Let us never discuss this again

Sometimes one must just admit that antibiotics are a necessity.

Yup, it’s about like that. Plus the drowning feeling.

I folded like a house of cards when I realized I’d lost 6 pounds in 5 days and I just wasn’t getting better.  Normally for a sinus infection I’d wait at least a week, but my doctor doesn’t work Fridays (nice life, right?) and he’s out all next week.  Charlotte, of course, was overtired and decided my doctor (who is really quite nice) was public enemy number 1 and shrieked every time he looked at her.  Nice kid.  Really.  Let’s all scream at hot doctor.  This is why we don’t feed you after midnight.

I start screaming the exact second you hit the shutter button.

Anyways, now I get to spend the next month or two obsessively worrying about getting antibiotic-induced colitis.  Which sounds insane and like 50 shades of hypochondria, but I’ve been treated for it 3 times and hospitalized once along with an outpatient colonoscopy and an outpatient endoscopy both of which I woke up during and REMEMBER.

Such an angry little bacteria. I actually have a decent size collection of Giant Stuffed Microbes. It’s always fun to tell people my husband got me herpes for Christmas one year.

My ability to resist anesthesia is amazing.  The stuff that killed Michael Jackson doesn’t even make me sleepy.

ANYWAYS, moving on.  I spent an hour in my car catching up with a friend because I knew Charlotte would wake up way too soon if I took her home after dropping off my prescription and she hates the carseat, so I figured it was better to get my prescription and then go home.  It was nice to catch up with her, but I felt ridiculous.  I could have gone home and sat in my garage, but that would have upset the dogs.  I cannot believe how I let a bunch of whiners who weigh under 35 pounds make me sit in the car for an hour.

Hey kid, make sure you refuse to eat your food and throw it all over your mom. I’ll clean it up, promise.

So then I got home and decided I must be feeling better and I didn’t really need those antibiotics.  Never mind that it cost me $100 between the doctor’s visit and actual drugs.  Can we all agree that I’m an idiot?  If I had started them Thursday night, I’d already be halfway to feeling better.  I’ve taken three so far, so now we can all move on to something more interesting.  Like how badly I need to start 20K training.

 

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Leapster, Medical, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let us never discuss this again

  1. Ugh! Its funny that she doesn’t like Dr. Bright. That’s just funny. Maybe one day she’ll get over it! Feel better soon!

  2. Terzah says:

    I’ve done the sit-in-the-car-to-evade-kid-problem phone call too. I really hope the sinus thing is behind you. Ugh.

  3. Kara says:

    I love that your husband gave you herpes.

  4. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon, and it doesn’t turn into anything. Isn’t it amazing what a baby can cause us to do? I keep telling myself I’ll handle things differently with a second child but I’m not sure I would… in some ways, it makes our lives easier by bending over backwards for their schedule!

  5. Mandy says:

    Take your medicine woman or I will drive out there and beat you with herpes. 😀

Leave a Reply

