And then my head exploded

Oh hey, you know what is absolute hell?

Baby acid reflux.

The interesting thing about preemies is that they don’t necessarily scream, but the kid has been grunting and groaning all night long, which keeps me up.  Last night was the worst.  I woke up at 1 AM to feed her and then was up until 4 AM because she wouldn’t sleep.  I finally gave her to my husband at 4 (he usually gets up between 4:30-5 AM).  He glared at me, but got up.  Turns out he thought it was 1 AM because lightning knocked out our power for a minute and set the clock back 3 hours.  I knew it was 4 because I use my cell phone as a clock.  iPhone-1, Husband-0.

Anyways, the pediatrician gave us “the smallest dose of Zantac that [he has] ever prescribed.”  It can take some time to work, though and she’s not so great at keeping it down.  The other thing is Zantac does not prevent the massive spewing fountains, it just makes them burn less.  Here’s hoping it works soon and I get some sleep.

In other news, my husband managed to get himself peed on.  This would not be noteworthy except that he took her diaper off in her room and then carried her in to the bathroom for bath time.  You never take the diaper off until you are over the bathtub.  I was too busy laughing hysterically to help him out.  I am a terrible wife.

Today I ran my first post-baby mile with no walking today.  It’s hard to believe it’s been 8 weeks since I delivered, especially considering I was expecting to still be pregnant by now.  The kid rolled from her stomach to her back this afternoon.  So much for being newbornish until a few weeks post due date.

Speaking of newbornish, someone outgrew her preemie clothes.  Her legs are too long, but the newborn stuff is still kind of huge.  She’s 5.5 pounds, so I guess we are hitting that transition point.

On that note, the plague is going around my house.  Husband is recovering and I’m fighting a retinal migraine that may or may not be due to said plague.  Either way it sucks and is making typing impossible.  Pray that C doesn’t get it (my head hurts so bad that I couldn’t manage to type out her name).

Since this post is lame, I feel obligated to promise to follow up with the story of Delilah’s drunken insanity from a while ago.  Yeah, that totally happened.  House guests leave alcohol where the dog can reach.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Marriage, Parenting, Preemie, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to And then my head exploded

  1. mrslltkings says:

    She is adorable – I’m sorry you have to deal with baby acid reflux 😦 when they’re this helpless it’s almost impossible to sit by and watch and not be able to really help.

    So impressed that she is rolling over already! I’m not even sure that P did that at this age and she was a week late!

  2. Terzah says:

    Will had reflux, too, and the Zantac did help. I don’t think he was on it for a very long time either. I hope that works for you too. Congrats on the first post-baby mile. That’s gotta feel good (even if it didn’t feel good).

  3. Emily says:

    She’s still so tiny! And also I totally would have laughed your hubs for getting peed on. Baby pee isn’t exactly gross anyway.

  4. Kara says:

    Faith had a really bad case of acid reflux (like need to go to Children’s Hospital level of bad) and one of the things that really helped was having her sleep in a Fisher Price Rock and Play Sleeper. It keeps them on an incline and keeps the acid down when they sleep. Also, make sure the doctor gives you the prescription for the compounded Zantac, not the tablets that you dissolve yourself. The compounded stuff is harder to get because places like CVS don’t have real pharmacists, but it’s worth the hassle.

    • Mandy says:

      She already owns this awesome sleeper, because all I talked about was how it was the only place Avery would sleep when SHE had reflux. Great minds think alike….and apparently have babies with reflux. HA

  5. michelle says:

    Aw, poor baby and poor you! I hope the medicine helps!

  6. Mandy says:

    I have nothing to add that I haven’t said to you already.
    Baby reflux sucks. No sleep sucks. Way to run a mile anyway!
    Hope the plague goes away!

  7. Army Amy says:

    I used to read a blog by someone whose baby had acid reflux. It did not sound fun at all. I’m crossing my fingers that little Leapster is feeling reflux-free in no time. We already know she is a tough cookie!

    And now I’d like to gush over you holding her in the ducky towel! Presh!*

  8. lcbilovesky says:

    Thanks for the definition of retinal migraines. Sounds terrible but I apparently get migraine auras. I haven’t had a full blown migraine in a while, just the auras twice in the last month. They suck. A retinal migraine sounds terrible and I hope you feel better soon. She’s getting so big!!! Congrats on the first run mile!! It was speedy too!

  9. Kari @ Running Ricig says:

    Awesome job on your mile! I hope everyone starts feeling better soon!

  10. Kate Sullivan says:

    I’m sorry things are so rough right now – but I can see that smile in the ducky towel picture so I know it’s not all bad : ) Motherhood looks good on you!

    Also, well done with your mile! That’s really stellar.

  11. Awweee poor Charlotte. I hope the Zantac helps. We also have the Rock N Play sleeper for Isaac. He sleeps so much better.

    We usually take Isaac’s diaper off in another room, wrap in up then take him to the other room for his bath. Haven’t been peed on yet…. Although he has decided to poop while getting his bath. twice….

  12. Laura says:

    Ugh, we never had reflux, but we had our fair share of rough nights. I remember those days clearly! Hope you start getting more rest soon. Congrats on one mile–it must feel so good to be active again!

  13. Sorry to hear about the reflux. It is so horrible. You feel so bad for them. I hope the medicine helps.

Leave a Reply

