My brush with fame, or why I’m not allowed out in public unsupervised

I am a tremendous dork.

Case in point: my obsession with Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Ok, maybe not that obsessed, but I do own a Buffy mug and there was a phase in college and high school that involved red pleather pants.  And no, I cannot find pictures, but maybe my mom can help us out.

I have seen the entire series at least three times through (and Angel almost twice through) and I can name the entire cast and an inappropriate number of the guest stars.  For some reason (I’m gonna say it was the whole “high school is hell” thing) that show just really resonated with me as a teenager and I still love it.

Anyways, I was at church for Charlotte’s baptism on Sunday (more on that once the rest of the grandparents send me pictures) and we excused ourselves to the cry room for the sermon (my kid loves to make her presence known).  There is a lovely older gentleman who watches the service in the cry room because he can’t sit on the pews and he likes the baby a lot.  He always tells me about his grandkids in LA and is always asking about the baby.  He’s a really lovely man and I enjoy having someone to hang out with

Anyways, we start talking and he mentions that his daughter is an actress.  I asked him if she’d done anything I’d ever heard of.  I figured at best she’d be like my friend from college who has made quite a living as an extra (she was at Jim and Pam’s wedding on The Office) and has done four episodes of a Showtime show I’ve never actually seen.

Yeah, nope.  He said she was on an entire season of Buffy (my husband says I can’t tell you who it is out of respect for her and her family’s privacy.  And I really like her dad, so I’m gonna respect that).  I immediately suspected his daughter had played redacted.  Because I have that show memorized.

Not her. Thank G-d, cause she is the worst Buffy character of all time.

And then he mentioned she had also done a teen movie that I am ashamed to admit I’ve seen many times.

I promptly blurt out “wait, your daughter is redacted!?  She’s gorgeous!”

I think I might have come off as a stalker.  Just a little.

Ok, fine, a lot.  Also, maybe a little bit of a lesbian?

Playing it cool has never been my strong suit.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Laugh Break. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My brush with fame, or why I’m not allowed out in public unsupervised

  1. Terzah says:

    Can you believe I’ve never seen that show? That’s two people who I respect who love it, so I think it’s time for us to watch it. Good timing with winter coming. I’ll put it in the Netflix queue.

    My brush with fame was interviewing Martha Stewart back in 2000. She was…..well, let’s just say, she has “high self esteem.”

  2. runnermoose says:

    I share your love of all thing Buffy and Angel (OK, all things Joss Whedon, to be more precise), so that is really awesome!!

    Out of curiosity, are we talking season 5? 🙂

    I’m definitely a fan-girl dork,and have had the privilege of meeting a number people I admire (especially in the music world), but they’re not really household names…

  3. Laura says:

    I’ve actually never seen it either, but that is an awesome claim to fame. Don’t think I could top that. 🙂

  4. Kari @ Running Ricig says:

    This post is a horrible tease. I love Buffy and Angel so much! Also, you are right, Dawn was the worst.

  5. emily says:

    That Michelle person is the worst character on all the shows she’s in! Why do people keep casting her??

    I’ve never seen Buffy. Please don’t unfriend me.

  6. Army Amy says:

    Oh, I love a little mystery! My Buffy experience is tiny, so the one guess I have might be way off base. Did the teen movie involve cheerleading?

    Isn’t there something so fun about meeting someone who knows someone famous? Or meeting a legit mini-celeb? I went to school for years with a girl who was on Barney. She also auditioned for the Lindsay Lohan role in the Parent Trap and (according to her) almost got it. I feel so famous just having sat in her presence for all of Algebra 1.*

  7. April says:

    That’s so cool! I love happy coincidences like that.

Leave a Reply

