Run 4 the Health of It 4 Miler 2012 Race Report

Date: September 3, 2012
Location: Westerville, OH
Distance: 4 miles
Time: 47:04 (PR)
Gimmick: Really cheap ($5 with the discount code), tons of giveaways, and a huge raffle.

Getting out of the house that morning was a freaking nightmare!  We took the baby and my mom with us to watch her.  My husband was planning to walk the race while I ran it.  The weather was in the 70s, but heading towards the 80s and humid as all get out.  I also didn’t get my pre-race latte because we forgot our bibs and had to turn around.

I didn’t feel super great lining up, but I figured it was partially nerves since this was my first race in 13 months.  I was going to stay with a friend who was planning to do a 12 min/mile pace, but she went out really fast and I decided to drop back.  I made that choice a little late, though and ended up with some wicked cramping.

The race was kind of an out and back (there were loops in the middle), with the water around 2.25 miles.  I could see the water, but we had to loop around and I was not happy, especially since I had a migraine start at mile 2. I need a better hydration solution for races.  Belts give me horrible cramps and I don’t want to carry a Camelbak for a 4 miler.  Maybe a handheld?  Anyways, one of my few complaints is that the water cups didn’t have much in them and there was no trash can past the hydration stop, so you had to throw your cup on the ground unless you stopped at the table and drank it.

Oh, did I mention the lead runner passed me on his way back a little after mile 1?  He was way far ahead of all the other runners.  I also watched a clown wipe out on a unicycle around then.  I hate clowns and may have laughed rather loud.

Anyways, at least a mile as through some woods, which sucked for me since I could very clearly see lots of weeds that I am horribly allergic to.  I showered as soon as I got home.  It was a very muggy part of the course, but once we got back out in to open air there was a nice breeze.

I didn’t love the course, but the finish line was amazing.  There were a million sponsors giving away a ton of stuff.  I won a stuffed bear for the baby and my husband won a book for her (the book has a Goliath birdeater in it, so he’s ecstatic).  I got a piece of Jet’s pizza and a DQ dilly bar to go with my bottle of water.  I did feel bad for my husband that most of the vendors were out of food by the time he finished.  I guess the spectators were eating a lot of it during the race. I also got some full size beverages that I brought home to drink this week (some kind of flavored water and an iced green tea).

Overall, I will say that I definitely plan to do this race again next year.  It’s so cheap and the finish line is so awesome.  I’d like to actually get to stay for the raffle next time (you have to be present to win, but my little gremlin had a meltdown).  The things that really made this a tough race for me were mostly bad luck or my fault (the weather, a bad allergy season, poor hydration planning, and a bum leg).  I’m super stoked with my PR (all my other 4 mile races have being AWFUL), but it might be hard to beat since the course was definitely short.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Run 4 the Health of It 4 Miler 2012 Race Report

  1. Holly says:

    Nice job on your first post-baby race Sarah! On hydration, it helps me to drink a ton of water the day/night before. Then as soon as I get up I guzzle more water. That usually gets me through a race without a water bottle. For longer races I always use the h20 stops though.

  2. April says:

    Sounds fun, and yay for a PR! Wait, I meant where’s the pictures, lol!

  3. Terzah says:

    Great job getting a PR, Sarah–think how it could have been if you’d had your latte! It sounds like a great race (from a schwag point of view, too). LOL at the clown part–clowns freak me out too, but I almost feel sorry for this one.

  4. Army Amy says:

    A cheap race and lots of goodies! That’s my kind of race, fo sho! Congrats on the PR! I’ve yet to do any 4 mile races. I think that’s a great distance, though. Just far enough to make you feel like you earned it. Well done!*

  5. Abby says:

    A PR on your first race back? Not too shabby! Glad to hear you’re back in action – with a whole family of supporters along for the ride 🙂

  6. Congrats on your PR!! I use a handheld for water/gatorade and while I don’t like to carry things, it is better than a belt.

  7. Laura says:

    Cheap, local runs are the best. Awesome job on a new pr!!! Congrats!

  8. Mandy says:

    Sounds like a great race – especially for the price! Great job on the PR in less-than-ideal conditions!

  9. Congrats on the PR! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a 4 mile race around my town before. Also, I totally forgot dilly bars existed. I used to love those.

  10. I liked this race too, even tho I sucked air all the way. I have a small handheld from TJMaxx that I like for shorter races that doesn’t bother me much. It’s only 8 oz, but enough to get me through 5 milers. So glad to run with you again. Sorry to have taken off, Trick Daddy obviously makes me think I’m fast

  11. Kara says:

    Congrats on the PR! That’s awesome for your first race back.

    I really like racing with my Nathan quickdraw handheld, I recommend that! 🙂

  12. Alyssa says:

    Woo hoo on the PR! That’s fantastic! I love my handheld. Trying to fight people for those damn little cups wastes so much energy.

  13. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

