The official diagnosis

I finally sucked it up and went to the doctor.  I tried to stand up yesterday and it felt like my back was tearing apart.  I could barely walk for a few hours, so I called my doctor for an appointment.  Within an hour of scheduling my emergent appointment for this morning it felt better.  And I woke up fine.

I tried to figure out a way to cancel because I hate leaving the house and knew it would screw up nap time, but I couldn’t come up with a good excuse.  Whatever, I had him look at my feet instead.  Definitely plantar fasciitis on the right foot. He said the PF would actually explain the back spasm and lingering hip pain.  The cure is “listening to my body” (I suck at that), a night splint, stretching, and getting running shoes fit again, but this time by a specific person.  Oh, and PT and orthotics if it isn’t better soon.  He agreed to hold off on those for now because my insurance sucks.  Also, I have to work on my core because my abs moved to Bermuda during my c-section.  I will probably be stretching for an hour a day at this point.

WTF? I would fall to my death if I tried to do this.

My sports doc is also my family care, so I also got to be a human pincushion, which I knew was coming.  I had to take Charlotte with me, so I got to get blood drawn and my flu shot while holding the baby.  I also ate the most delicious Chinese food of all time while she tried to slap sesame sauce everywhere.  Anyways, the last time I got blood drawn (6 weeks post-partum), my veins felt like fire.  Luckily that has passed, but it still hurt more than it used to.  Apparently getting blood drawn twice daily for almost a month will cause some problems.

She takes great pleasure in making a mess. That apparently extends to my veins.

I have no idea if I’ll actually be running the 10K in 3 weeks.  I figure it’s a 50-50 chance that I can manage it.  I want the finisher’s medal, but walking it kind of feels like cheating.

Sac up, woman.

No really, the baby is clearly telling me to get over it.  She punched me in the flu shot injection site.  Twice.

The kid has really mastered maniacal laughter.  And slapping me in the face.

She’s lucky she’s cute.  I had three people come up to me today to tell me that she is the most beautiful baby.  I expect the modeling offers to start rolling in any time now.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Medical, Parenting, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The official diagnosis

  1. michelle says:

    Oh man, plantar fasciitis sucks. I hope you’re feeling better soon! The kiddo is gorgeous and that smile kills me. 🙂

  2. Terzah says:

    Walking isn’t cheating if it will save your foot for later races. And PT isn’t bad when it works. I recommend Pilates for the abs (but get someone who understands the havoc a C-section can wreck!).

    I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  3. Mandy says:

    I have nothing more brilliant to say than what Terzah did. So, um, yeah, what she said.

  4. Army Amy says:

    I hate it when I make a doctor’s appointment and then I feel better. It’s good that you went. Sounds like you got some good info. Although, I agree that “listen to your body” is tough medicine to take.*

  5. Kara says:

    If walking portions of a race is cheating, I’m in big trouble.

    Getting off the couch and walking a race distance isn’t easy and you’d earn that medal. I say at least walk it, unless that bothers your PF too much.

  6. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Argh, what a bummer about the pf! I’ve dealt with my share of injuries, but never had that one… crossing my fingers for you.
    She is the cutest!!

  7. I’m with you on that core nonsense. 2 injuries this year due to overall bad core since “it’s all connected”. I will never learn.

Leave a Reply

