A birthday ode to Nyquil

The most important lesson I learned on this, the first day of my 28th year of life, is that my neighborhood grocery store sells The Oatmeal birthday cards.

No wonder cats suck.

I think I’ll be sending birthday cards a lot more consistently now.

Notice the cat did not sign the card. He’s too busy crying that he can’t appreciate cake.

I’m actually really impressed and shocked that my husband had already bought my card this weekend.  He managed to surprise me a second time when he gave me “Megamind” on Blu-Ray to watch with the kid.  Unfortunately for her, she’s not allowed to watch it until she’s two.  Won’t stop me from watching it during naptime!

I’m going to sit here and eat this giraffe until I decide what your punishment is.

That’s about as exciting as today gets because I am still miserable with this sinus infection.  It is somehow getting worse every day, so I think I may have to give in and call my family care doctor for antibiotics.  It’s bad enough that using a Neti pot causes excruciating burning sensations.  The good news is that this is the first time in TWO AND A HALF YEARS that I can use medication.  I am not trying to get pregnant, actually pregnant, or nursing.  Pseudoephedrine is a magical drug and I want to marry my bottle of Nyquil.

Seriously, I’m about to eat some birthday cake and wash it down with Nyquil.  That stuff is amazing.

I blame you flu kitteh. I am patient zero, but I’m a SAHM, so that makes no sense.  How do I get sick when I never leave the house!?

Have I mentioned how much I missed cold medicine?  It was so hard to not take it for so long when I knew it would make me feel so much better (it was, however, totally worth it and I have no regrets).  I’ve also reunited with my trusty friend naproxen (Aleve) and my plantar fasciitis is much improved as well.

That’s right baby, that is how cake makes mommy feel. I picked it out myself, so I know it’s exactly what I want.

Anyways, I’m going to go eat my cake and read a book.  That is genuinely all I wanted to do for my birthday, so I win!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A birthday ode to Nyquil

  1. April says:

    Happy Birthday!!! I hope you feel better soon.

  2. FEEL BETTER!!

    And, happy Birthday!!!!!!! I hope it’s a year filled with lots of love , health, and laughter!

  3. TriGirl says:

    Have a medication-filled very happy birthday! (Being sick on your birthday sucks, but NyQuil does make for a pretty good gift!)

  4. Terzah says:

    Aw, man, happy birthday! I guess Nyquil probably has the same alcohol content as other birthday libations, right? (I hope the stupid sinus infection gives you a nice gift and goes away soon.)

  5. emily says:

    That is an epic birthday card! And yes, cats suck. A lot.

  6. Mandy says:

    Our card is actually even funnier. 😛
    But, then, it’s also still on my kitchen table. I suck.
    I hope antibiotics help!!! Feel better soon!

  7. Kara says:

    Your kid sure loves the camera. 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon!

  8. Kat says:

    Happy birthday! She is TOOOO cute. Feel beeeettter

  9. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

