The Buckeye Classic 10K 2012 Race Report

Date: November 11, 2012
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Distance: 6.2 miles
Time: 1:36:16
Gimmick: Very hilly trail run for Ohio State Buckeye fans.  A lot of the runners wear OSU gear and colors.

This race really should have been a DNS.  I woke up two days before feeling like absolute death.  Fever, chills, body aches, sorest throat since my throat surgery in 2008, stuffy nose, etc.  The day before I still felt pretty awful (and it’s hard to rest with an infant).  I woke up this morning, took my cold medicine and used my Neti Pot twice.  Definitely a sinus infection.  I figured I was still standing, so I was going to power through and run/walk it.

I may have screamed “Leroy Jenkins” a few times while telling Mollie that we were, in fact, doing this.  I had signed up to do this with her and Mandy and I was gonna do it.  It was paid for and there was a finisher’s medal.  And I’m a little crazy.

She’s way too happy.

Anyways, Mollie and I had been run/walking (based on my plantar fasciitis) parts of the course for the last few Saturdays, so I knew it was pretty tough.  Ohio is a VERY flat state and my neighborhood has almost no hills, so I knew I’d probably have to walk most of the uphills (can someone confirm that this is very common in trail races?  I’ve been getting that impression from a lot of blogs).  I also had a migraine, so I took my medicine, which includes a barbiturate.

My favorite race spectator.

We ran a little over the entire first mile, but then we hit some hills and I had to walk.  There are stairs somewhere around mile 2, I think.  I am not allowed to run stairs after the last accident.  Mollie was really good about making me run and then letting me tell her when I needed walk breaks.  I never let her take walk breaks, so that was rather generous of her.  It did help a ton to see my mom, husband, and baby at mile 5.  We were going to run the last mile, but the tank was feeling rather empty, so we walked a little of it and then sprinted the last 0.2.  I may have also called Mollie and Mandy (who ran back to meet us) a variety of colorful names that my mom would prefer not to read on my blog.  Or hear me say.  Ever.

You would blush if you heard what I was saying at this particular moment.

I tried to smile. Really, I did.  And Mollie, wtf are you doing with your hand here?

One nice thing about being towards the end of the pack is there are a ton of people cheering for you.  We got our medals and I grabbed some chocolate milk.  Charlotte was being quite adorable so she met some people and we took some pictures.  I was also promised birthday brunch, which I was quite excited about since my appetite had been so bad the previous two days (fact: pumpkin stuffed French toast is amazing).

This kid loves the camera.

Overall, I would definitely like to do this race again.  The course is gorgeous, although I won’t expect it to be in the 60s next year) and it turns out that Mollie and I really dig trail running.  We are thinking about signing up for a 10K and 20K trail series this winter.  I will carry my own water next time, though because I was incredibly thirsty (probably from the pseudoephedrine in my cold medicine) and I’m assuming the water stops are further apart on trail races because there aren’t a ton of places to put them.  I also think the excellent company for the race really helped me get through it.  I had a great time hanging out with Mollie (and Mandy at the end), which made me feel less miserable.  Now if you will excuse me, I have another date with my Neti Pot and a bottle of Nyquil.

The kid is really shameless about stealing anything I own that is shiny.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Buckeye Classic 10K 2012 Race Report

  1. Terzah says:

    Congrats on a tough race (and doing it with a sinus infection)! Your smile looks pretty genuine to me in those pictures. And yes all of your medals will now become the property of your child. Same for your water bottles eventually…. :^)

  2. Congrats to you, Sarah! Kudos to you for running this while sick! I wish I could have been there – my stomach had other ideas. 😦 Love the pictures and Charlotte is such a cutie!

  3. Mandy says:

    You kicked butt all things considered! I was worried about you and your stubborn attitude of running it no matter what on Friday. Loved seeing you and sharing pumpkin stuffed french toast with you too! Although I can’t do that trail series with y’all, I’m definitely interested in doing some others down the road!

  4. Holly says:

    Love how you are getting out there and running!!

  5. Nice job today! That is a tough race and we had the BEST weather today! We got lucky! Last year when I did it, I kept wondering how people went into the deep dark woods without a water bottle or two. I got extraordinarily thirsty in the back part of it. You know, where the dumbass said there’s water at 4.4 and we were at 3.x?? Glad I got to visit with you! Happy birthday week!

  6. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Wow, you have some mental toughness powering through when you felt like that! Congrats on your race! I’ve never done a trail run, but I’ve gotten that impression too, that there are some hills that all runners walk up. How did you PF feel?

  7. Congrats on the race!! You ladies look so happy in all the pictures, I love it!

  8. michelle says:

    There’s a think called pumpkin stuffed french toast? I need to find this, STAT. You guys look so happy in the pics! Great job and congrats!

  9. Kara says:

    Great job on the race! In general, I walk any hills I can’t see the top of when on trails, unless it’s like a 5K or something. Then I go balls to the wall until I feel like I might vomit or pass out. That’s how I have fun.

  10. Looks like a really fun race! Can’t believe you did it with a sinus infection, headache and taking care of a little one! I’m impressed!!!

  11. Oats n' Bows says:

    Wow awesome job on your race!! I can barely get out of bed with a sinus infection never mind run a race 😛

  12. Army Amy says:

    The cheer leading outfit! So precious!*

  13. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

  14. Pingback: Rocks and Roots Trail Run Series Race 1 Race Report | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

