A cheetah and a dog?

Oh hey, I still have a blog!

Life with a newborn (or at least a baby that acts like a newborn) is kinda tough.  My hours are quite full right now (Kara, you led me to believe that this would be easy with tons of downtime), but I really do want to try to update at least twice a week.

Anyways, last Sunday was my first Mother’s Day as a mother.  I made my husband take us to the zoo on Saturday (they were calling for rain on Sunday).  The Columbus Zoo is one of the best in the country (Jack Hanna is the zookeeper emeritus) and I’m so excited that we have a membership so I can take Charlotte as often as she wants.

The zoo has statues of different animals all over. We stopped at the Komodo Dragon for pictures. This was the only part of the trip where she was actually awake.

My husband and his mini-me. I need to figure out how to get his baby pictures scanned in so you guys can see that he and Charlotte looked identical as babies.

We knew we couldn’t do the whole zoo that day, so we went to the polar bears first (they are the newest exhibit and my husband hadn’t seen them yet), followed by Asia/the big cats, the aquarium, the penguins, and finally the reptile house (my husband’s favorite).

This picture would be much cooler if you could see that the alligator snapping turtle’s mouth was gaping open. This little kid at the exhibit kept calling his mom a liar because she kept telling him the turtle was a real animal and not a decoration.

On the way out I noticed a sign that said you could see a cheetah at 3 PM at this side exhibit I’d never noticed before (Animal Encounters Village).  I demanded we stop and check it out.  We actually stumbled upon a penguin show in the pool on stage.

Live penguin show on the stage. I love penguins.

The penguins had to be rushed out of the pool because some numbnuts dropped his cell phone in to it. The poor penguins were upset.

I got to pet a groundhog. I grew up not far from Punxsutawney, but they never let me touch Phil.

Oh, and we did find the cheetah…

WTH? The cheetah and dog are bffs and like to cuddle.  Freaks.

Apparently the cheetah and Anatolian Shepard dog were raised together to raise awareness about a project to give said dogs to farmers in Namibia.  The dogs in Namibia scare cheetahs away from the farms, thus protecting them from being killed by the farmers.  The zoo publishes a book about the project called Frenemies for Life: Cheetahs and Anatolian Shepherd Dogs, which we picked up for Charlotte’s (overflowing) bookshelf.

Sunday we went to church and then went to buy my gift.  After shopping we stopped for sushi.

The kid was hungry?

Oh yeah, and if you guys are sick of my sucktastic pictures, I have good news.  We finally got a good camera!  My husband got me a dSLR for a push/graduation/Mother’s Day present, so be prepared for awesome pictures.  I was actually trained in advanced microscopy as part of my PhD, so I’m trying to apply those skills (a confocal microscope and dSLR use the same physics, so hopefully it transfers).  Also, if anyone has a dSLR bag they love, link me to it, please!

Oh, and we found out today that Charlotte’s eyes have developed totally normally (preemies have a high risk for retinopathy caused by improper maturation of the eye’s blood vessels, which causes blindness) and she’s being released from the ophthalmologist’s care (he’ll see her when she’s 3 for a preschool screening, but not again until then).  She was 6lbs, 6oz on Monday and the neonatologist said she was growing great.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Columbus, Leapster, Marriage, Parenting, Preemie. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A cheetah and a dog?

  1. yay on Charlottes eyes! She seems to be gaining at the same rate Isaac is gaining. He weighs a little more than Charlotte but he also weighed more at birth. We must have super milk in our boobies. ha!

  2. Jenn says:

    Yayfor a DSLR, I took a class from Britt Lakin AND just got a 50mm lens…..my bag is a JO Tote, but I think my friend scored off ebay at a fraction of the price for my bday. We love the zoo, but I think you know how often we go. L&K have been deprived and you can not even spell zoo without creating a major fit. We need to go, soon.

  3. Army Amy says:

    It warms my little heart to hear that your daughter has an overflowing bookshelf! Books ftw! Looks like y’all had a great first mother’s day!*

  4. Mandy says:

    I love the photos!!! I’ve never seen a penguin show at the zoo! Next time I’d better go with you!
    What dSLR did you get?
    Happy mother’s day!

  5. Kari @ Running Ricig says:

    True story: Mike loves penguins so much that he asked if we could name our future daughter (if we ever have children) Penny, so he could call her Penguin.

  6. Kara says:

    Please note that I didn’t start blogging until Faith was 7 months old, so my downtime statements aren’t retroactive. 🙂

    I don’t understand how having the dog and cheetah spooning each other is supposed to make people believe in a program in which the dogs scare the cheetahs away. Obviously they love each other too much for that.

  7. TriGirl says:

    So glad to hear things are going so well!!

  8. aprilvak says:

    I like your pictures, and Abby loves pointing out the baby! I can’t wait for her first trip to the zoo. I wis we lived near a good one. I’m glad y’all are doing well, and it sounds like you had a great first Mother’s Day!

    And what kind of person drops their phone in the penguin pool anyway?

  9. So interesting about the cheetah and the dog! And I’ve been pushing back my want for a dSLR. I think I could convince the hubby once my current camera breaks, but considering it’s only 2.5 years old, it could last a while…

  10. Terzah says:

    I LOVE the cheetah/dog thing. You learn something new every day.

    BTW, my kids also liked looking at these particular pictures. They definitely think you don’t suck at pictures. Of course now they are also nagging me to take them to zoo. Which I should do. We haven’t been in a while.

  11. Terzah says:

    P.S. I also think you’re awesome for taking Charlotte to the zoo so early on. Will and Ruth didn’t go to the zoo until they were, like, three.

  12. Laura says:

    Happy Mother’s day! Sushi and the zoo are great ways to celebrate. I remember those days being all-consuming. Update when you can, no worries. And congrats on the good eye news for C!

  13. Kathy R says:

    Happy mother’s day!! I had zoo and museum passes while my kids were small – it was a blast!
    A cheetah and a dog?? Are you kidding? That’s awesome!

  14. Happy Mother’s day! Looks like you guys had a great time. I just love the zoo. Can’t wait to see the awesome pics from your new camera.

Leave a Reply

