting them to tell me I have to do it again because I expected to get battered and bruised and I left my defense feeling good about myself and my work.

The day before my defense. I mostly tried not to freak out. Oh yeah, and I cut my hair short last week.

It was a harrowing morning, though.  C threw up down my arm (luckily it went inside my jacket, rather than on the outside of the sleeve.  I had to leave her for hours.  Mandy did awesome, but I was still upset to leave my baby.  I got to the room and I couldn’t get the computer turned on.  I finally got AV on the phone and they told me I had to pay them (my advisor took care of that problem because he is awesome).  Oh, and I tried to pump right before my defense only to realize I had left a part at home (45 minutes away).  Still, it went great and now I’m making everyone call me Dr.  I still can’t believe that I’m finally done after five years of slaving away and wondering if I could really do it.

So, now what?  Well, turns out PhDs have lots of work from home opportunities.  I’m applying for some editing jobs and possibly an online teaching job (editing pays better by the hour).  I’m actually still being paid through June so that I can keep my health insurance, so I’m not in a huge hurry to find something.  I need to finalize my dissertation document (defenses always bring up some changes) and then submit a chapter to a journal for publication (which involves some formatting and some other changes).  The good news is that I don’t have to put my teeny weeny preemie in daycare, which is frowned upon due to the disease risk.

Over 5 pounds, but still too little for daycare.

I’m not sad to stay home with her.  People keep telling me I’ll be bored in a month, but I’m too tired/busy keeping my head above water to be bored.  I plan to post about her first week home very soon.

I’ve also been running (if you can call it that) again.  I’m using an old 5K training plan (not Couch to 5K, because I hate that one).  As you may recall, my original post-pregnancy goal race is in the beginning of September.  Well, having her 9 weeks early meant that I would be ready to do a 5K closer to June.  Also, the new season of Marathoners in Training (MIT) starts May 19th and you only need to be up to 2 miles for the half schedule.

Yeah, I totally signed up.  I’m sure I’ll regret it once summer really kicks in, but I need goals.  I’m going to try (again) to train for the Columbus Half Marathon on 10/22.  I pulled out last year because I was pregnant and not allowed to run, but hopefully this year I’ll be good to go (I will not be pregnant again, because that would be freaking insane).  By the way, I’d love to talk to someone who trained for a longer race while breastfeeding.  I’m a little worried that I’ll dry up my milk.

Anyone else got big plans for the rest of the year?  I’m trying to keep my goals to a minimum so I don’t burn out and explode from trying to do too much.  I also need to think about managing my weight, but I’m below my pre-pregnancy weight already (breastfeeding burns mega calories), so I’ve been really lazy about it.  Time for some portion control.

One more Leapster picture for good measure. She's a kung fu baby.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Grad School, Leapster, Parenting, Preemie, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The next big thing

  1. aprilvak says:

    Congratulations Dr Sarah!!!!

    • aprilvak says:

      PS…my mom told me a long time ago that Charlotte is a good strong Marine Corps name. So, I guess there’s always that option when she grows up, if she doesn’t want to be a doctor too.

  2. TriGirl says:

    Congrats DOCTOR!!! What a great month for you! I have no idea bout the breast milk/running connection, but welcome back to the running world 🙂 Also, I like your t-shirt!

  3. Emily says:

    Congrats again doctor! Charlotte is so adorable. Five pounds is so tiny! I was that size once. So hard to believe.

  4. Kari says:

    Congrats Dr.! 😀 beautiful baby too..win win!

  5. Kara says:

    That last picture is adorable! Please call her by her name though, for the love of all things that are good in this world. She has a beautiful name. 🙂

    Congrats on the doctorate! I love that your first reaction is to sign up for a race. I know people that have done marathons while breastfeeding. Once you have an established milk supply (like you’ve been doing it for 6+ months) it’s easier to maintain it.

  6. Mandy says:

    Congratulations Dr. Sarah! Charlotte was perfect for me – but I totally understand the issue with leaving your child for hours so early. (And I agree with Kara – her name is beautiful!)

    I love that you are running again. LOVE. We will run together before long. This makes me very happy.

  7. Army Amy says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! That is effing amazing, Dr. Sarah! Seriously, I’m in awe.*

  8. Laura says:

    Congrats on sailing through the defense! With dissertation changes and trying to send it out for publication, you will definitely not be bored in a month. Plenty to keep you occupied for awhile.
    I ran a few races while breastfeeding, up through the half distance. Hydration is really important, and fueling well, but it’s definitely doable. I’m happy to answer questions once you get into training!

  9. Alyssa says:

    Congratulations DOCTOR! Amazing! You defended with a new baby and passed…you deserve a special award for that. I love that you signed up for a half – you go girl! What can’t you do?

  10. lcbilovesky says:

    Doctor S! Sounds awesome to me. Way to go!! I think you’re taking a great approach to it all and will find something when its right. And, this sounds like I may actually get to walk along side your run this season. Woohoo!

  11. Terzah says:

    Congratulations, Dr. S! I’ve been thinking of emailing you but didn’t want to put any pressure on when you were not only defending but had your baby at home. :^)

    Congrats also on the racing plans–I didn’t run much while breastfeeding–it was painful for me, but the bras that might have rendered it less painful were painful in their own way. But I do know others have done this quite successfully.

  12. michelle says:

    Congrats! Are you going to make people start addressing all your mail as Dr. and Mr.? That’s what I’m aiming for one day.

  13. Kate Sullivan says:

    Buahaha, Dr. Sarah! You look seriously official in that top picture and I love it. I smiled my way through this whole post. Also, I second Michelle’s idea – you should insist all correspondence be directed to Dr. and Mr. from now on!

  14. Kari @ Running Ricig says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!

  15. Congrats Dr! How exciting!

    I heard the milk drying up thing is a myth. I plan on training then running a marathon in October. I asked about this at the hospital and they said as long as you eat enough you’ll be fine.

    I’m glad your at your pre-pregnancy weight! Lucky duck! I gained about 30 pounds and still have 12 to go to be back to pre-pregnancy.

  16. Daniele says:

    Congratulations Doctor! It’s so good to hear that someone is havign a good experince with getting their PhD (you hear so many horror stories, you know?) By the way, Charlotte is a beautiful baby, so precious too!! Keep the pictures coming:)

  17. Congrats! The doctor will see us now.
    Glad to hear things are going well. Funny how things turn around. I remember you posting about having to finish your disseration and not being able to get pregnant. Look at you now, baby. 🙂

  18. Kathy R says:

    Congrats Dr. S!!!!
    Leapster is getting big!!

  19. Congratulations Dr Sarah! Boy do you have a lot going on! Awesome you got back to your running.

  20. Katie says:

    Dr. Sarah, I cannot even handle the cuteness of baby C. You are a rockstar.

  21. Marcia says:

    Congrats Dr. S.!! Im thrilled to hear Leapster is growing so beautifully and is home! If I recall I did a 10-mile race when Thing 2 was 8 months old. There was a lot of pre and post run pumping going on.

  22. Abby says:

    Woo hoo!! Congrats – major props! (By the way, I’m not sure I realized you were at OSU – my cousin teaches journalism there.)

    And little C is quite the charmer – she looks absolutely perfect in that picture.

  23. mrslltkings says:

    What a huge thing – congrats Dr. S!!!!!!!! I love those pj’s – P had those too and they’re adorable.

  24. Congrats, Dr. Sarah!!! Zantac was a lifesaver for us with Hannah – the girl had (and still does have) some wicked reflux.

    Will be so happy to see you back on the trails! 🙂

  25. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

