Where I’ve Been

Yesterday morning felt like fall.  I love fall.  I love wearing jeans and sweaters and consuming everything pumpkin flavored.  I love the way the air feels and smells.  Also, I have some hella cute baby clothes that are too warm right now, but will fit her as soon as it isn’t.

But really, I love fall even without the baby clothes.

I know we’ve probably still got a few weeks, but we’ve really been enjoying cooler temperatures.  Two Saturdays ago we went to the zoo (it’s only 15-20 minutes away and we are members) after Charlotte was done at Avery’s 1st birthday.  Charlotte is apparently really popular because this is the second birthday party she’s been invited to.  The nice thing about this age is I get to come along and eat the cake.

We got Avery a toy tow truck. I love that her parents encourage her love of “boy” toys.

I think someone forgot to tell her what smash means. She was so cute with her delicate frosting swipes.

I’m including some animal pictures, mostly for Terzah’s twins.

This rhino was REALLY far away (the telephoto is completely zoomed out) and some little kid kept asking me if the camera could really see that far. I think he thought I was lying.

Charlotte in her first pair of jeans. I melt.

So, one of my favorite animals at the zoo is the wolverine (even if they are my sworn enemy).  Normally you can’t get a good picture because only one is out a skulking around furiously like it can’t wait to tear out your eyeballs.  I guess the rain settled them down, because I caught one acting like Delilah.

I still want to tear out your eyeballs and eat them.

Right after I finish this nap.

I smell terrible.

We went back to the zoo this past Friday to see the tiger cubs.

Waiting in line to see the tiger cubs.

Bored now.

They are behind glass in a little display for 3 hours a day. They had to be taken away from their mother due to a power outage right after they were born.

Last animal, I swear. Have you ever seen an okapi? They are incredible rare since they are solitary animals that only come out to mate.

We also went in to the new stingray touchpool, but I didn’t take pictures because I was too busy petting and feeding the stingrays.  A couple of them played with us and splashed at people.  My husband think they are aquatic cats.  Feeding them was weird because their mouths are like suction cups.

Yesterday we took Charlotte swimming for the first time.  The YMCA gives membership price breaks to poor people, so we managed to squeeze it in to the budget.  Our local Y is new and gorgeous.  The leisure pool has a giant slide and tons of fountains and jets for kids to play in.  The kid loves water, so it went well.  She was hypnotized by the fountains and the other kids.

Whaddaya mean there aren’t any pictures because you were afraid the camera would get ruined?

Meanwhile, Charlotte is almost 6 months old and I haven’t shared her pictures from 5 months.  Working 4 hours a day and taking care of a baby full-time is really hard.

Still a happy baby.

We’ve gotten to the point where the kid can abuse the frog.

Anyways, that’s what we’ve been up to.  That and a whole lot of working.  Charlotte gets more fun everyday, so we also play a lot.  I’m going to try to blog more, but no promises.

(Pictures are all mine.  Please don’t use without permission.)

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Columbus, Family, Friends, Leapster, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Where I’ve Been

  1. Terzah says:

    I’m at work but will definitely share the animal photos with Will and Ruth–they will love them, especially the tigers–their little feet are so sweet. They started kindergarten on Thursday and found out their first field trip will be “on a real school bus” to the Denver Zoo!!!

    Charlotte is looking fantastic and I’m glad you guys are having so much fun. My mom calls six months the Golden Age of Babydom. She can abuse the frog now–it won’t be long before everything will be subject to that kind of abuse (watch out, toilet paper rolls!).

    P.S. I love fall too! I hope we have a nice prolonged fall this year.

  2. Kara says:

    You fed string rays with your hands? Do you like flirting with DEATH???

    Charlotte is looking like such a little person now, not just a little wrinkly baby 🙂

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a wolverine that wasn’t of the Hugh Jackman variety. They have really cute feet! And C is looking adorable and getting so big. Too bad you put that disclaimer on your pictures. I was going to take one of C, post it on my blog, and claim her as my own.

  4. April says:

    Abby and I love all the pictures! Charlotte is cuter and cuter every post. 🙂

    We have some awesome outfits for cooler weather too. I thought everybody got excited about that!

  5. Charlotte is getting so big! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the great pics! I need to get back to the zoo soon – it has been too long!

  6. “I love fall. I love wearing jeans and sweaters and consuming everything pumpkin flavored.” Ditto! I can’t believe how big she is getting! Great pics!

  7. emily says:

    I’m going to use your pictures without permission! WATCH OUT!

    Holy adorable baby, batman. They get even more fun. You’ll see. My friend’s baby is 10.5 months old now and she’s like an actual human being!

  8. Those jeans are adorable! I always loved those little “mini adult” outfits too- so cute. Yay for buying Avery a tow truck. We’ve tried to encourage gender neutral toys but haven’t bought much ourselves, so of course what we’ve been given is mostly girly. Too bad Charlotte wasn’t around for L’s first or second bday party. 🙂

  9. Mandy says:

    I read this and commented – apparently in my head – because I don’t see the awesomely witty comment I wrote and no longer remember. HA.

Leave a Reply

