Four months and other assorted miscellany

I may have teared up a little last week when Charlotte hit four months old.  Whatever, I’d like to see you prove it.

A third of a year went by really fast.  I’m sort of afraid to blink because she’ll probably have a driver’s license and be demanding my car keys when I open my eyes (kid, it’s not gonna happen).

This is how I dance when I’m not wearing pants.

Yeah, this is more of a fart dance. I wish I had a good fart dance.

Contrary to what my husband thinks, Charlotte is a very easy baby.  I’ve been around difficult babies and very occasionally screaming for an hour isn’t a difficult baby. The kid sleeps through the night and mostly cries when she’s hungry.  Not difficult.

Woman, don’t interrupt me when I’m relaxing on the dog.

I know people are wondering how C and the puggles get along.  Let’s just say that Rufus has no survival instincts.

She was pulling his ears, his collar, and his declaw. He finally moved after she poked him in the eye for the second time.

They like their hairless puppy.  Unfortunately, C likes to play baby bird when Delilah gets near her face.  Delilah loves to give dental exams with her tongue.

I don’t even want to know where Delilah’s tongue has been.

The big thing these days is managing Charlotte’s therapies.  She has a cranial sacral therapist coming in once a week (helps align the spine and pelvis, which seems to be helping her head shape) and a physical therapist coming in every other week.  The early interventionist comes once a month.  Oh, and the regular well-baby visits at the pediatrician’s office every two months right now along with neonatologist visits at the children’s hospital 45 minutes away.  It’s hard to keep track.

I have been making time to run, but it’s much more difficult to fit it in now that I have another human completely reliant on me.  I have to get up by 5:30 AM to fit in a two miler before my husband leaves for work (I get up 10-15 minutes earlier for every mile over two).  It sounds easy, but when the baby kept you up all night teething, that alarm hurts.  I’ve also been having some IT band stiffness, which makes me back off pretty fast.  I refuse to be injured.  Anyways, running while lactating kind of blows because I’m top heavy, no sports bras fit and I’m always dehydrated.  I think I will have a very difficult time dropping my speed before I wean.

It would help if it wasn’t so dang hot this summer.  I much prefer running in the winter because it feels less like impending death.  We also had insane storms this weekend, which led to MIT (my running group) being cancelled.  I did not make up my 5 mile LSD.  It was too hot to run once the storms cleared up.  And I’m lazy.

The storms rolled in Friday night and knocked our power out three times that night.  The first time I panicked and insisted we drive 5 hours to my parents’ house because I had no way to heat bottles and store milk.  Once the power came back, we prepared bottles and stuck them on ice and I agreed to stay in town.  The power went off two more times after that, but we woke up Saturday with power and have had it ever since.  Kind of scary to realize how desperately we need electricity.

The news said 500,000 people in central OH were (or still are) without power.  The governor declared a state of emergency.  There are branches and trees down everywhere. Our house survived unscathed, but the neighbor’s grill took a tumble along with their patio furniture.  Scary stuff.

I don’t want to end on a depressing note, so here’s a happy baby.

It’s hard having a baby this cute.  People always want to touch.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Leapster, Parenting, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Four months and other assorted miscellany

  1. Abby says:

    Really glad to hear you guys were safe in the storms!

  2. Army Amy says:

    Scary storms! I’m glad y’all stayed safe with few issues.

    I gotta say, your baby is so gorgeous! And she’s getting so big!*

  3. Terzah says:

    “I refuse to be injured.”

    Good for you–remember that next time you have pain but want to run anyway (or run fast, or do “just one more mile”).

    Charlotte is SO cute and so smiley. It only gets more fun. :^)

  4. michelle says:

    Adorable 4 month pictures! I’m glad you all were Ok! Was that the same system that blew through WVA and VA? My grandparents in WVA are still without power and my grandparents in VA lost 2 cars with the downed trees. That storm system was craaaaayyy… 😉 I kid…it was just crazy.

  5. Kara says:

    That fart dance is amazing.

    My Medela had a battery pack (it takes a shit ton, but still) so maybe you need to get one of those for the future. I know the panic of NEEDING to know that you can pump pretty well 🙂

  6. I love the pictures on the quilt. They make me smile. I’ll have to pull up the blog at Mom’s next week and show her more…………I need to come visit & just hold her. Baby fix needed. I totally don’t blame you about being in a panic and I thank you for sending your hubby to give us the key.

  7. Happy 4 months C!!! Adorable pics! You always make me laugh. Glad you are safe and sound after all the storms.

  8. I know what you mean. I can’t believe that Isaac is going to be 4 months on Thursday. Correct me if I am wrong but didn’t it seem like the NICU stay was a lot longer than these last few months?

    Isaac is a really easy baby too. He rarely cries and goes right to sleep. He’s not sleeping through the night yet but he is giving me 5-6 hour stretches. I think he’s close though.

    Also glad to hear C is teething. When Isaac was crying the other day I swear I saw a little white thing poking out and boy has he been drooling. I thought I had been imagining things.

    I love the photos! I love her smile… and her fart dance. SOOOO cute!

  9. Marcia says:

    What a super cutie! It does go so fast. I was on that same early schedule and would wear 2 sports bras, pump before the run….ugh….what a production. My youngest is 6 now and I’ve kept the early schedule…minus the pumping thanks heavens! Love how sweet the dogs are with C.

  10. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    She is just the sweetest- love that adorable smile! Nice work getting up early- it’s hard to do with a baby, when bfeeding, and in the summer heat. I had great plans for getting up early this summer to beat the heat and it’s not really happening- I can leave at 7 and be fine before my husband leaves (8am) but it’s already way too hot at that hour in Texas. Working on this!

  11. mrslltkings says:

    Happy 4 months- love that the dogs adjusted so well. Hope you get your power back asap!!!!!! So scary

  12. The fart dance is adorable! She’s getting so big and she’s so cute!

    I’m glad you were okay with all the storms! Scary stuff!

  13. Mandy says:

    Loving the dance moves! Glad you were okay – and that I missed the storms (not gonna lie).

Leave a Reply

