Ugly sweaters and caroling in Tim Horton’s

It’s a really good thing I’m not a teacher because I do not own an (ugly) Christmas sweater.  First world problems.

Anyways, my local Fleet Feet hosted an Ugly Sweater Scavenger Hunt on Saturday, so I rolled my butt out of bed, did three miles with my running wife and then set off to get at least 2 more on the scavenger hunt.  The sidewalks were terrible thanks to the recent storm, which occurred in just above freezing temps, so there was a layer of ice everywhere.  My teammates included Laurie (who walks fast) and L, who is 20 weeks pregnant and rocking a rather adorable bump.

We started by going to Meijer (grocery store) for pictures with fruit snacks. Some people were cheating and claiming they also went to Giant Eagle (another grocery store) for Cliff bars, but we don’t play that way.

I think we were being reindeer? The other team told us what to do.

We moved on to Tim Horton’s (my nemesis, I almost revealed my pregnancy really early at work because they put nuts in their donuts for some reason. Nuts ruin everything) to serenade the random man I accosted there. He was helpful enough to take a video.


I call this video “Exhibit A why Sarah needs to go back on Ritalin”.

It’s extra credit if you almost break the sign, right?

We found a fire truck driving around, which was extra credit.

I…don’t know? I think she had it coming?

Almost to the finish. We were SO COLD. Also, I’m pretty sure Laurie was in fear of her life at this point.

I ended up covering almost 8 miles Saturday, so I think that counts for my 5 mile long run.  Next up, a Christmas Day 4 miler.  After I eat my way through Christmas Eve.  So sorry so fat.  Have a great Christmas!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ugly sweaters and caroling in Tim Horton’s

  1. I am glad we got to do that together! Definitely fun! Next time I promise not to be coughing up a lung.

  2. Terzah says:

    Merry Christmas, Sarah! That looks fun–cold, but fun.

  3. Army Amy says:

    It looks like you had so much fun! You must have been totally in your element! I’ve never done anything like that, nor do I think I will, but I enjoy living vicariously through you. I hope y’all had a great holiday!*

  4. Kailey says:

    What a genius idea to wear your ugly sweaters while running!! I’ll have to try that next year because it looks like a lot of fun

  5. Kara says:

    I adore your Christmas card. It lacks puggle representation though. 🙂

  6. Whine Less says:

    That looks so fun! Love the ugly sweater idea. I actually shopped for one today, but didn’t find the perfect one.

  7. Mandy says:

    I’m so bummed I couldn’t do this with y’all!

Leave a Reply

