Tuesday Miscellany and an Argument

First of all, I cancelled my http://runningonwordsblog.com domain.  So for now, pretty please switch back to https://runningonwords.wordpress.com.  The Kate Sullivan is helping me figure out a massively improved (and independently hosted) blog if I ever manage to pull my head out of my butt and deal with it.  And by pull my head out of my butt, I mean start pulling down ye olde paycheck.  But stay tuned, because she designed a hilarious header for me.

Speaking of work, I am losing my mind waiting for an e-mail from them.  I recieved an e-mail saying said important e-mail would be delayed a day or two.  Ugh, do we really need an e-mail saying to stay tuned for another e-mail?  I had to drink coffee for my migraine, so I’m a little extra crawling out of my skin today.  Also, the weather sucks monkey butt, which means I can’t walk to the dogs (the baby has a slight melting in the rain issue).  We are all going a little berserk today.

I’m not entirely sure why Baby Hulk is punching me in the cleavage.  I blame cabin fever.

Tuesdays are currently occupational therapy day in our house.  Starting next week, Tuesdays become physical therapy day and OT has to get bumped Wednesdays, but only every other week.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but keeping up on Charlotte’s medical stuff is a full time job.  Our insurance company and the hospital are still jerking us around on bills and I have people at the house 1-3 days a week for various therapies.  I am so happy to have the resources for her, though.  We just found out that the county’s early intervention program will be paying for the high calorie milk fortifier we use and swimming lessons once she is 6 months old.  That’s in addition to her PT, OT, and early intervention.

I’m 90% certain you guys are just looking at the pictures. It’s ok, I know I’ve gotten boring.

So far Charlotte appears to be caught up to her chronological age (5 months on Sunday) cognitively.  Physically, on the other hand, she’s caught up to her adjusted age (2.5 months), but the disconnect means that she is starting to get frustrated.  For example, she keeps trying to hold the bottle, but she’s too uncoordinated to do anything but knock it out of her mouth/our hands.  She’s also still really tiny, so it’s questionable if she’s strong enough to do a lot of things.

Dear baby, I love you, but knocking my hand and/or the bottle away is not actually helpful. Just a thought.

Mentally, though, she’s with it and it’s fun.  She interacts with us and all three therapists (OT, PT, and early intervention) swears she’s trying to talk.  It mostly comes out wounding like WALL-E.  Unfortunately, we haven’t been watching our language and my husband is trying to teach her to say “damn you, sharktopus,” so we may be in trouble because we all know she’ll only retain the first word in that sentence.  And say it to his mother or something (my parents can’t get upset since my first words were “f#ck you”).  I hereby promise to try to stop telling people to “suck my lady balls” in front of the baby.

Mommy talks like a sailor when she drives.

Finally, Kara’s latest post reminded me of our constant housegold debate: who would win in a fight between a wolverine and a polar bear?  I say wolverine, because it’d have the polar bear down at the kneecaps before the bear noticed, but both Kara and my husband say polar bear.  Opinions?  If we were to do winner takes on pissed off baboon in heat, who wins?

I’m not kidding, that is a regular argument in this house.  And I’m still begging for a pet llama, but my husband says our yard is too small.  My poor child is going to hate us because we think we are hilarious.

At least she still thinks we are funny for now. I bet she won’t in another 10-13 years.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Marriage, Parenting, Preemie. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tuesday Miscellany and an Argument

  1. Emily says:

    She really couldn’t be any cuter. But you knew that.

    One reason i want to be married is to have simeone to have pointless, yet very serious, arguments with. Pippi normally just agrees with me. And I think that’s because I feed her.

  2. michelle says:

    You made a sharktopus reference? I love you. Have you seen piranhaconda? Classic flick.
    The last two pics of Charlotte are too cute!

  3. Charlotte = equals 5 months old = Isaac 5 months old a week later. Thank you for reminding me.
    😦 Our kids our growing up so fast! I actually had to look at the calendar because I didn’t believe you at first.

    I love the photo of her snuggling with her bunny. How cute!

  4. Terzah says:

    Yes, you definitely have to watch your car rage around kids. My sister took my kids to an indoor “fun park” (you know, the kind that’s not fun at all if you’re over 10?) and my son, age 2.5 at the time, got on one of the coin-operated cars and the first thing out of his mouth was, “Outta the way, you jerk.”

    I’m so glad she’s all caught up on the cognitive front. The physical stuff will follow!

  5. Kara says:

    One of my readers suggested that by wolverine you mean Wolverine and in that case, he’d totally win.

  6. lcbilovesky says:

    Lady balls? HA HA HA!

  7. Army Amy says:

    Charlotte is one busy lady! It’s good to hear how much she is progressing. I get the impression she is going to keep you on your toes for years to come!*

  8. You always make me laugh, Sarah! Your sweet girl is getting so big!! It was great to see her last week at Quaker Steak & Lube.

  9. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    She’s making awesome progress! What a pain that you have to deal with all the medical and insurance end of things.
    You guys are pretty funny. The good thing is, kids think we’re pretty cool for those first 7 years or so… so you have time. 🙂

  10. Alyssa says:

    You’re not boring, but I have to admit the pictures are a highlight. I’m really impressed with her progress, although I can’t imagine the frustration of her cognitive and physical development not being the same. Hopefully she will catch up in time?

  11. She is SO adorable, and I am glad to hear all is well. Can’t wait to see your new blog design too!

Leave a Reply

