A Friday update (finally)

Oh hey, I still have a blog.

It’s not that I forget about my blog, it’s just hard to force myself to take a long enough block of time to update it.  Also, I got wrapped up in two books this week and couldn’t seem to do anything with my spare time besides read.  I used to do that all the time pre-baby, but it was exciting to get that absorbed in reading again now that Charlotte is here (if you are wondering, the books were “The Selection” and “What Alice Forgot”).  I have a Nook (best investment ever) and can check out ebooks online while sitting around in my underwear (pants suck).  It’s a great system with a baby since I don’t have to leave the house and the books return themselves on the due date.

Sometimes I get to read books. Sometimes i snuggle a baby instead. And yes, that is a sweet pacifier with dinosaurs on it.

In other news, I passed the test required for gainful employment.  I’ll be working 20-22 hours a week from home (during naptime or once Keith gets home from work).  That’s a big part of where I’ve been lately since training was almost a two week long process.  I’m still waiting on a little bit more training and then I should hopefully have a start date.  I can’t actually tell you what I’m doing because I signed a non-disclosure agreement, but I can tell you that it’s not in my field.  I don’t care since it means I get to be home with my kid.  And I don’t have to wear pants to work.  Or shoes.  After years of working in a lab, which means closed-toe shoes only, this is exciting.

Have you guys heard about the 9.6 ounce baby that is now 6 pounds are going home from NICU after 6 months?  She had the same condition as Charlotte (intrauterine growth restriction due to high blood pressure), but was earlier in pregnancy.  That is so scary and makes me want to hug my baby so hard.  Charlotte is asleep, though, so I’m not going to do it.  Never wake a sleeping baby.

Charlotte had her four month well-check last Friday.  She weighed in at 8 pounds 14 ounces and 21 inches.  She’s finally as long as Keith was at birth and weighs more than he did at birth.  She also got two shots and an oral vaccine.  The first shot didn’t even phase her, but the second shot made her scream like a banshee and led to a huge red welt for a few days.  The doctor says she’s doing fine and she is somewhere between a 2 month old and a four month old as far as behavior, which we expected.  Her new favorite thing is to chew on her fist and she grins at us nonstop.

Who doesn’t love a happy baby?

In other news, Charlotte has successfully been sleeping in the crib in her own room since July 4.  There is nothing better than having a baby that wolfs down her last bottle, falls asleep in the crib, and then sleeps until 6 AM (we are up by then anyways).  Sometimes we struggle a little with the falling asleep or she wakes up a little earlier, but I really can’t say that I have any complaints.  I would like to observe that my child is an exceptionally good sleeper and it has nothing to do with my parenting, awesome though it may be.  I have to admit that a small part of me thinks we can thank the NICU for her sleeping habits.  Coming home on a feeding schedule meant that we just started dropping a feeding at night, rather than having to convince her that night is when she should sleep the most.  The NICU also seems to have made her good at sleeping through noise (I can vacuum while the dogs howl at her feet and she sleeps through it).

I hope that didn’t sound like gloating.  I’m not gloating, I’m just incredibly thankful.

I think that hand must be candy flavored or something.

Yesterday we brought in a mother’s helper for 4 hours.  The neighbor kid is 9 and loves babies, so we had her come play with Charlotte while I scrubbed.  When Charlotte napped, the neighbor kid dusted, Windexed, swept, and did the dishes.  I wanted to keep her, but I’m pretty sure her parents would object.  Best $20 I’ve spent in a long time.

I do not understand what is happening in this picture.

I really do have posts with actual content in my drafts.  Not this weekend, though.  Grandma is coming and it’s my fifth anniversary tomorrow.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Leapster, NICU, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Friday update (finally)

  1. Aww, Charlotte is so sweet! Glad to hear she’s doing so well and sleeping through tornadoes.
    A girl at my work just had her baby 3 months early. The baby weighs 2 lbs. The girl smoked through the whole pregnancy, drank cans of Coke like they were going out of style, and ate all the crap she could get her hands on. So the premature birth was not a surprise to me. It made me so mad and I feel so bad for that baby. And I couldn’t help thinking of you when I saw her out smoking at work. So unfair that someone like her treats a baby like that when you were trying forever to get Charlotte in your life by doing all the right things.
    Anyway, off my soap box now.

  2. Terzah says:

    Happy 5th anniversary! I remember that one because I got diamond earrings and a fancy dinner out. I hope you have that kind of fun, too!

    Charlotte is adorable and I love the photo where she’s lounging on the dog–you know that’s a good dog.

  3. kat says:

    wow the mother’s helper idea sounds wonderful how do i get one?

  4. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Hiring a neighborhood kid is brilliant… we have a few that adore Lil, why did I never think of that? I’m so glad you were blessed with a good sleeper. Wish I could have said the same at that age! And congrats on finding part time work!

  5. Mandy says:

    I want a mother’s helper!!!! That’s awesome on Charlotte’s sleep habits, I am quite jealous. Congrats on the job!

  6. Sarah Brady says:

    Gloat away!!! A baby that sleeps through the night is worth gloating about!!!

  7. Kara says:

    I want child labor. So, so badly.

    I can’t believe I pushed out a kid the size of your 4th month old 🙂

    My kid is great sleeper too, either due to genetics or her rightful belief that I know when she’s just faking and I’m not coming into her room for fake crying at night.

  8. Happy Anniversary! A sleeping baby is definitely worth gloating about!

  9. michelle says:

    Happy Anniversary! So… the new job as a non-disclosure agreement AND you don\’t have to wear pants to work? Interesting….

    Little Charlotte is so adorable!

  10. Alyssa says:

    Happy anniversary and congrats on the job! That 4th picture is just way too cute. I don’t have kids so I took no offense to your gloating about how long she sleeps 🙂

Leave a Reply

