It’s the most wonderful time of the year for fat bearded dudes

I don’t think it’s a secret that I love Christmas.  I love the decor, the lights, the music, the food, the spirit, the giving.  All of it.

This picture does not do these lights justice AT ALL. These two houses seem to be at war over who can be the most over the top. They have blinking arrows to show Santa wear to go. And a runway. And a million other things.

We do not have outside lights despite being surrounded by them.  My husband is the king of the grinches and hate decorating, so I feel like it’s better for my marriage to skip the elaborate displays.  I put up our first full size tree this year, but I just did it while he was working.  Lights are hard, but our tree (artificial) was free, so it was worth it not being pre-lit.  Seriously though, the internet is fiercely divided on the proper way to string a tree.

Despite his grinchness, my husband loves to show us awesome Christmas light displays (I feel bad for the kid because she can’t really see them in her rear facing car seat).  The picture above is from a place on his way home from work that he took us out to see.  A few nights ago he came home and suggested we take a walk to see a new sweet display he found in the neighborhood (we use the weather shield for our BOB so the kid stays warm).  I love our family time looking at the lights (and giant inflatables, which are hugely popular in this neighborhood).  I also love looking at all the lights on my early morning runs.

Must. Escape. The. Fat. Man.

I can’t believe I paid $5 for her to shriek her head off. At least they were giving out free chili and popcorn.

Anyways, we are getting close to the point of having to make a decision on Santa.  After much discussion (and fighting about Krampus), we have decided to do Santa if for no other reason than we don’t want our kid to ruin it for the other kids.  Admittedly, we could have waited and started Santa in another year or two, but we are only giving her one present from us, her “big” (not that big) present from Santa, and filling a stocking (with board books, a banana brush, and some interactive blocks), so we aren’t going too crazy.

But no fucking Elf on the Shelf. That thing is just…ugh. Of course my husband saw this picture and now totally wants to do Elf on the Shelf. This is the man who wants a Krampus suit afterall.

We are coming to the point of needing to decide what our family holiday traditions will be.  We have spent 4 of the last five Christmas with my dad and the other one with his parents.  This is the first time ever we have stayed home, which feels fitting now that we have our own house.

Mom, this is the WORST holiday!

This is the first year we’ve had a child old enough to be in a Christmas pageant.  Charlotte was the baby Jesus.  There was stiff competition, but I bullied (read: I was the only one who offered) her way in.  Luckily Mary was played by one of her favorite people, so she was really good for the first show, but she kind of screamed through the second show at a nursing home (there are no pictures because I was trying to restrain myself from ripping my screaming child away from Mary).  The poor kid is exhausted after a long weekend of Christmas parties and church Christmas events.

The Holy family. Charlotte didn’t really stay swaddled. We’ve never really swaddled her (it’s not allowed when they are in the incubator), so she has always hated it.

What do you mean baby Jesus didn’t have a pink pacifier?

So internet, now I need your help.  We are doing our yearly tradition of turducken for Christmas dinner, but what should I serve for Christmas morning breakfast?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Family, Leapster, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s the most wonderful time of the year for fat bearded dudes

  1. April says:

    I promise I read the whole thing, but now all I can think is bread pudding. I don’t know how your family does it, but to me Christmas means having something for breakfast you can pop in the oven when you get up and then eat it hot and fresh after presents. Mix it up the night before while you’re last-minuting stocking stuffers and there you go.

    I’m a down vote for elf on the shelf too. Doesn’t that kind of mess up the whole Santa watching year round thing? Creepy wandering elf stalker.

    Somebody’s kid has to be the spoilsport about Santa, though. 🙂

  2. oh my goodness at that house! I would love to see that in person!!

  3. Army Amy says:

    Maybe she didn’t like Santa, but she sure looked cute! That dress is adorable!

    I always liked having Christmas morning in my house with my parents. And once Stephen and I moved in together, we started having Christmas morning with the two of us. We would also eat tamales and hot chocolate for breakfast on x-mas morning. It was one of his traditions growing up. (I think it might be a Mexican thing – but don’t quote me on that.) Alas, this year there will be no tamales. (I can’t make them and I can’t find them here.) But we will for sure have Christmas morning with just the two of us. Ha!*

  4. Terzah says:

    There’s an AMAZING house in our neighborhood (as in, “how do they pay their power bill?” amazing). I posted a picture of it on Facebook last year and it’s just as good this year. I’ll try to send you a copy of that. Will and Ruth *love* that house. I always get questions about why we don’t do that (I tell them about the power bill–right over their heads).

    We are lame on Christmas breakfast–just cereal as usual. But the bread pudding idea above sounds great.

  5. Mandy says:

    That elf picture is priceless and perfectly illustrates why we won’t do that.

    That Grinch picture if my favorite picture EVER.

  6. H. Newlin says:

    I’m making cinnamon rolls for me & J for Christmas breakfast!

  7. Kara says:

    Cinnamon rolls duh. Or chocolate chip pancakes. Or MUFFINS WITH BUTTER.

    God I miss dairy.

    I’m pretty sure the songs say that Jesus never cried. The Gnostics also believed he never pooped, so there were many challenges for Charlotte to overcome in her acting.

  8. I was going to say cinnamon rolls, too!! I might even post a recipe, if I can get my act together.
    Those lights are insane. I’m glad someone does it- they’re fun to drive around and look at, but I wouldn’t want to deal with setting it all up, paying the electric bill, tearing it down, storing it all year… I sound a bit grinch-like, too…

  9. Alyssa says:

    Wait I’m confused – ruin Santa for what other kids? Like in your family?

    French toast casserole is really good, plus you can make it ahead of time. We have done quiche too. My mom just told me what we are having this year but I forgot. Basically our number one requirement is “can you make it the night before and just throw it in the oven Christmas morning?”.

  10. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

