Suck it up, Buttercup.

While those of you upright US citizens are watching the debate tonight, I’ll be sleeping.

SNL can fill me in on the debate.

Yup, we are still sickly.  I’m feeling better, although I almost called a woman at the grocery store an unspeakably inappropriate name that I learned from “The Slammin Salmon” (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, go watch it.  It’s Michael Clarke Duncan, Robin from HIMYM, and Broken Lizard for Pete’s sake!).  It’s a fantastic insult, but my parents read this blog.

You were gonna say what!?

I’m going to assume my inability to tolerate other humans is coming from a lack of exercise and not getting enough sleep.  Yes, I get a full night’s sleep, but pre-baby I would have crawled in to bed and slept for two days and then emerged slightly really stinky, but feeling much better.  Instead I’ve been trying to entertain a listless tiny human and keep my house from falling apart.  Turns out parenting is occasionally work.  Who knew.

Thank G-d that she loves abusing the dogs.  It’s keeping her sane while she’s sick and teething.

Charlotte apparently had a stomachache this evening.  She was shrieking, ate a few bites, and then shrieked some more.  I blinked and suddenly realized I was covered in vomit (this was definitely not just spit up).  She kept screaming while I stripped us both down and threw her in the bath.  The screaming continued for another hour until I finally gave up and put her to bed early.  She might wake up early tomorrow, but that’s technically not my problem, so yay!

I’m still sitting in my underwear waiting for my husband to get home from work with Burger King.  Somedays you just have to say “eff it”.  And eat a Whopper with cheese (anyone who is going to pretend they don’t like fast food can bite me.  We all know it’s delicious).  And then I will sleep.

Better make that sleep with one eye open. I’m scared of when she’s old enough to actually do more than eat my debit card after she steals it.

I realize my baby tonight was still easier than most babies, but when a really easy baby acts like…well, like a normal baby, it is a bit of a shock.  I’m fine, just not in the mood to deal with anything else today.  Or anyone else.

Ok, these two can have a pass, but only because they are adorable.

Oh man do I need to go workout.  I am debating trying to run again tomorrow seeing as I have a 10K in three weeks, but I’m not sure if my plantar faciitis is healed.  It was achy this morning, but not outrageously so.  My pattern has been to run 2 miles, be in agony for 2-3 days, and then feel fine until I run again.  So I’m thinking maybe I should take the week off?  Anyone?  I’d call a doctor, but he’d prescribe PT, which I have neither the time nor money for.  And I can’t lift on Tuesdays (or Thursdays) because Charlotte has PT (or OT).  So I guess I will be an utterly charming individual to be around for a few more days.  My husband is such a lucky man.

Anyways, that was pointless.  You should just be glad you didn’t get more pictures of goats.  Because I totally have more that I haven’t posted (yet).

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Marriage, Medical, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Suck it up, Buttercup.

  1. Nita Sweeney says:

    Sorry all are sickly. Hope that gets better soon. For PF, I roll my foot around on a golf ball and massage the areas that hurt that way. I also ice it. Good luck!

  2. Army Amy says:

    Still sick? Oh, no! And being sick sans baby sounds a lot more fun than being sick with a baby. The joys of motherhood, I guess. I’m sending healing vibes to your entire household!*

  3. Kara says:

    Lingering sickness is the worst! That vomit sure sounded fun though. At least it wasn’t 2am vomit, that’s a whole special level of awesome.

    I hope you feel all better soon and are able to go run some pain free miles!

  4. Terzah says:

    Real vomit…yeah, there’s nothing like that experience. It sucks both having it on you AND seeing your poor kid suffer. It’s almost like your little baby is saying, “And you brought me here….why?” I hope you all feel better soon and are back in goat-picture-posting form.

  5. Alyssa says:

    It seems we are of a similar political mindset, but WTF is this junk about parenting being work? 🙂

    Hope you all feel better soon and fingers crossed for pain free running! She may have vomited all over you but damn that girl is cute.

Leave a Reply

