Breaking up with my warm bed

I have lost all motivation to get out of bed and run.

My mother is a total puss.

I thought signing up for a 20K in February would be the perfect solution.  I’d have no choice but to train since that is over 12 freaking miles long.  False, I’m still full of bs excuses and now I’m worried that I’m not training enough at all.  Awesome.

I want to look as enthusiastic to be running as my favorite training partner. She’s currently kicking my ass because she actually runs during the week.

The good news?  I’ve definitely been cross training.  I started The New Rules of Lifting for Women about a month ago and it’s been a great workout.  It’s shorter than what I was doing, so I’ve also started using a stationary bike for 20 minutes when I’m done (that’s the longest I can go without risking an epic baby meltdown).  I do that every Monday and Wednesday (or Wednesday and Friday).  I meant to lift three times a week, but something always comes up on Monday or Friday (doctor’s appointments, sick baby, sick me, etc).

I can’t believe you are trying to blame this on me.

When it comes to running though, I am full of excuses.  For example:

1.  It’s too cold.  I’d warm up once I started.  Also, I own a metric crap ton of warm running stuff.
2.  I’m too tired.  I’m always tired.  It’s called “my thyroid has left the building and I have an infant.” Running will at least give me some adrenaline to function on the rest of the day.
3.  I don’t have time.  That is occasionally legit, but running 15 minutes late to start work (from the comfort of my own computer) won’t really matter in the course of my day.
4.  I don’t have English muffins thawed.  Seriously?  Eat a bowl of oatmeal and STFU.  Whiner.
5. I have this creaky feeling in my *insert body part*. I’m in my late 20s and overweight.  And had a baby.  Of course everything hurts. Now stop being a little bitch.

You should try side planks, mommy.

With that, I will be following the Hal Higdon Novice 1 half schedule.  I am going to take the option of cross training on Wednesdays (or do that run on Sundays) due to time/schedule concerns.  And I’m not dragging my butt out of bed to run at 5 AM in the pitch black more than twice a week.  Until my thyroid levels are normal, that’s just all I can manage.

I’m hoping I’ll get the go ahead to use the jogging stroller for actual jogging next week.  I’m sort of nervous about it, but I love the idea of running when the sun is actually up.

So, I’m going to bed.  I have to be up by 5 and the kid is asleep.  No more screwing around, I will get up and run 3 miles in the morning.  LEROY JENKINS!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Breaking up with my warm bed

  1. Terzah says:

    You know, there’s a lot to be said for cross-training. You are not doing nothing. In fact, you’re doing far more than I was at that stage of infancy. You are too hard on yourself. Just sayin’….

    I also think your plan is a good one. You will nail it. You sound resolved yet realistic. That’s most of the battle.

  2. Army Amy says:

    I love your Leroy Jenkins battle cry at the end! Haha! Get it, Girl! Morning runs are a bitch, but it’s nice when they are done and you can feel proud all day long.*

  3. Michael says:

    Sounds like you have at least put together a plan now. You’ll get there. Unfortunately life gets in the way for all of us…way too much sometimes.

  4. joyweesemoll says:

    So? Did the run happen? Inquiring minds want to know….

    I love how posting on my blog makes it so much easier for me to do the things I say I want to do.

    That sounds like a great training plan!

  5. Jenn says:

    More info on 20K? I’m not running much either. My weekly peak is 8 miles. awesome.

  6. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Cross training counts! But I hear you… I hate the cold, that’s always been a battle for me, so living in a warm climate right now is making it easier to get out in the morning. Get a couple longish runs in and you’ll be fine for the 20k- just enjoy it and don’t worry about pacing or prs, etc.

  7. Addison Cooper says:

    Hi! I found you through R. Stavius’ inspiration post. How I resonate with the excuses that we make to avoid exercising. I laughed at the frozen English muffin excuse. I haven’t used that one yet. I do use the “I can’t be late to my own self-employment” though. I have a friend who’s just started training for a half-marathon & blogging about it. I’ll send her a link to this post, & you might enjoy hers, too bearsneeded.blogspot.com

  8. Mandy says:

    Where did my comment go? I swore I wrote one to this post. Just pretend I said something riveting.

    Otherwise, I’m pulling out the “Suck it up cupcake” cat picture. Just saying.

  9. Anne says:

    Hi, I just wanted to tell you that your blog is awesome. I am a Scottish preggie pants 37 year olduni student who stumbled upon it last nighthen googling “whyam I burping through pregnancy”. I hv not been ksleeping and your blog got me through a sleepless night. You hv an amazing and beautiful g daughter and are a great mum, thanks for sharing your Yale’s.. i meant tales but my phone is plsying up and this has taken forever to write. Once again thank you xx

Leave a Reply

