I scare easily

Fact: I am terrified of the dark.

Fact 2: I run at 5:30 AM, which thus means running in the dark.

This morning I was finishing up my run with a half mile left.  My neighborhood is filled with loops and circles, so I decided to head down one that’s about 0.4 miles.  I was irritated because my Garmin is acting up (I really need a replacement), so I was kind of zoned out.  All the sudden I hear a door open and what must be large hellbeasts lumbering towards me.  I shrieked like a small child while some guy starts yelling “it’s ok, they won’t hurt you”.

It’s coming right for you!

Yeah, I was totally attacked (read: licked) by two pugs.  They just sounded like large beasts because they were fat and pugs make that crazy loud breathing sound.  One was black, which is why they were so hard to see.  I started cracking up and petting them, but it took me a few minutes to get my heart rate back under control.  And I probably woke up the entire neighborhood.

Why you such a pussy?

Yeah, I really have a far too active imagination.  I’m glad I’m getting a headlamp for Christmas since it will be much darker once the Christmas lights are gone (yes, I do buy my own gifts).

Anyways, I have gotten up at 5 AM and run 5 times since I posted about it.  Considering I was only scheduled to do that 5 times (I do my weekend long runs after the sun comes up), I’m calling this a big win!  The secret to getting motivated was apparently publicly shaming myself.

That being said, I misplaced my only pair of thermal tights and I had a miserable run on Thursday.  It is outrageously cold before the sun comes up.  I was wearing a long sleeve shirt, UnderArmour hoodie, and a very warm jacket and was just barely warm enough on top.  My newest trick is to fill my handheld water bottle with hot water.  It keeps my hands warm and the sips of warm water make me feel slightly less cold.  By the time the water cools off, I’m warmed up (and almost done) and don’t mind.

I will never be those guys. Yeesh.

Meanwhile, I finally found a pair of running shoes post-baby that haven’t injured me.  Then I found out that they are being clearanced out for a newer model.  My MIL offered to buy me a new pair for Christmas and I jumped all over that.  If I buy two more pairs, that should last me at least 6 months, right?  My husband is actually 2 models behind on his shoes, but he got another pair at the Saucony outlet near one of his offices.

It’s a really good thing that outlet mall is 2 hours away.  My credit card might melt there since they also have Nike and Adidas stores there.  Oh, and Carter’s, Osh Kosh, and Children’s Place.  I freaking love baby clothes.  It helps when the model is so adorable.

Yup, definitely adorable. Also, stubborn. She refuses to let me feed her on a regular basis.

Can you tell we’ve had a long day?  I feel like this post is all over the place.  Charlotte seems to have learned how to have a temper tantrum.  I know that’s supposed to be a 12 month milestone, but she had two today and it was very clearly because I’d taken away something she wanted (and it ended if I gave it back).  Tomorrow will be awesome though because my husband is working from home.  I love having help running the nuthouse!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Parenting, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I scare easily

  1. Terzah says:

    I’m so sorry we don’t live anywhere near each other because 5:30 is often when I run too. The image of you being “attacked” by pugs cracks me up.

    My son Will got my nasty cold and has been home from school for the last two days. I was very glad to see Dan drive up today so I could head out for my night shift at work–Will was at that point where he’s “bored.” Translation: he was driving me batty AND he’s going back to school tomorrow. Nuthouse indeed.

  2. We’ve been having tantrums too. He has them when I take things away too. So funny!

  3. I cannot blame you! I am TERRIFIED of the dark and so jumpy, anything scares me!

  4. Army Amy says:

    “It’s ok, they won’t hurt you.” <–Hahaha! That part busted me up. After I was almost mauled by dobermans on a run last summer, I don't play when it comes to dogs! Which is too bad because I am a dog-lover. That was just too close a call.*

  5. Michael says:

    That story is hilarious. I like you run in the am when it’s pitch black. Trust me it makes everything a little “scarier”. A guy was harmlessly running past me a week or so ago and I almost had a heart attack….so dumb 🙂

    Keep safe out there!

  6. Kara says:

    I was chased by a Boston Terrier once and it was MEAN. I wanted to call Animal Control when I got home, but my husband mocked me so I didn’t.

    Life lesson: little dogs can be mean and I can be controlled by mocking.

  7. Mandy says:

    I would’ve been freaked too! There is a little drop quick dog on my old neighborhood route that always chased me, I was tempted to call animal control because I was annoyed at it’s owners.

    What are you going to do when there IS an outlet mall really close?

  8. Alyssa says:

    I would have flipped the hell out if dogs came running at me. I am terrified of dogs and having some stranger who lets their dogs run lose and attack me say “they won’t hurt you” doesn’t help. I am also majorly paranoid so I would probably think it was all part of some plot to lure me in so they could chain me in their basement.

  9. Jenn says:

    Did you know that you are getting an outlet mall at 37 & 71? dangerous.

Leave a Reply

